PDA

View Full Version : Can anyone explain this to an old 3DFX Guy?

T-Bird
05-19-04, 10:29 PM
Hey, as you can probrably tell from the thread title, I am relatively new to nVidia cards. I currently have an Asus V8200 T5 Deluxe (GF3 Ti500) with 64 meg. I bought this after an old game I used to play became updated and no longer supported "glide" (I used to have a Voodoo 5). I purchased at the time, the most current nVidia card, a MX400 (PNY), and what a kick in the head going from glide to D3D with that thing, so I tried open GL and it was worse than the Voodoo. After some research, I decided on my current card. This GF3 outperforms the MX400 and I just couldn't figure that out. Anyway, I have recently purchased an FX5200 with 256 meg. That seems to do worse than the MX400 (which is way worse than the GF3). I thought that the new engine and 4X more mem would be a grand increase. I'm using the 56.64 drivers, which bumped up the performance of the GF3, but the other 2 don't work near as well. The particular game I'm speaking of is Falcon4. There are a lot of people who will tell you that Falcon is a CPU stressing game and that the GFX card has no effect on the game, but here's a history: Falcon in glide: (80fps with 450 MHz K6), Falcon in D3D & Voodoo: 8-10 fps (same cpu). There are many configs up to my current, but I'll skip to what made me post the question I originally had:

GF3: 27-200 fps (depending on many factors)
FX5200: 0.5-11 fps

How can this be that the old outperforms the new?

T-Bird (confused)

system specs:
Win XP SP-1
AMD Athalon 2600+
1 Gig DDR400
Asus A7V600 MB
(video card above)

MUYA
05-19-04, 10:34 PM
we have many instances of this. Whereas fx5200 is dx9 compatible it is a half quad architecture I think, I mean 2 pipes whereas gf3 is 1 quad or 4 pipes and the clocks are similar. Maybe also your FX5200 only has a 64 bit memory interface so that might explain it. Remeber the FX5200 is the lowest in the foodchain of NV GPUs.

rewt
05-19-04, 11:08 PM