PDA

View Full Version : Colin Mcrae Rally 04 Stutters, plz help!


HKPolice
06-04-04, 01:12 AM
I turn Vsync on in CMR04 because I can't stand tearing, but it sometimes stutters. I know why it stutters, because the card couldn't render at 85fps, therefore it drops down to 42.5fps for a split sec, then back to 85fps, which is REALLY annoying :bash:

I get upto 22.5K in 3dmark2k1: http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7874532 so I don't see why I can't run CMR04 @ 1280x960 at a CONSTANT 85fps (medium game quality setting, no shadows). I even tried turning the quality setting in drivers to highest performance, and lowering the resolution to 11x7, but it STILL stutters sometimes, although slightly less.

I have ALL uncessary programs and services turned off, and have tried almost every single driver out there (from 53.03 to 61.12, official, betas, omega, and starstorms) with no avail.

I played the demo version on a P4 3.5Ghz with a Radeon 9700 before and it was SILKY smooth even at 1600x1200, why would a GeForce FX5900XT @ 591/1Ghz be slower?!? :bash:

Any other Colin Mcrae Rally 04 players out there experience this?

My specs in brief:
A64 3200+ @ 2.35Ghz
2x 512 BH5 ram @ 235Mhz CAS 2.5-2-2-5
Onboard sound (could this be the cause? I tried turning off the sound before but no luck) :(

Thanks

Fatman
06-04-04, 09:41 AM
I dont recall if I have Vsynch enabled, but i'm able to run at 1280x1024, max settings and its smooth as hell. Im on 3.0ghz, FX5950, 1gb ram.

stncttr908
06-04-04, 11:49 AM
If you cranked everything up to high it probably would never get to 85fps at all, then you'd have it in the range of 42.5-85 and wouldn't have stuttering.

HKPolice
06-05-04, 03:56 AM
I dont recall if I have Vsynch enabled, but i'm able to run at 1280x1024, max settings and its smooth as hell. Im on 3.0ghz, FX5950, 1gb ram.

Can you please turn it on via the driver control panel and report back?

Thanks

HKPolice
06-05-04, 03:57 AM
If you cranked everything up to high it probably would never get to 85fps at all, then you'd have it in the range of 42.5-85 and wouldn't have stuttering.

That won't work either because if it drops below 42.5FPS, it'll drop down to 28.3fps (1/3 of 85) and again cause the stuttering :(

Fatman
06-07-04, 12:23 AM
Just did a run on Spain S5, with vsynch enabled via nvidia control panel - 52.6 average. Im running with everything set to highest available, 1024x768x32 - I don't have higher available res in the options. My LCD limits me to 60hz refresh. I did notice a bit of stuttering on first few turns, then it was smooth as silk till the end of the race. For comparison I also did a run without vsynch, there was no stuttering on first few turns, but there was some tearing, and the rest of the race smooth as silk. Something does affect the game when the race first starts, but it seems to go away pretty fast.

How did you enable higher resolution?

HKPolice
06-08-04, 01:26 PM
Maybe cuz your max res is 1024? I guess its not really a bug, but just crappy performance. :(

Just did a run on Spain S5, with vsynch enabled via nvidia control panel - 52.6 average. Im running with everything set to highest available, 1024x768x32 - I don't have higher available res in the options. My LCD limits me to 60hz refresh. I did notice a bit of stuttering on first few turns, then it was smooth as silk till the end of the race. For comparison I also did a run without vsynch, there was no stuttering on first few turns, but there was some tearing, and the rest of the race smooth as silk. Something does affect the game when the race first starts, but it seems to go away pretty fast.

How did you enable higher resolution?

Fatman
06-08-04, 03:13 PM
my native res is 1280x1024, but in CMR'04 i dont have an option to go higher than 1024x768, what gives?

SH64
06-16-04, 03:22 PM
Try patch 1.01

http://www.3dgamers.com/dl/games/colinmcrae4/cmr04_pc_upgrade_1.01.zip.html