PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading RAM: 1 GB or 1.5 GB????


surfhurleydude
06-06-04, 05:09 PM
Hey,
Currently I have 512 MB of RAM, and after playing Far Cry and UT2004, I can definitely tell it is no where near enough... Now with new games coming out such as Half Life 2 and Doom 3, I know a definitely need to upgrade.

I have 2 dual channel slots filled with 2 remaining. I can either purchase 512 MB ram now in sticks of two, or purchase 1024 MB of ram in two sticks of 512 MB. I'm not quite sure which I need. 300 bucks is a lot of money for RAM, and some people say that 1.5 GB is overkill. Anyone got any advice?

ricercar
06-06-04, 09:55 PM
I"m a dual-channel snob. All my nForce boards currently run two sticks of the same RAMs: capacity, brand, speed.

Far Cry gets ~20-40 FPS at 1024×768 on
- 2x512MB Mushkin PC3500
- XP 1700+ oc'd to 2600+
- GeForce FX 5800

|JuiceZ|
06-06-04, 10:20 PM
Get the 2x512mb and you'll be in heaven. Anything more than a gig is overkill unless you do a lot of encoding or rendering.

CaptNKILL
06-06-04, 11:36 PM
Get the 2x512mb and you'll be in heaven. Anything more than a gig is overkill unless you do a lot of encoding or rendering.
You mean 2x256Mb right :p

But ya, i think anything over a gig is too much considering the ram prices. Keep your 2x256 and add another 2x256.

SuLinUX
06-07-04, 11:56 AM
The crazyness, 1Gb of ram and 256Mb of onboard GFX card ram just to play a few games. I only have 1Gb because of rendering, but linux I tried 512Mb and dont notice it. 1Gb is better for XP though, bloat hog.

shinrai
06-07-04, 04:06 PM
Far cry and ut2004 use a max around 800-850mb.

be careful if you are overclocking as filling all four slots may force you to down clock to get the system stable.

adenosine
06-09-04, 02:57 PM
UT2004 itself hasnt used over 650mb/ram on any map with various amounts of players

Gator
06-10-04, 05:44 AM
WAIT! On some motherboards including mine, you can have 3 sticks of memory and still be in dual channel. You have to match the colors of the slots, so if you have 2x256 PC3200 sticks in the blue slots, and 1x512 PC3200 stick in the black slot, that will work in dual channel mode. As long as the total memory in one channel (slot color) matched the total memory in another channel it will work in dual channel mode.

This would give you 1gig memory, while saving you a bundle of money ;)

MUYA
06-10-04, 08:03 AM
The crazyness, 1Gb of ram and 256Mb of onboard GFX card ram just to play a few games. I only have 1Gb because of rendering, but linux I tried 512Mb and dont notice it. 1Gb is better for XP though, bloat hog.
yeah but in a few years games like Unreal3 are gonna need 1 Gb memory in the gfx card itself? .....

stncttr908
06-10-04, 11:00 PM
Get the 2x512mb and you'll be in heaven. Anything more than a gig is overkill unless you do a lot of encoding or rendering.
Agreed.

Dazz
06-11-04, 09:16 AM
Na theres no diffrence in peformance from 1GB to 1.5GB, i tried it.

MUYA
06-11-04, 09:38 AM
I like 1 GB ram unlike the 128MB I have at work :retard: :screwy:

Dazz
06-12-04, 01:54 AM
512MB ~ 1GHz is only noticable in games and other demanding applications.

john19055
06-15-04, 12:22 AM
I notice my load times was better after going from 512mb to 1gig of ram.

Dazz
06-15-04, 03:17 AM
Yeah in games that use lots of high textures like UT2003/2004 where the game can hog around 700meg to it's self.