PDA

View Full Version : ~ MSI K8N Neo Platinum *Feedback* Thread ~


Pages : [1] 2 3

|JuiceZ|
06-03-04, 01:49 PM
Just ordered one (https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=241132) for $149.99 including free 2-day shipping. I also just got off the phone with them a few mins ago to confirm they have a shipment coming in later today (west coast) and the orders will be shipped shortly after. w007111!! :D :D :D

Also these guys have a very good (http://www.resellerratings.com/seller_info.pl?seller_id=1991) resellerrating so I wouldn't be worried about ordering from them ;)

Can't wait!!! :cool3:

DMA
06-03-04, 02:04 PM
Nice to see that the nForce3 250 is finally shipping. About time huh? :lol:
Even though i've been happy with my VIA board for the last 8 months or so i gotta try one of these.

Locked pci/agp bus, yes please. :ORDER:

|JuiceZ|
06-03-04, 02:25 PM
Hehe tell me about it! You prolly won't see a lot of perf diff from yer current setup but the added features & locked pci/agp bus make it all worth it. Sometimes I love being a geek :crosseye: :p

stncttr908
06-03-04, 06:22 PM
Good retailer. Now that Newegg has a warrehouse in NJ and therefore has to charge sales tax, I've gone over to ZZF for most of my purchases.

Give us your thoughts when you get it up and running!

|JuiceZ|
06-05-04, 02:44 AM
Just received press release from MSI:

Hi,
Thanks for your inquiry about our K8N Neo Platinum motherboard. We would like to inform you that this award-wining motherboard is now ready for purchase. If you regularly visit MSI web site (http://www.msicomputer.com/), you may know that the K8N Neo Platinum motherboard already won the honor of several Editor's Choice Awards from major review sites – one of the editors mentioned in his review article -- “ the performance of the MSI K8N Neo-FIS2R Platinum motherboard was excellent. It's easily the fastest Athlon64 board we've tested to date.”


Newegg (http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProductDesc.asp?description=13-130-457&depa=0)
Ewiz (http://www.ewiz.com/detail.php?name=MB-K8NNEOP)


I'm going to cancel my order from ZZF, seems they held my order trying to validate my address with my cc company that hasn't changed in over a yr. Also don't like the fact that they immediately charged my acct before anything was shipped. :rolleyes2

Newayz, just ordered the mb from NewEgg, its already being packaged, should have it in a couple days. I'm sure ZZF is a good company but as long as Newegg continues to get my purchases out the door the fastest, thats who I'm sticking with.

Ackmed
06-05-04, 04:56 AM
Thats the board I wanted, but couldnt wait for it. I got a Chaintech VNF 250 last week. Its based off the NF3 250 chipset, just doesnt have the frills. It was just $77 shipped from ZZF too. Hard to beat that price.

Already taken my 3400+ to 235FSB, for 2.6gig, up from 2.2gig. Going to try to lower the multiplier and crank up the FSB higher later on.

Skinner
06-05-04, 08:33 AM
Thats the board I wanted, but couldnt wait for it. I got a Chaintech VNF 250 last week. Its based off the NF3 250 chipset, just doesnt have the frills. It was just $77 shipped from ZZF too. Hard to beat that price.

Already taken my 3400+ to 235FSB, for 2.6gig, up from 2.2gig. Going to try to lower the multiplier and crank up the FSB higher later on.


That's the board I have bought, I gonna build it on monday. What memory do you have and which ramtimings?

jAkUp
06-05-04, 12:43 PM
Yes... as a matter of fact Im looking at the box right now! Im at work ;) We got one of these in yesterday. Layout it strange though.. memory is on the top...heh

|JuiceZ|
06-05-04, 01:27 PM
Already taken my 3400+ to 235FSB, for 2.6gig, up from 2.2gig. Going to try to lower the multiplier and crank up the FSB higher later on.

Thats the best o'c I've seen yet on the 3400+. Any luck w/ lower multiplier? Also what ram you running?

Yes... as a matter of fact Im looking at the box right now! Im at work ;) We got one of these in yesterday. Layout it strange though.. memory is on the top...heh

I hate you! :p I like the ram placement, they also left plenty of room around the socket 754 which is always good for larger coolers. MSI really put some thought into the layout, something I wish more oems did.

Ackmed
06-05-04, 06:12 PM
Thats the best o'c I've seen yet on the 3400+. Any luck w/ lower multiplier? Also what ram you running?


The shipping BIOS doesnt allow you to lower the multiplier, but the next one will. There is a beta BIOS out now that lets you, but I have issues with it. It hangs on the BIOS screen, just after it detects the CPU/RAM. Others have it and it works fine.

Im using HyperX PC4000@1:1. I had my ram up to 260FSB with my 3.0c chip, I hope to lower the multiplier to maybe 10x and hit 250FSB with this chip.

Here is 230FSB, I didnt take a shot of 235FSB, just forgot. Waiting on the new BIOS before I play with it some more. I also have some XMS PC3500 Plat that Im going to try. Maybe the beta BIOS will work with it, I dont know.

http://home.comcast.net/~kellyfall/230FSB.jpg

A real steal for $77 shipped 2-day.

|JuiceZ|
06-06-04, 12:46 AM
Very impressive d00d! Glad to hear that mb clocks well it sounds like a steal. Let us know how it goes with the new bios. O and that ram at too shabby either. Post some results w/ the PC3500 if you get a chance. :thumbsup:

DMA
06-09-04, 07:31 AM
I changed my mind and went with the Epox board instead. Ordered it just now, should get in on Friday. :)

Gator
06-09-04, 01:30 PM
NF3 250GB is finally available??? NICE!!! I guess that means you get the fancy firewall feature, integrated sata, and other cool things the regular NF3 250 doesn't have right?

So how do you like it? I'm waiting for Gigabyte brand to release a GB version myself... well that and I got no money right now, lol

|JuiceZ|
06-09-04, 04:07 PM
My goodies have finally arrived! :dance:

See you guys in a couple hrs :p

DMA
06-09-04, 04:26 PM
My goodies have finally arrived! :dance:

See you guys in a couple hrs :p

Hehe. Good luck/have fun! :bounce:

Yikes, you have NVIDIA posters? FANBOY! :D :POKE:

Gator
06-09-04, 04:37 PM
My goodies have finally arrived! :dance:

See you guys in a couple hrs :p

ENJOY MAN!!! Let us know how it goes :)

PS - did you mention what speed A64 you bought? I browsed thru the thread again but didn't see you mention it?

|JuiceZ|
06-10-04, 11:55 AM
Someome remind me nvr to do a major upgrade w/o doing a fresh winxp install :banghead: Gotta back up some stuff tonight and reload. Hopefully should have everything back up soon after. Liking the setup ok so far even though Newegg sent me a newcastle 3200+ (L2 512k) instead of the clawhammer (L2 1MB) core they advertised :rolleyes2 On the brighter side they seem to o'c a lil better so I may keep it, we'll see.

More feedback & o'cing results later...

Sazar
06-10-04, 11:56 AM
welcome to the athlon64 club :thumbsup:

|JuiceZ|
06-10-04, 01:39 PM
welcome to the athlon64 club :thumbsup:

That d00d ;)

One word of warning, apparently the retail boards ship w/ a different bios v1.1 than those received by reviewers v1.13+. As a result, several ppl including myself, are getting inaccurate temp readings & experiencing limited o'cing stability. Most of the minor problems (http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?threadid=17236172&perpage=30&pagenumber=1) w/ this board right now should be fixed in the next bios update. Similiar to what we saw when first nForce2 Ultra mbs surfaced. Theres a beta bios floating around now though. Haven't tried it yet but those who have say they're able to acheive much higher o'c results but the inaccurate temp readings in bios are still there.

Sazar
06-10-04, 01:42 PM
I would seriously suggest checking out the msi forums :)

they have good info and leaked bios's and stuff

http://forum.msi.com.tw/

enjoy :)

-edit-

here is a link to bios 1.13

http://www.tomhirst.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/w7030nms113.zip

use at your own risk :eek:

another link

http://forum.msi.com.tw/attachment.php?attachmentid=312&sid=

I would suggest that you consider waiting for the official release or read through the following thread for info...

http://forum.msi.com.tw/thread.php?threadid=51691&sid=

you may have to register but its free...

|JuiceZ|
06-10-04, 01:44 PM
Yea you better believe I've been consuming their forums since I ordered the thing, heh.

Sazar
06-10-04, 01:45 PM
ah... :)

I had to coz of the flippin audigy sound card problem :(

flippin POS crappolla :fu:

thankfully there is a workaround now :D

/me flips creative labs off..

|JuiceZ|
06-10-04, 01:54 PM
Speaking of audio, hows the onboard sound on yer board? I've been spoiled by the soundstorm from my old NF7s and want to know if its worth it to just grab an Audigy 2 or use this Realtek 5.1/7.1 onboard sound.

Sazar
06-10-04, 02:11 PM
you will notice a difference if it was anything like the audigy... been a while since I listened to a soundstorm so I dun remember what it sounds like..

now that i have used my onboard for a while its not bad but I do remember that it was not quite as rich as my audigy was...

the newer drivers have helped though so I haven't had a real urge to stick my audigy back in (plus I think its @ my brothers house many miles away :( )

|JuiceZ|
06-10-04, 02:21 PM
Thats koo, I'd much rather use the onboard codec, less cpu usage plus it already comes w/ coax/optical SPDIF connectors for my z680's. It prolly won't be that bad.