PDA

View Full Version : Is there a 64bit amd CPU that does't need special memory like register.


john19055
06-01-04, 04:22 PM
I was looking at the 64amd 3200+ and it seems that ist does'nt need special memory is that the case and is it the FX models that need it and would I see a speed increase in a 64 3200+ over a moblie 2600 clocked at 2.5gig and is the 64 3200+ locked.

jAkUp
06-01-04, 04:41 PM
THe FX is the only model that needs registered memory. And yes, you would see an increase from a mobile 2600...

john19055
06-01-04, 04:48 PM
What is the best motherboard to go with a 64Bit3200+ procosessor.

jAkUp
06-01-04, 04:56 PM
Well everyone has their favorites.. but this is my current fav atm:
http://www.abit-usa.com/products/mb/products.php?categories=1&model=150

http://www.abit-usa.com/images/products/kv8-max3-lg.jpg

john19055
06-01-04, 05:07 PM
One more question does the Moblie 64 processors have the multipler unlocked.

Cota
06-01-04, 09:24 PM
all athlon64 processors are multiplier locked

but some motherboards allow you to use lower multipliers.

Arioch
06-01-04, 09:49 PM
all athlon64 processors are multiplier locked

but some motherboards allow you to use lower multipliers.

The socket 940 FX processors are unlocked but are being phased out. I would wait for the socket 939 motherboards that should be out soon if I were looking to go AMD right now - they can run in dual channel mode and do not require registered memory.

Viral
06-02-04, 02:58 AM
All A64 boards that have Cool 'n Quiet have downward multipliers. So, the default and anything below down to 4x. This allows you to get a higher 'FSB' overclock. People have gotten well over 300MHz (1200MHz), and it's only getting easier with PCI/AGP locked boards.

I personally suggest an nforce3 250 based board. The gigabyte GA-K8NS PRO is a good one for a pretty good price.

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=13-128-241&depa=1

|JuiceZ|
06-02-04, 07:36 AM
All A64 boards that have Cool 'n Quiet have downward multipliers. So, the default and anything below down to 4x. This allows you to get a higher 'FSB' overclock. People have gotten well over 300MHz (1200MHz), and it's only getting easier with PCI/AGP locked boards.

That is correct. You best bet is gonna be to grab an nf3 250gb equipped board for that proc. As well as the Gigabyte mb thats currently availible, MSI, ASUS & EpoX also have good mbs coming that will availible shortly.