PDA

View Full Version : 6800 Power question


Pages : [1] 2

s-flow
06-26-04, 07:43 AM
Hi!
I am pretty sure I will buy a GF 6800 Ultra or GF 6800 GT soon.
My question is, can the GF 6800 Ultra be used successfully with
only one power cord attached from a good 350w power supply ?

I will not overclock the card.

I read somewhere that the Ultra would
work fine that way (donĀ“t know about 350w) ?

Daniel

uKveld
06-26-04, 08:46 AM
make shure your PSU has at least 18A on the +12v rail

SH64
06-26-04, 08:48 AM
I think its possible .
i read somewhere that nVIDIA is lowring the PSU reqs to 350W in no O/C conditions .

kahloq
06-26-04, 05:59 PM
You may be OK, however, its always advised too connect both power hookups even if just using a y splitter.

burningrave101
06-27-04, 08:04 PM
As long as the PSU is a name brand PSU you should have a problem. But if you get ahold of some extra cash i would upgrade it to a nice 400-500w when possible.

I believe i heard someone say they were able to run 450/1200 on the ultra with just the primary power connector.

lognoronon
06-27-04, 08:28 PM
Well I should be in the clear with my PSU since it supplies 36A on the +12v rail. If it's not enough then something is wrong LOL.

burningrave101
06-27-04, 09:07 PM
Well I should be in the clear with my PSU since it supplies 36A on the +12v rail. If it's not enough then something is wrong LOL.

Yea i'd say you've got more then enough lol.

My Antec TrueBlue 480w has 28A on the 12V which = 336w.

GPSnoopy
06-27-04, 09:15 PM
http://www.aopen.nl/products/power/FSP350-60PN.htm

Doesn't seem to be enough, is it?

Rytr
06-27-04, 09:34 PM
It should work OK, the specs overall look better than a lot of 350W that I have seen. PSUs capable of supplying combined 220W on the +3.3V & +5V are generally pretty strong for a 350W PSU. A good 400W would be more preferable but that site does not show any good ones, in fact, the specs on that 350W you show looks better than the whole bunch.

Azzkikr1337
06-27-04, 09:40 PM
I have a question for people who knows about the ultras. I have a vantec 420W PSU, and I managed to save one dedicated 12V line for the graphics card(there are only 3). I was thinking of hooking up the two molexs on the same line to the ultra. IS that going to be a bad idea?

jAkUp
06-27-04, 09:41 PM
What is the best powersupply? PC power and cooling 510 deluxe?

sonyman
06-27-04, 09:55 PM
What is the best powersupply? PC power and cooling 510 deluxe?
Enermax 650W :kill: .

Scott

burningrave101
06-27-04, 10:04 PM
What is the best powersupply? PC power and cooling 510 deluxe?

Yes, the best Power Supply is the PC Power and Cooling 510 Deluxe. The wattage rating on a PSU really doesn't mean alot. Its the quality of the components used in its production that decides how good it is. PC Power and Cooling is the best. Other brands like Antec, Enermax, Fortron Source, Sparkle, Thermaltake, Enlight, Vantec, and so on, follow closely behind :).

I prefer Antec PSU's myself.

Hey Sonyman!!! lol :)

sonyman
06-27-04, 10:11 PM
Yes, the best Power Supply is the PC Power and Cooling 510 Deluxe. The wattage rating on a PSU really doesn't mean alot. Its the quality of the components used in its production that decides how good it is. PC Power and Cooling is the best. Other brands like Antec, Enermax, Fortron Source, Sparkle, Thermaltake, Enlight, Vantec, and so on, follow closely behind :).

I prefer Antec PSU's myself.

Hey Sonyman!!! lol :)
Hey burningrave101 from [H]ard|Forum. Long time no see. :p

Scott

CptHawkeye
06-27-04, 11:14 PM
Any advice on how to check if my 12v rail supplies enough amps for a noob?

No_Sleep_Needed
06-27-04, 11:27 PM
there should be a sticker on your power supply, look there under +12V

CptHawkeye
06-27-04, 11:31 PM
Ok, I presume I'm looking at the right place, has a +12 in a box, and below that a 12A. I presume this is bear minimum for an ulra. What if I went for the GT and overlocked, should I have a problem?

saturnotaku
06-28-04, 12:30 AM
I presume this is bear minimum for an ulra. What if I went for the GT and overlocked, should I have a problem?

No, the bare minimum should be 18A, 20A would be preferred. 12A would be barely sufficient to run a GeForce FX 59xx, let alone the much more powerful 6800. Get a new PSU as soon as you can - any of the brand names mentioned here will do you quite well. Buy the best one you can afford. There are some pretty decent units available that won't cost an arm and a leg.

lognoronon
06-28-04, 12:56 AM
Make sure you do your research for your psu. It's the most neglected part of a computer by the vast majority of users. I paid around $140 for mine but it's not the cheapest it can be found nor the most expensive. I figure it's going to be fine for me for a few years at the very least. If you want one with a great warranty the pc power cooling have a 5 year warranty I think but they are very expensive as in around $180.

doodlebob
06-28-04, 12:58 AM
Do you think a dell 250w psu could handle a 6800nu?
sticker on psu:
12v-14amps
5v-22amps
3.3v-18amps
---------------
Max=281w-296w :confused:
I used this eVGA page (http://www.evga.com/articles/public.asp?AID=197) to calculate actual power.

anzak
06-28-04, 01:09 AM
Do you think a dell 250w psu could handle a 6800nu?
sticker on psu:
12v-14amps
5v-22amps
3.3v-18amps
---------------
Max=281w-296w :confused:
I used this eVGA page (http://www.evga.com/articles/public.asp?AID=197) to calculate actual power.

Well... no. I hate dell for that. They even use there own power connector vs. the 20 pin ATX so you can't use other power supplies with there mobo's.

*edit*

Found an adapter for you http://www.endpcnoise.com/cgi-bin/e/dellconverter.html

*edit 2*

Better yet PC Power & Cooling makes Dell power supplies!

http://www.pcpowercooling.com/home.htm

mustrum
06-28-04, 03:58 AM
I'd say it depens of what CPU you use and if you OC'ed it.
I use a radeon 9700 wich needs mcuh less power than the 6800's and i killed my 350Watts PSU (not too good one) 2 days ago while OCing my CPU.
After i raised vcore a bit and OCed my AMD Barton to 2.4ghz i smelled this ugly burnt smell comming out of my system. No crash but i am sure if it would've run only 1 more minute it would've burnt out and maybe taken the whole system with it into the hardware nirvana.
Fixed my (very) old enermx 431 Watts PSU (fan was defective) and now it's all fine running at 2.4ghz.
The 350W PSU hat 13.5 Volts on the 12 Volt rail before it went forever. :udawg:

doodlebob
06-28-04, 08:32 AM
[QUOTE]I'd say it depens of what CPU you use and if you OC'ed it.[QUOTE]
Well I can't overclock a dell.
This is what is in the case P4 2.66ghz, mobo, 60g hard drive,cd-rom drive,cd burner,1 case fan, and a sound blasterlive, nothing else.
My 9700 broke a month ago, so I have a radeon 7500 :lame:.

anzak thanks for your opinion.

CptHawkeye
06-28-04, 10:44 AM
Ok then looks like I'm in the market for a new PSU. Any good, low cost ones I should be looking at?

Banko
06-28-04, 10:52 AM
I recommend the Aspire 520W it comes pre-sleeved works good for me. It also has 35A on the 12v rail.