PDA

View Full Version : Gotta love these Mobile 2500+'s


TheTaz
06-16-04, 05:31 PM
Since I will be getting a new video card by the time EQ 2 launches... I wanted a way to upgrade with as little CPU bottleneck as possible, but without going to a new motherboad / 64-bit CPU / etc.

So I ordered a Mobile Athlon 2500+ and a Cooler Master Jet 7 and slapped it in my Wife's ABit NF7-S Rev. 2 nForce 2. (I stilll have an nForce 1).

Here are some result shots:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=6411
Pretty Sweet Overclock, IMO. 49.5 Degrees Celcius Idle, 57.5 Degrees Celcius @ 100% Load for over 3 hours.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=6412
An Athlon 1800+ is what was in my wife's computer before.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=6413
This Last Image, I took the Sandra Benches from a German Hardware site and added mine in up top. Not bad for an $85 processor... keeps up / beats $700+ processors! :D

Fun stuff!

Regards,

Taz

Woodelf
06-16-04, 08:01 PM
I was kind of hoping for alittle more out of this 2600+ mobile. I do 150MHZ better than My old barton 2800+ did 5deg cooler and .15 less volts. I'm going to try another burn in since I gained another 100MHZ from last night. One thing about this one is that it doesn't like the higher volt's that the 2800 did. Nice to break 10.000 in sandra 2004 Arith. though.

PsychoSy
06-17-04, 12:13 AM
... and a Cooler Master Jet 7

I drooled over having this fan until I actually heard it. My nephew has one on his NF7-S. I was building a rig for his mom (another Abit NF7-S) and had to configure their wireless router. They're all computer noobs. Aftering configuring the router correctly, I had to spend the next few hours trying to troubleshoot their wireless network portion, consisting of my nephews PC. I could only tolerate sitting at his rig for 5 minutes before I reached behind the case and turned that loudass Jet 7 down nearly all the way (and this is in one of those pretty "Demon" cases with all the lights and fans whirling!).

I thought my 3+ year old Speeze/FannerTech "Sump-Pump" was loud!! ;)

That Jet 7 sounds like an aircraft iding right on the carrier. :D

I'll take my whiny ol' "distant tornado warning siren" over that sonofagun anyday! :p

PsychoSy
06-17-04, 12:13 AM
Aaaah! An echo-post!! :eek:

*sha--snick* ... *B'LUMPH!!* :angel:

TheTaz
06-17-04, 09:49 AM
I was kind of hoping for alittle more out of this 2600+ mobile. I do 150MHZ better than My old barton 2800+ did 5deg cooler and .15 less volts. I'm going to try another burn in since I gained another 100MHZ from last night. One thing about this one is that it doesn't like the higher volt's that the 2800 did. Nice to break 10.000 in sandra 2004 Arith. though.

Well MFLOPS is more important than MIPS, IMO. Since an Athlon 64 3800+ is around $700... I'm really happy with my $85 processor that beats it (Not overclocked) in the MFLOPS test, and comes pretty close in MIPS. Best $85 I've spent in a long time, because I think it will be quite a while before a $700 processor reaches $85. :D Now granted, 64bits is a different animal... but I'm still happy with the performance I got out of OCing the mobile. ;)

I drooled over having this fan until I actually heard it.

That Jet 7 sounds like an aircraft iding right on the carrier. :D


Weird... My Jet 7 is extremely quiet. It makes less noise than the generic CPU fan that was on the previous processor. I was pretty shocked at how quiet it is. Maybe your nephew got one with bad bearings or somethng?

Taz

stncttr908
06-17-04, 10:27 AM
Bah, why does your wife get the nforce2 board and you're stuck with the original? :retard:

TheTaz
06-17-04, 10:45 AM
Bah, why does your wife get the nforce2 board and you're stuck with the original? :retard:

LOL! :drooling:

It's cuz she's always gotten my Hand-me-Downs, and I bought her an nForce 2 for Xmas because the PIII she had wasn't cutting it for editing movies in Adobe Premiere. So... I maxed out my nForce 1 with an Athlon 2600+ and put the 1800+ I had in her nForce 2. I can't, very well, take her xmas present away from her! ;)

Also, I really don't want to buy a new motherboard until next year, when PCI Express is settled in, etc..

So, for now... Wife has the killer system of the house, especially when I replace the Geforce 3 Ti500 in it with a 6800 GT! Next year will be a different story! :D

Since my daughter is going to play EQ 2 with me... and her system is the lowest in the house... the least expensive route was to upgrade wife's machine... I'll play EQ 2 on that... and let the kid play EQ 2 on my machine. As for other games... My machine is decent enough, though I will definitely test "what I am missing out on", on the wife's machine. :D

Taz

Sazar
06-17-04, 11:30 AM
that german sites list seems to be a bit off...

my scores non-overclocked or optimised are below...

however thats one heck of a good oc and performance increase :thumbsup:

TheTaz
06-17-04, 11:47 AM
that german sites list seems to be a bit off...

my scores non-overclocked or optimised are below...

however thats one heck of a good oc and performance increase :thumbsup:

Aye... Even Sandra comparison shows the Athlon XP 3200+ at 8380/3465 and the German site shows 8222/3459.

Must be the motherboards / memory timings they used.

That said... my memory timings are slightly slower than that German chart. German site says 2-3-2-6, and the best my Kingston HyperX 3200 runs at is 2-3-3-6. So I figured that's as close of a comparison as I was going to get, that wasn't 'canned' in Sandra. ;)

Regards,

Taz

Sazar
06-17-04, 11:51 AM
yah i was running @ 2.5-3-3-8 @ the time I did that bench :)

been trying to get my mittens on the 64bit version of sandra :) might give it a look/see when the o/s comes out with proper support :D

|JuiceZ|
06-17-04, 02:26 PM
been trying to get my mittens on the 64bit version of sandra :) might give it a look/see when the o/s comes out with proper support :D

didn't know they made a 64bit vers of Sandra, koo :cool:

Sazar
06-17-04, 04:33 PM
didn't know they made a 64bit vers of Sandra, koo :cool:

I am guessing its some modules they have..

I went to their site to dl the software for the tests and I saw a link thinger for a 64bit thinger...

I have problems with sandra regarding some of their benching methods but they have some good useful modules too :)

Woodelf
06-17-04, 06:08 PM
Well MFLOPS is more important than MIPS, IMO. Since an Athlon 64 3800+ is around $700...

Unfortunalty My Mflops don't compare to the fx53's sse2.

TheTaz
06-17-04, 06:45 PM
Yeah, I hear ya. heh.

Does that Vapochill PE you have only cool the CPU? or do you have a block for the graphics card too?

Taz

Woodelf
06-17-04, 07:26 PM
Yeah, I hear ya. heh.

Does that Vapochill PE you have only cool the CPU? or do you have a block for the graphics card too?

Taz
Nope, just the cpu. I use an enormous (by gpu standards - 3 slots) copper cpu cooler with a quiet 60mm fan for that. I'd like to switch to water gpu cooling though - someday. Nice quiet system though, I'll always have one, I think.

TheTaz
06-19-04, 01:19 PM
Unfortunalty My Mflops don't compare to the fx53's sse2.

I meant to ask you... games don't use SSE2, right?
I mean... SSE2 is for multimedia stuff like zipping, mpeg encoding, etc., right?

If that's the case... then it doesn't make much difference to me that an Athlon 64 has SSE2. :)

Regards,

Taz

Woodelf
06-19-04, 04:34 PM
I meant to ask you... games don't use SSE2, right?
I mean... SSE2 is for multimedia stuff like zipping, mpeg encoding, etc., right?

If that's the case... then it doesn't make much difference to me that an Athlon 64 has SSE2. :)

Regards,

Taz

Incomming forces is the only one I'm aware of right now, but since Intel and Amd now support it, I think well be seeing more of it, especially with windows 64 native games.

I found this interesting bit.

"Streaming SIMD Extensions
The AMD Athlon 64 and Opteron processors support SSE and SSE2 instruction set extensions which are used by the Microsoft 64-bit compiler. Athlon 64 and Opteron processors fully support 32-bit 3DNow!, x87, and MMX instructions for 32-bit applications, whether they're running on 32-bit or 64-bit Windows. However, those instruction sets are not supported for native 64-bit applications. Instead, like the Microsoft 64-bit compiler, your 64-bit assembly code should use SSE and SSE2 instructions. Those instructions provide you with terrific performance for single-precision and double-precision floating point and integer SSE2 vector operations—and it's not difficult to do the port.

http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/winhec/partners/64bitAMD.mspx

TheTaz
06-19-04, 05:27 PM
Ah... I've got time bfore having to switch to 64-bit, then. :)

Thanks for the info!

Regards,

Taz

TheTaz
06-20-04, 03:10 PM
that german sites list seems to be a bit off...

my scores non-overclocked or optimised are below...

however thats one heck of a good oc and performance increase :thumbsup:

Dunno why yer getting 9500 MIPS on yer A64 3400+. (Must have a riteous motherboard)
Even Tom's benches (Not that I'm a fan of Tom's) show below 9200 (9140):

Tom's recent Sandra benches (http://www.tomshardware.com/cpu/20040601/socket_939-29.html)

It might be because Tom's 3400+ is using single channel?

Yer MFLOPS do correspond to the German chart tho, because those are FPU MFLOPS, (German Chart = 3480, you = 3479), not SSE2 MFLOPS (Tom's = 4542, You = 4476). It's weird that your MIPS are higher and yer SSE2 MFLOPS are lower.

Since SSE2 isn't used in games yet... and won't be for quite a while, I think the SSE2 portion of the Sandra bench doesn't matter much, to me.

I'd be interested to see what you get when you do over clock that bad boy, tho. :)

Regards,

Taz

Sazar
06-20-04, 08:33 PM
a64 3400+ is only single channel m8... :)

I have a socket 754... single channel :)

can't do anything bout it... sckt 939 afaik starts @ the 3500+

also keep in mind I am running unoptimized (ie with background apps open) and with c'n'q which is liable to knock a coupla points off here and there as teh clock speed jumps round :cool: