PDA

View Full Version : 3dmark score


Sgt_Pitt
06-25-04, 01:36 PM
hmmm this is strange when i had my old cpu which was 1.8 o/c to 2.3 i was getting about a 3dmark score of 12,000 now i recently upgraded to a 2.8 prescott oc/ 3.1 im getting 11,800 lol something isnt right.


ill test it again

i think it might have something to do with the ram only running at 352mhz but the FSB is now running at 884 compare to the old 580, hmmm strange

anzak
06-25-04, 01:49 PM
That's odd. My 9600XT pulls 13k 3dmarks :rolleyes:

Are you using the same drivers? Have you reformatted since the upgrade?

surfhurleydude
06-25-04, 01:52 PM
I believe he is talking about 3dmark03, not 01 ;)

Anyways, you shouldn't have to format when you are just switching CPUs within the same socket. But if it is killing your performance, then perhaps you might want to consider formatting.

But yes, go check your memory ratios... you probably will need to change it to correspond with the amount of FSB added in the Prescott!

Sgt_Pitt
06-25-04, 02:03 PM
yeah ?? so its the memory now ? Damn first i was told my cpu was limiting my system now its the ram ?? sheesh

Although i think it might be the ram, the cpu is an 800 mhz fsb and the ram is only running in single channel cause i only have 1 x 256 and 1 x 512 both pc 2700 running at 333 but o/c to 352

I recenly built my mums computer and gave her a 1 x 256 pc 2700 @ 333.

Should i give her the 512 from my pc and take back the 256, and then ill have 2 x 256 in my pc then maybe i can double pump the ram to 666 bus speed ??

Would this have an effect and can you double pump pc2700@333 mhz or is the only ram that can be double pumped have to be pc3200@400 mhz ??

surfhurleydude
06-25-04, 02:07 PM
FSB is always quadruple pumped regardless of what type of RAM you use...

Anyways, with a Prescott you should be running AT LEAST dual channel PC3200 RAM at all times... And that's not even if you're overclocking. You're overclocking and you have very slow RAM... You might want to set the RAM ratio as low as you possibly can or close to it.

That's why your performance is lower because you had better memory bandwidth with the last CPU as it's FSB was less.

surfhurleydude
06-25-04, 02:08 PM
And to reply to what you said in the other thread, 3dmark2003 isn't exactly the best program to use to test CPU performance increases... Use Unreal Tournament 2003 or 2004 botmatch tests for that.

Sgt_Pitt
06-25-04, 02:12 PM
FSB is always quadruple pumped regardless of what type of RAM you use...

Anyways, with a Prescott you should be running AT LEAST dual channel PC3200 RAM at all times... And that's not even if you're overclocking. You're overclocking and you have very slow RAM... You might want to set the RAM ratio as low as you possibly can or close to it.

That's why your performance is lower because you had better memory bandwidth with the last CPU as it's FSB was less.


Im sorry i dont understand, i thought the higher the ram buss speed the better the performance ?
Would it be better if i used 2x256 and ran them in dual channel ?

surfhurleydude
06-25-04, 02:13 PM
Yes

Sgt_Pitt
06-25-04, 02:25 PM
ok i might need some help here.

my cpu freq is 220x4=880

the ram speed is on auto @365
the other options are 1:33 @293
and 1:66 @ 365
and 2.0 @440

there is also the agp/pci/src which is on 66/33/100 and can be increased in increments of 1.

so going by what you said i should use mem 1:33 @293 and then maybe increase the FSB to the max before crashing ?

btw its 4.30 in the morning here ill wait till later to get the other memory from mums room :D for now ill just play with the ram ive got in my pc