PDA

View Full Version : eVGA 5900se + Farcry = Poor Perfomance


Pages : [1] 2

warlock233
05-14-04, 08:53 PM
Hey ya!


Last month I got an eVGA 5900se and I am not satisfied with its perfomance.

I've been trying to play farcry (@1024x768) with a decent frame rate but it seems to be IMPOSSIBLE!

All the settings (textures, lighting, shadows, etc) are set to 'medium', no AA or ANISO and I can't keep the framerate above 40. It actually drops to 19-25 fps all the time.

I've formated my computer, I've tried FW 56.72, 60.72 and 61.11 and things don't seem to change.

My System:

Epox 8RDA+
XP1700+@2000mhz (200x10)
2x256mb GEIL 400 2.5-3-3-6
Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 40 GB
Huntkey 400w
WinXP Pro

Here is 3dmark01 and 03 links:

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7796391
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=2454529

And before someone asks, yes, I have tried to run the game without OCing the processor.

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks

mikechai
05-14-04, 09:04 PM
Have you updated your farcry to latest patch?

anzak
05-14-04, 09:13 PM
For being a TWIMTBP game it sure loves ATI. I can run it at 1024x768 with everything but shadows on very high at 30+ fps on my Radeon 9600XT overclocked to 550/800.

MikeC
05-14-04, 09:17 PM
For being a TWIMTBP game it sure loves ATI. I can run it at 1024x768 with everything but shadows on very high at 30+ fps on my Radeon 9600XT overclocked to 550/800.

This thread raised my eyebrows from the beginning. Is this a set-up Warlock or is this for real? Where do you buy eVga cards in Brazil? Or is this just a source of entertainment for posters like Anzak to come in and thread crap? PM me if your for real.

Ady
05-14-04, 09:29 PM
lol, the guy is after some help. help him, don't bash him.

warlock233: How are other games running on your system? Maybe you have a system issue somewhere, nvidia cards do have some problems with farcry right now, but you still should be getting a lot better performance than that.

It could be a possibilty that your CPU is holding you back. A sure sign of that is if you drop the res and graphics settings down on farcry and you don't get much on an increase in frame rate compared to high settings, that points to a CPU limitation right away.

Your 3dmark2001 score is pretty low aswell which points to something other than your video card slowing down your system.

Edit: I just noticed in your 2k3 compare link it said your core was at 301MHz. Is this right guys? for a 5900SE? Seems pretty low to me. Or is it just reporting the underclocked 2d speed? :wtf:

CaiNaM
05-14-04, 09:30 PM
well, his 3dm2k3 is comparable to my 3.2ghz p4/9800pro...

MikeC
05-14-04, 09:31 PM
I just find it strange he joins our forums makes the post and leaves the minute he submits the post. We have had this before people join with a problem leave the minute they hit submit and never return. I'm not bashing him I just asked him a question.

noko
05-14-04, 10:11 PM
FarCry likes ram, 512mb is really pushing it but yet you say your settings are on medium? I have 768mb and it seems to be enough for this game. I hate to say it but I am at 1284x960 and my settings are at least high or higher except for shadows which is on medium, 2xAA and 4xAF running fine but that is on my old Tachyon G9700Pro.

anzak
05-14-04, 10:46 PM
FarCry likes ram, 512mb is really pushing it but yet you say your settings are on medium?

I agree. FarCry and Unreal Tournament 2004 are the first games I find that 512mb of memory is just not enuff. With another stick of 256mb or 512mb it should run smoothly.


Or is this just a source of entertainment for posters like Anzak to come in and thread crap?

I was only using an example to show that FarCry runs better on ATI cards for some unknown reason (I see the same thing with the 6800 vs. X800 articles).

MikeC
05-14-04, 10:55 PM
It's been two hours since warlock has asked this question and he hasn't checked back since he hit the submit button.

muzz
05-14-04, 10:59 PM
It's been two hours since warlock has asked this question and he hasn't checked back since he hit the submit button.


Probably found out what was wrong, fixed it, and is now playing FC.
May not even come back heheh.

Jarred
05-14-04, 11:01 PM
well it was indeed his first post, maybe he's not used to the speed at which responses get put up. :)

MikeC
05-14-04, 11:07 PM
Probably found out what was wrong, fixed it, and is now playing FC.
May not even come back heheh.

I was thinking that myself Muzz as he was pushing the submit button the answer came to him so he never even proofread his post just left and never looked back. Like that guy a couple of weeks ago we were still here fighting it out pages later and he never came back. :bash:

muzz
05-14-04, 11:12 PM
LMAO.
Yep that type of thing kinda makes ya step back and say @$# was I doing!!

heheh
Been there, unfortunately done that.
O well I think most of us have at 1 time or another, and they probably come back to read and laugh at us.

kev13dd
05-14-04, 11:17 PM
This DEFINATLY doesn't sound crazy to me

I have a EVGA FX5900SE

I get poor frames in Far Cry. Granted I only have the demo, but thats cause I get poor frames rates in it and don't want to buy the game. My 3Dmarkscores are much lower than his, but that's cause I don't OC anything. My highest 3DMarkscore 03 was 5007. I get maybe about 40FPS average with lowest settings and *I think* 800x600 resolution. To me, good frames are at least 60. NFSU, UT2004, games like that I'm getting over 60, so I enjoy it. But Far Cry.... I just don't like runnig around shooting in lag

K

P.s. Barton 2600+, PC3200 512 DDR 400, DFI KT400A, 80GB HD 8mb cache, 400W PS

ChrisRay
05-14-04, 11:22 PM
From the looks of his 3dmark2001 results. His Fill Rate ect, All seem bottlenecked, Like He's got AF enabled, (Which wouldnt surprise me.)

Also from his 3dmark2003 results its obvious he's running onboard AC97 Sound, Which would seriously hamper his performance in a not so pretty way

kev13dd
05-14-04, 11:58 PM
I have as follows

# AC'97 2.2 S/PDIF extension compliant codec
# Supports Microsoft® DirectSound/DirectSound 3D
# AC’97 supported with full duplex, independent sample rate converter for audio recording and playback
# 6-channel audio output

Is this hurting my performance? And how?! The AC97 scares me

K

ChrisRay
05-15-04, 02:54 AM
AC97 basically means all sound is being proccessed by the CPU rather than a sound card, using CPU cycles. They can hurt performance alot...

-=DVS=-
05-15-04, 03:07 AM
Realy sound card is Audigy 2 ;)

ChrisRay
05-15-04, 03:13 AM
Realy sound card is Audigy 2 ;)


Bah I like my Santa Cruz just fine.

kev13dd
05-15-04, 03:20 AM
Ha ha I'm broke, I'm sticking with the onboard sound for now, probably can gab a free 10 year old sound card from a friend of mine for free someday...

K

-=DVS=-
05-15-04, 03:28 AM
Sound industry is moveing very slowly for some reason :p

ChrisRay
05-15-04, 03:32 AM
Sound industry is moveing very slowly for some reason :p



Well I'm no expert but what more can you do with sound? its creatives fault for being a monopoly and have no reason to innovate

Lfctony
05-15-04, 03:58 AM
Last week, I installed a 5900PV on a mate's system. He now plays with everything on max detail, except lighting at 1024x768, due to the driver issue with the 53.03 drivers. We tested on the Treehouse level afterwards, where I test and it definitely felt fast, and it was also confirmed by the in-game info. So I don't think its a bug, its definitely system related.

Also, another friend of mine plays the game fine, on very high detail settings and 1024x768 with a stock 5800. So its definitely system related, since a 5900SE should handle the game better.

DeadLine
05-15-04, 06:35 AM
Hey ya!


Last month I got an eVGA 5900se and I am not satisfied with its perfomance.

I've been trying to play farcry (@1024x768) with a decent frame rate but it seems to be IMPOSSIBLE!

All the settings (textures, lighting, shadows, etc) are set to 'medium', no AA or ANISO and I can't keep the framerate above 40. It actually drops to 19-25 fps all the time.

I've formated my computer, I've tried FW 56.72, 60.72 and 61.11 and things don't seem to change.

My System:

Epox 8RDA+
XP1700+@2000mhz (200x10)
2x256mb GEIL 400 2.5-3-3-6
Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 40 GB
Huntkey 400w
WinXP Pro

Here is 3dmark01 and 03 links:

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7796391
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=2454529

And before someone asks, yes, I have tried to run the game without OCing the processor.

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks

I don't get it!
How can you get a score above 6000 with that system?
I can't get that points whit my system........ :retard:
Here is a link of mine from 3DMark03: http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=2522863