PDA

View Full Version : FX clock change in bios??


Pages : [1] 2 3 4

Fahim
05-21-04, 05:06 PM
Anyone in this forum can do this??? Please post here if you can. I need it very much. Thanks.

rewt
05-21-04, 08:19 PM
i am also curious. unfortunately not everything is known by the general public about the true structure of the bios, and the fact that bios will vary. I know that clock frequencies (among other things) can be adjusted using a hex editor, but what i do not know is where all of those are stored within the binary file itself :fu:

I can, however, provide you with some relevant information for editing the memory latencies of FX cards if need be. I know where they're stored. There is also a table at the end of .rom files that reveal some information about the structure of the file. This is basically low-level programming here. :type:

ChrisRay
05-21-04, 08:28 PM
This would be useful to me. too, Sure would be nice to just be able to flash my card to 450/900 rather than 450/850 ;p

and never worry about the auto tab, I just hate the fact that without my control it can change back and revert /whine mode on ;p

SkylineR34
05-21-04, 08:30 PM
about the latencies rewt, if we lower them in the bios, and use that bios...will there be preformance increases? Could you do the latencies and still get a performance boost if i was doing a 5900 to 5950U boost.....also what does this information at the end of the .rom reveal??

rewt
05-21-04, 08:41 PM
theoretically, yes. but more information needs to be known. such as the voltages that go along with the memory and vcore (voltage is critical for overall stability). and also, heat issues will have to be dealt with so that the card doesn't die.

Jethro
05-21-04, 10:00 PM
I too would like to do this to mine. The bios hex's are very cryptic and its all i can do to try and get tvout to work with 5950 bios via hex device id's etc. tough to crack.

bkswaney
05-21-04, 10:45 PM
The Asus 5900u I had took the 5950 bios and loved it.
It's performance was on par with the 5950 and cost
me nothing. :D hehehe

The bios I used raised my clocks from 450/850
to 475/950.

Knell2
05-22-04, 04:34 AM
I had OC'ed my 5900U with coolbit for a long time and 520/516 was the highest and still stable setting for my card. After some search on the web I finally found the info needed to adjust GPU/memory in the BIOS. Here is how I did it:

**As usual, Please only do this if you know what you are doing. If you feel uncomfortable with this or lost cause my poor English, please dont do it. I take no responsibility for this. =)

You will need to know how to backup your existing BIOS and how to flash new BIOS for your GeforceFX. There are many websites tell you how to do this. The main focus of the following is to tell the info I tried and worked to me.

How to edit GPU/memory speed in the geforceFX video card BIOS:

1) Download and install X-BIOS editor, not hard to find.)
2) Run the program and open an BIOS image file works for your video card.
3) Click on hex editor on tool bar.
Now, we need to do some Math here (did I mention I hate math??)
4) For GPU:
My 5900u's GPU runs at 450 by default. Now add 2 zeros to it at the end so it's 45000. Then we convert this number from 45000(DEC) to AFC8(HEX). Windows calculator can do this conversion. IMPORTANT: Now switch the first 2 digits with last 2 digits so "AFC8" becomes "C8AF". After this we add 4 zeros at the end so it becomes C8 AF 00 00.

For memory:
850MHz rated DDR memory actually runs at 425Hz. we then follow the same method above.
425 =>42500=>A604(HEX)=>04A6=>04A60000
=> 04 A6 00 00

5) 04 A6 00 00 is the string to represent 425 in the bios. you will need to use "find" under "tool" in the tool bar to search for 04 A6 00 00 strings. There can be many strings match this, and the important ones are these with continuous "04 A6 00 00" "04 A6 00 00" "04 A6 00 00" "04 A6 00 00" "04 A6 00 00" "04 A6 00 00" "04 A6 00 00" "04 A6 00 00" total of 8 times. These are all memory clock speed. After these you will find another 8 continuous "04 A6 00 00", they are all memory clock speed too. After them you will find another 8 continuous "04 A6 00 00". Only this time you will notice there is a "C8 AF 00 00" string(GPU speed for 450) right before these 8 memory clock speed to represent GPU speed.

6) so it's like this:
................ memory speed 8 times ....... memory speed 8 times .......GPU speed x 1, memory speed 8 times...........

Replace all 24 memory speed numbers with the speed you want using the method in setp 4. To change GPU speed you only need to replace that string before last 8 memory speed.

7) Save and flash the new BIOS =)
It's a good idea to double check your conversion by doing it backward and make sure they match. ie. convert c8af0000 back to 450. You really dont want to flash GPU/Memory to some unexpected numbers and damage your card.

Again, I suggest dont do it if you dont know how to flash a bad BIOS nvidia card to live. Do it at your own risk.
example:
900 DDR => 450=> 45000 => AFC8 =>C8AF => C8 AF 00 00
520 Core => 520 => 52000 => CB20 =>20CB => 20 CB 00 00

Shamrock
05-22-04, 04:59 AM
look for a search about flashing BIOSes in this forum, it's about 8-10 pages long, so it'll be a long read. I flashed my 5900U (gainward) to a 5950, and now run @475/950 with temps at 43c (48 under full load)

I am also wondering...why you wanna know? you have 2 ATI cards in your sig

Drumphil
05-22-04, 06:56 AM
Does anyone know if there is an equivalent of the bios editor for radeon bios files (changes basic settings for a variety of ATI bios files)? Short of that, yeah, find a bios with the settings you want, or have fun in hex. I never botherd to flash any of my NVIDIA cards, so I don't know what the go is at the moment.

Ripcord
05-22-04, 07:49 AM
there is a huge thread over at guru3d where someone is modding the 5900 bios files , im curently using a gigabyte bios clocked at 450/780 with reduced latencys and a volt mod on my creative card

Fahim
05-22-04, 01:43 PM
Thank you very much, Knell2. In your very first post, u did an excellent job by providing me the detailed information. I'm greatful to you. If u ever need any help, don't hesitate to ask, i'll do what i can. Thanks.

Best Regards,

FAHIM.

Fahim
05-22-04, 01:47 PM
I can, however, provide you with some relevant information for editing the memory latencies of FX cards if need be. I know where they're stored. There is also a table at the end of .rom files that reveal some information about the structure of the file. This is basically low-level programming here. :type:


Please if u don't mind, give me the information about memory latencies, altering them & also the voltage signal or other information. It'll help me very much. Thanks for your kind support.

Fahim
05-22-04, 01:55 PM
I am also wondering...why you wanna know? you have 2 ATI cards in your sig

I'm going to get a MSI FX 5900XT 128MB & want to flash it to safe overclocked bios, thats why........

Cota
05-22-04, 04:41 PM
I saw in a page a while ago that someone is working on a way to volt mod via BIOS and also change timings.

ChrisRay
05-22-04, 04:44 PM
Thank you very much, Knell2. In your very first post, u did an excellent job by providing me the detailed information. I'm greatful to you. If u ever need any help, don't hesitate to ask, i'll do what i can. Thanks.

Best Regards,

FAHIM.


Would love to be able to edit my leadtek bios, But I so totally dont understand half of what he said.. Math.. probably my biggest weakness.

rewt
05-22-04, 06:29 PM
very good info, thx Knell2! looks like little endian ;)

regarding the latencies, i would have to get back with you when i have a bios handy. right now i'm at a friend's house, with no keyboard. i tell ya what just check guru3d there is info there :)

late

rewt
05-23-04, 12:57 AM
GPU voltage!!


Originally posted by Jaime_99
The values that you are patching are not the ones that configure the voltage; these are just references to a table to contains the actual values so the references are the following:

in a 5900nu:

780482058C06

0x78=1.20v ; index=4
0x82=1.30v ; index=5
0x8C=1.40v ; index=6

so if we use index=7 instead of index=6, 1.50 is selected.

Note that the 0x78, 0x82, and 0x8C values are meaningless, the active values are only the indexes.

in a 5900XT:

780182028C03

0x78=1.20v ; index=1
0x82=1.30v ; index=2
0x8C=1.40v ; index=3

If a 5900nu bios is used in a 5900XT card, the values decrease by 0.10 volts. so in a true 5900XT (the first version of the Club 3D is not a true XT) with a 5900nu bios:

index=5 -> 1.20v
index=6 -> 1.30v

The following reference belongs to a 5950 card

index=7 -> 1.40v -> so 3D voltage will be 1.40 only when using a 5950 bios.

So I believe, but I can't assure it, that the actual values that control the voltages are represented by one or more of the following strings, that seem to be shifted depending if the bios is a NU or XT:

NU XT
........ ........
44718520 A620085A
A620085A A0598721
A0598721 00000000 -> empty, should contain 1.5 for XT?
00000000 00000000

That's why I said before that I thought that I had located these values, but that it wasn't possible to set them without proper technical information; and I wouldn't recommend touching them.



i've tested the above method by editing my stock BFG 5900 bios and it works! Where, with stock bios, max gpu was approx 450 mhz, now I'm running 500 mhz stable ON FARCRY!!! :D only downside is a little bit higher temps

on a 5900 bios look for this string (hex), 780482058C06, and change the 8C06 to 9607 !

Jethro
05-23-04, 01:49 AM
thats correct info i think, just search for that string in a non ultra bios and an 5950 bios and it checks out. will test!

Jethro
05-23-04, 02:59 AM
works very well! thanks a bunch for the heads up! 510 is benchable now, need waterblock bad tho! that .1 volt more puts out some heat!

Fahim
05-23-04, 03:31 AM
Would love to be able to edit my leadtek bios, But I so totally dont understand half of what he said.. Math.. probably my biggest weakness.

Send me the bios.......& details of what u desired abt speed, & give me some time, i'll change it for you.

t494c4f4b@hotmail.com

rewt
05-23-04, 11:20 PM
Well, after a day of testing, I have came to the conclusion that the Asylum 5950u bios is much better on my card than the volt modded Asylum 5900nu bios. The card runs 6 degrees cooler at idle with the 5950u bios at 300/950 2d. Believe it or not this is still cooler than stock bios at 300/850 2d without voltmod! I'm not sure why, could just be the fans are spinning faster, or voltage may be lower in 2d on the 5950u.

I also did some testing with the latencies before, but didn't get any noticable improvements in benchmarking. But, I believe if we can tweak them just right, the improvements may actually come in a higher average framerate in games. I really don't know much about how the latencies are formed, but reading some information, I found out the latencies of my 5900nu and 5950u bios. Hex string of 07030F43. By lowering some aspects of these numbers latencies should go down. Unfortunately I've only tried one other number 07030F03 (5900xt) because i don't know all of the values.

jimmor
05-24-04, 06:26 PM
[QUOTE=rewt]Well, after a day of testing, I have came to the conclusion that the Asylum 5950u bios is much better on my card than the volt modded Asylum 5900nu bios. The card runs 6 degrees cooler at idle with the 5950u bios at 300/950 2d. Believe it or not this is still cooler than stock bios at 300/850 2d without voltmod! I'm not sure why, could just be the fans are spinning faster, or voltage may be lower in 2d on the 5950u.

QUOTE]

if your card is a proper FX5900NU, then it is best flashed to a 5950u, rather than just doing a 5950u bios voltmod !!!

flashing with a 5950u bios changes many more parameters than just the increased core volts !! And because of this, as you have already found out, one of the improved effects is it will run cooler !!

ChrisRay
05-24-04, 06:30 PM
Flashing to a 5950 Just disables flicker fixes that are in the 5900 Drivers. Hence it runs cooler.

If your card has never flickered, you oughta be fine.

jimmor
05-24-04, 07:08 PM
Flashing to a 5950 Just disables flicker fixes that are in the 5900 Drivers. Hence it runs cooler.

If your card has never flickered, you oughta be fine.

how come it works with drivers with no flicker fixes then ???