PDA

View Full Version : BFG 6800GT OC.........I did it


PaiN
06-30-04, 03:07 PM
I've wanted 6800Ultra, even up until this morning ....mostly for the OCing :)
but I've had my eye on the 6800GT..its performance, OCing, price and now...availability.
I found comp-u-plus had the BFG 6800GT OCs in stock for $395
I made the descion on the spot with phone in hand had one ordered in seconds flat :D...
Most all GT's are hitting atleast Ultra speeds(The BFG OC comes factory clocked at 370) and with my wa-wa \ "special" RAM cooling I'm expecting good things.
With overnight expidited shipping for delivery tomorow(7-1) it cost me $125 less than the Ultra at BestBuy....

I'm damn excited......

Banko
06-30-04, 03:09 PM
I love my GT wish I could overclock it more I prob could if it had the U cooler on it lol.

PaiN
06-30-04, 03:12 PM
sorry...I forgot a link..in case anyone else wants to go GTing
http://www.compuplus.com/insidepage.php3?sid=uk0v0a28169w542&id=1002558&track=searchViewed

I love my GT wish I could overclock it more
Banko...what are your clocks and what brand GT?

revbatboy
06-30-04, 03:26 PM
Sellout :) Just kidding. At least you will have your card while I will still be waiting for my Ultra.

combat_wombat
06-30-04, 03:30 PM
I always have bad luck when it comes to cards that overclock good. my BFG core don't overclock much, but at 385/1080mhz I still managed 11,282 in 3dmark 03, so I am pleased. my cpu is ancient too

six_storm
06-30-04, 03:31 PM
I did the same thing man. I ordered my GT at Compuplus and cancelled from BB. I'm getting mine tommorrow too.

zer0xp
06-30-04, 03:32 PM
I always have bad luck when it comes to cards that overclock good. my BFG core don't overclock much, but at 385/1080mhz I still managed 11,282 in 3dmark 03, so I am pleased. my cpu is ancient too
You sure that's the highest it can go??

Pimp!
06-30-04, 03:52 PM
luckily you didnt order after 1:07pm, thats when compuplus bumped the price for the GT to a whoopping $479!!

hopefully ill get mine tommorrow too :D

Banko
06-30-04, 04:02 PM
sorry...I forgot a link..in case anyone else wants to go GTing
http://www.compuplus.com/insidepage.php3?sid=uk0v0a28169w542&id=1002558&track=searchViewed


Banko...what are your clocks and what brand GT?

Look at sig =] Gonna try overclocking it some more today. Maybe a 5mhz boost.

b|indeyes
06-30-04, 04:38 PM
Look at sig =] Gonna try overclocking it some more today. Maybe a 5mhz boost.

3dmark2k3 score is around 7k

Intel P4 2.4c 800fsb
Chaintech 6800GT @ 400 core and 1100 mem.
875p Intel chipset
512 megs of DDR500
2xWD 80GB 8mb cache hard drives

Just did a fresh install with the card

Installed chipset drivers
Forceware 61.71 and tried 61.36 same results with both
Installed DirectX 9b

I dont know what the hell is wrong

Resolution on my desktop is 1600x1200
but in 3dMark its set to the default resolution so thats not the problem either

im at a loss

kahloq
06-30-04, 05:40 PM
default resolution is 1024x768 for 3dmark. If your desktop is set at 1600x1200 then maybe that is over-riding the 3dmark default 1024x768. When 3dmark is running, does it take up the entire screen? If it is, then its running in 1600x1200 instead of the 1024x768 default

Ruined
06-30-04, 05:43 PM
Cool. BFG says they take off the stock thermal tape off every 6800U and put on Arctic Silver instead. (Scott from Bjorn3d verified this with his card, too). Wonder if they do the same with the GT?

kahloq
06-30-04, 05:44 PM
I dont see why they wouldnt :)

GlowStick
06-30-04, 06:18 PM
Woot WTG, however im gonna try to hold out and get the Ultra, : (

I really cant stand waiting a day more though.

PaiN
06-30-04, 06:18 PM
:) I just got my tracking #.......I have been waiting for one of these :clap:

Anyway, I'm going to run some default benchies tonight on the X800Pro and hopefully I'll be able to get some comparison stuff up but tomorow night..

combat_wombat
06-30-04, 06:21 PM
You sure that's the highest it can go??

evidently. whenever I go higher I begin to notice artifacting on the tortoise in the mother nature scene. memory is fine at 1.1ghz though. I may redo the thermal paste myself.