PDA

View Full Version : Low 3DMark03 Score w/6800U


Pages : [1] 2 3

mario64
06-12-04, 12:07 AM
I'm only getting ~ 10,000 on 3DMark03 running the default benchmark (1024 x 768) with my 6800U . With my system, shouldn't I be getting much more?

P4 3.4GHz
1GB DDR RAM
Audigy 2
Win XP Pro
6800U w/61.32 drivers

I am setting the drivers to high performance mode and disabling AA, AF, and vsynch. I'm seeing others score in the 13 and 14 thousands. What's the secret?

Thanks,
Mario64

Banko
06-12-04, 12:13 AM
Well if you had an ATi card from before most likely drivers are left over from it. Also maybe you don't have AGP 8x on? Also try aparture size differences. Maybe if that doesn't work format.

MikeC
06-12-04, 12:17 AM
I'm only getting ~ 10,000 on 3DMark03 running the default benchmark (1024 x 768) with my 6800U .

What are the scores from each of the game tests?

mario64
06-12-04, 12:19 AM
Well if you had an ATi card from before most likely drivers are left over from it. Also maybe you don't have AGP 8x on? Also try aparture size differences. Maybe if that doesn't work format.
Seriously? I did previously have a 9800 Pro but did a complete uninstall then booted into Safe Mode and ran Driver Cleaner before shutting down my cpu to install the 6800U. Wouldn't that have been enough to get rid of any remnants of ATI drivers?

Mario64

mario64
06-12-04, 12:39 AM
What are the scores from each of the game tests?
GT1 - Wings of Fury 283.6 FPS
GT2 - Battle of Proxycon 64.2 FPS
GT3 - Troll's Lair 58.6 FPS
GT4 - Mother Nature 67.3 FPS
CPU Score 876 CPUMarks
CPU Test 1 94.0 FPS
CPU Test 2 16.2 FPS
Fill Rate (Single-Texturing) 3333.0 MTexels/s
Fill Rate (Multi-Texturing) 6556.2 MTexels/s
Vertex Shader 34.1 FPS
Pixel Shader 2.0 155.7 FPS
Ragtroll 43.4 FPS
No sounds 72.0 FPS
24 sounds 64.2 FPS
60 sounds 57.7 FPS

My AGP aperature is set to 128MB. Should I change it to 256 or something? Also, is there a 3DMark NV40 patch you have to apply?

Mario64

Banko
06-12-04, 12:44 AM
Well, try AGP aparture to like 512, last I read and the way I have it is AGP aparture size has to be bigger then the memory it has.

SH64
06-12-04, 12:48 AM
Your AGP aparture size is ok ... you can increase it to 256 but that wont make much differenece .

btw why dont you try running the bench with Quality mode ??

mario64
06-12-04, 12:55 AM
btw why dont you try running the bench with Quality mode ??
Since I'm going for the maximum possible score I use high performance mode.

Mario64

ChrisRay
06-12-04, 01:58 AM
Well, try AGP aparture to like 512, last I read and the way I have it is AGP aparture size has to be bigger then the memory it has.


naw thats not it, He has plenty of texture memory. AGP texture size shouldnt effect performance that much a 256 meg chip.

He could have AF or something else enabled though.

AthlonXP1800
06-12-04, 02:57 AM
Mario64, it best to format your hard drive and have clean install Win XP and then you will have great 3D Mark 2003 scores with 6800U.

ninelven
06-12-04, 03:06 AM
Lol, you are an evil man. Might be something in the bios...

Edge
06-12-04, 05:33 AM
Make sure you've updated all the drivers for your system, including the motherboard AGP drivers (my score jumped 50% when I installed the Via 4-in-1s on my old system). Otherwise I'm not sure what could be cutting into your score...certainly doesn't seem to be any other noticable bottlenecks.

Sgt_Pitt
06-12-04, 07:36 AM
he must have AA or AF enabled, look at his scores they are almost half of what they should be, indicating AA or AF is enabled

jlee24219
06-12-04, 07:51 AM
What speed is your ram?

mario64
06-12-04, 10:22 AM
he must have AA or AF enabled, look at his scores they are almost half of what they should be, indicating AA or AF is enabled
AA is definitely off but texture filering is set to Optimal and Max Anisotropy is set to 4. 3DMark03 defaults to that. Should I change them?

All system drivers are up to date and my RAM is running at 460MHz.

Thanks,
Mario64

jAkUp
06-12-04, 10:24 AM
AA is definitely off but texture filering is set to Optimal and Max Anisotropy is set to 4. 3DMark03 defaults to that. Should I change them?

All system drivers are up to date and my RAM is running at 460MHz.

Thanks,
Mario64


Turn off app detect for AF and set it to 0.. see if that helps... also, my core on my video card is set to 425mhz.. not sure if that makes a difference

mario64
06-12-04, 10:44 AM
Turn off app detect for AF and set it to 0.. see if that helps... also, my core on my video card is set to 425mhz.. not sure if that makes a difference
Here's an update. I set AA and AF to off in the Control Panel and selected bilinear texture filtering instead of Optimal within 3DMark. That gave me a score of 11,940. Is that still too low for a non-overclocked card? Are the rest of you setting texture filtering to bilinear within 3DMark too?

Mario64

MikeC
06-12-04, 11:03 AM
GT1 - Wings of Fury 283.6 FPS
GT2 - Battle of Proxycon 64.2 FPS
GT3 - Troll's Lair 58.6 FPS
GT4 - Mother Nature 67.3 FPS

I get around 300 FPS in GT1 and 61 FPS in GT4. But your GT2 and GT3 scores are much lower than mine (92 and 76 FPS). Do you have the latest drivers for your motherboard chipset?

Troubleshooting this type of problem can drive you nuts. At some point you might have to bite the bullet and reinstall the OS. I've had similar problems that I couldn't figure out, but I eventually came to my senses and purchased Norton Ghost.

Check out this web site if you are serious about implementing a backup strategy using a tool like Norton Ghost:

http://ghost.radified.com/

jAkUp
06-12-04, 11:07 AM
Here's an update. I set AA and AF to off in the Control Panel and selected bilinear texture filtering instead of Optimal within 3DMark. That gave me a score of 11,940. Is that still too low for a non-overclocked card? Are the rest of you setting texture filtering to bilinear within 3DMark too?

Mario64

12,000 sound about right for stock. For the texture filtering, I just left that at the default level...

mario64
06-12-04, 11:08 AM
I get around 300 FPS in GT1 and 61 FPS in GT4. But your GT2 and GT3 scores are much lower than mine (92 and 76 FPS). Do you have the latest drivers for your motherboard chipset?

Troubleshooting this type of problem can drive you nuts. At some point you might have to bite the bullet and reinstall the OS. I've had similar problems that I couldn't figure out, but I eventually came to my senses and purchased Norton Ghost.

Check out this web site if you are serious about implementing a backup strategy using a tool like Norton Ghost:

http://ghost.radified.com/
Thanks Mike. Truth is, it's about time for me to re-install anyway. I usually do so every few months just to keep Windows "clean".

Are you running the default benchmark without changing any settings?

I did try one other thing, I auto-detected overclocking speeds and it gave me 447 and 1.14 (pretty good IMO). I ran it using those speeds and got 12,346. Better but still lower than what others have been getting.

Mario64

MikeC
06-12-04, 11:11 AM
Here's an update. I set AA and AF to off in the Control Panel and selected bilinear texture filtering instead of Optimal within 3DMark. That gave me a score of 11,940. Is that still too low for a non-overclocked card? Are the rest of you setting texture filtering to bilinear within 3DMark too?

Mario64

With bilinear filtering I get around 12,000 using the default 3DMark03 settings. But I normally set the driver control panel to application-controlled AA and AF when I run programs that allow AA and AF to be changed within the program (like 3DMark03).

What where your AA and AF settings in the control panel before you changed them to off?

Banko
06-12-04, 11:26 AM
er isn't anistropy supposed to be set to 1?

dan2097
06-12-04, 12:08 PM
er isn't anistropy supposed to be set to 1?

It doesnt make any difference as defaultly 3d mark 03 uses I belive trilinear with maybe bilinear on stages that dont need it but no af is used at all. The 4 max anisotropy would just apply if you did enable anisotropic filtering from within 3d mark03.

You have to have the pro version of 3d mark03 to even change the texture filtering option so virtually all 3d mark 03 scores are with this on default which is optimal.

As 3d mark 03 doesnt use v-sync, af and fsaa setting these to application preference should be all that is needed.

DivotMaker
06-12-04, 03:14 PM
Congrats on your new card Mario...maybe now you can play TW2004 using 3-click/FSAA/AF!

If you still have the game I would really be interested to see how your performance is now compared to the 9800 Pro...

One place you can do this is to choose the highest rendering detail possible in the Options menu of TW2004. Make sure AA/AF are disabled. Then choose the Tiger character and go to the first tee in Simulation mode with galleries enabled at Scottsdale. As soon as the camera settles on the teebox, I would love to know what your fps are there.

Thanks in advance,

BBEA

mario64
06-12-04, 03:45 PM
Congrats on your new card Mario...maybe now you can play TW2004 using 3-click/FSAA/AF!

If you still have the game I would really be interested to see how your performance is now compared to the 9800 Pro...

One place you can do this is to choose the highest rendering detail possible in the Options menu of TW2004. Make sure AA/AF are disabled. Then choose the Tiger character and go to the first tee in Simulation mode with galleries enabled at Scottsdale. As soon as the camera settles on the teebox, I would love to know what your fps are there.

Thanks in advance,

BBEA
LOL!!! :-)
You still remember that? While I'm no less happy with the TW 2004 developers, that sort of problem is one of the reasons I went back to nVidia.

I've been re-installing Windows all morning and am just now getting my PC back in order but will gladly test it out and let you know.

Also, back to topic, my 3DMark03 scores did in fact go up after re-installing OS. I'm getting 12,530 on stock speeds now. I'll do some o/c'd testing after installing the 61.34 drivers and report back.

Mario64