PDA

View Full Version : peltier cooler questions

Kamel
05-23-04, 02:47 AM
hello everyone. i've got an air-cooled overclocked PC, it's an xp 2500+ overclocked to 3200+ (not sure if it's locked or not? sorry, i'm an overclocking newb, lol). i want some better cooling for a possible better overclock, or just to have better cooling (hopefully in turn increasing the life of my processor). i really am not sure how to do this without water cooling; except for peltier air cooling.

what i was wanting to know is if i could simply get a peltier cooler pad and put it between my processor and heatsink with no problems, or do i have to meet a certain criteria first? also, i was wanting to know if it's necessary to get a "cold plate", like mentioned here: http://www.xoxide.com/dadenma4coco.html . i currently have a thermaltake silent boost HSF.

from what i can figure out by context clues, i think the pletier air cooler simply cools the processor by transferring the heat to the top of the peltier air cooler so that the heatsink is warmer, causing more heat to exhaust. please correct me if i'm wrong though, heh.

if someone would be so kind as to answer any of these questions, or possibly explain the whole peltier thing to me, i'd really appreciate it.

Kamel
05-23-04, 12:01 PM
i did a lot of googling, and i understand what peltier does now. i just need to know basically if it's practical to use it on my comp with my setup, or will it be basically a lost cause. a heat sink upgrade is a possibility, but i currently have good temps, so i'm hoping that isn't necessary. the main reason i ask is because the reviews and such claim that you must have a lot of surface area contact with the processor to be effective, but none of them mention AMD processors (the contact area as far as i can tell is very small, but i suppose that's a relative term). it also worries me that i hardly ever hear about them, heh.