PDA

View Full Version : my overclocking and 3dmark03 score


Mullins1060
06-07-04, 04:17 AM
I finally decided(built up the courage) to overclock my msi fx5600 from 325-core/550-mem to 365-core/624-mem I havent seen any artifacts at all yet this is all on stock cooling. is it possible to push it any further? or would that be unwise.

I got 2516 (http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=2620358) in 3dmark03 is this a good score for my setup?

ChrisRay
06-07-04, 04:57 AM
Which Drivers were you using?

My 5700 Non Ultra is @ 425/550 at default speeds. So I'm kinda curious what drivers you use.

Mullins1060
06-07-04, 05:09 AM
60.85

ChrisRay
06-07-04, 05:54 AM
5600 Non Ultra so ya those results do seem about right,

Good OC on that card, btw, Surprising to see a 5600 OC that well.

my 5700 Does 460/620 itself.


I havent had a chance to test this card with 3dmark2003 yet.

Mullins1060
06-07-04, 06:31 AM
it got me over 200 more in 3dmark03 as opposed to stock settings

ChrisRay
06-07-04, 06:45 AM
Well here is a comparison of my second system. (You can see the specs below)

With the Geforce FX 5700 Personal Cinema clocked @ 425/550

Should give you an idea of where your computer falls performance wise.

I'd say your results are pretty good considering its the older FX 5600. The extra memory bandwith gives you a nice increase I imagine.

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=2620698


Also our systems are fairly comparable. Athlon XP 2000+ on PC133 Ram Verses a Pentium 4 1.8 Ghz Willington.

Bean
06-07-04, 08:46 AM
hi all my asus5700 clocks 490/600 with no artifacts, and all is running fine. Stock cooling.

kahloq
06-07-04, 09:41 AM
Wanted to list a comparison. I have a 5700 ultra card and its stock settings are 475/906 I have gotten scores of 4067 in a 3.2 p4

I have a 2nd pc with a ti 4600 in a 1.7 p4 thats gotten avg scores of 1626 at stock 300/648 and with a bit of OC gotten 1715 with 318/703

Mullins1060
06-07-04, 10:35 AM
Well here is a comparison of my second system. (You can see the specs below)

With the Geforce FX 5700 Personal Cinema clocked @ 425/550

Should give you an idea of where your computer falls performance wise.

I'd say your results are pretty good considering its the older FX 5600. The extra memory bandwith gives you a nice increase I imagine.

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=2620698


Also our systems are fairly comparable. Athlon XP 2000+ on PC133 Ram Verses a Pentium 4 1.8 Ghz Willington.

thanks for the compare link. odd how my computer is faster on two of the tests Fill Rate (Single-Texturing) and No sounds. my score doesnt seem to bad considering the pc is coming up to 3 years old (only a newer gfx card)

i tried pushing the memory a little higher but 627 caused the game to lockup after 2 hours of playing. but no artifacts. so i droped it back to 624.

i may try to push the core up a little more but on this (http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleid=1440&page=2) site they only managed 366 for the core.

on a side note, do you know why 3dmark03 gets the clock speeds wrong?

kahloq
06-07-04, 11:29 AM
It may be dependant on the card itself or the driver. Dunno, cuz 3dmark got the clock speeds right on my ti4600, but wrong on my fx5700 Ultra

ChrisRay
06-07-04, 03:44 PM
thanks for the compare link. odd how my computer is faster on two of the tests Fill Rate (Single-Texturing) and No sounds. my score doesnt seem to bad considering the pc is coming up to 3 years old (only a newer gfx card)

i tried pushing the memory a little higher but 627 caused the game to lockup after 2 hours of playing. but no artifacts. so i droped it back to 624.

i may try to push the core up a little more but on this (http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleid=1440&page=2) site they only managed 366 for the core.

on a side note, do you know why 3dmark03 gets the clock speeds wrong?


Well you have your memory Overclocked higher, with 550 mhz Memory I have 8.8 Gigs of bandwith. And with 920 you have like 9.6 gigs of bandwith or somewhere around there.

So your able to get more single texturing fill rate due to not being bandwith limited. In multitexturing my core is higher so I get the advantage there. Hope that makes sense.

3dmark2003 gets clock speeds wrong because the 5600/5700 and the 5800/5900 series have seperate 2d/3d clock speeds and 2003 has never been able to understand it them properly

Blacklash
06-07-04, 03:48 PM
Oced my old 5700U could hit 4100 3dmarks until they patched it with the 340, then I dropped to 38 something. That was card and system oced, 3.2@1:1 ratio and the card around 520/1.2

Mullins1060
06-07-04, 04:13 PM
Well you have your memory Overclocked higher, with 550 mhz Memory I have 8.8 Gigs of bandwith. And with 920 you have like 9.6 gigs of bandwith or somewhere around there.

So your able to get more single texturing fill rate due to not being bandwith limited. In multitexturing my core is higher so I get the advantage there. Hope that makes sense.

3dmark2003 gets clock speeds wrong because the 5600/5700 and the 5800/5900 series have seperate 2d/3d clock speeds and 2003 has never been able to understand it them properly

ah right that explains it, so overclocking the memory gives more bandwidth, so it can pump more water thru (well not water but has more throughput).

thanks for answering my questions.