PDA

View Full Version : joint operations performance


Pages : [1] 2

Mullins1060
06-30-04, 04:38 PM
I am having a real bad time trying to get joint operations running at decent frame rates even on 20 player servers.

Minimum Requirements
Windows 98, Me, 2000, XP
Pentium III 1.4GHz
256MB RAM
1.5GB hard drive space
32MB AGP DX9 video card with T&L DirectX 9.0-compatible sound card
CD-ROM 16x
DirectX 9.0b

My System
Windows XP Home SP2 RC2
1.8GHz Pentium 4
MS-6524
MSC Vertriebs 2 x 256MB PC133 SDRAM 3-2-3-6
128MB MSI FX5600 @ 380/660
Western Digital Caviar 80GB IDE 5400rpm ATA100
Soundblaster Live! 5.1 Digital

now does that not exceed the minimum specs?

i have everything on low and off. aa and af off and bilinear on and res 800x600 and im getting 10-15 fps

even farcry runs better than this on medium @ 1024x768

is anyone else having problems? possibly with even better hardware.

Raptorman
06-30-04, 07:02 PM
Okay, first off, run the game at 1027x768. Make sure Frame Detail, Shadows, and the other option in that list (can't remember what it is right now) are set to NORMAL. Also, make sure Anisotropic Filtering is NOT on. In game needs to be set to "Trilinear" filtering.

If you can, invest in a better video card.

Make sure that if you use anti-aliasing it is only set to 2x. This should help your performance some. If not, I'll see what else I can do to dig out some FPS.

BTW, with mine, I run it at HIGHEST except for those last three options (Shadows, Frame Detail, etc.) which are at Normal. I run 1024x768 with 2x AA and Trilinear filtering. On large maps online (especially Twin Islands) I only average 20 - 30 fps.

-=DVS=-
06-30-04, 07:39 PM
With my setup below i average ~55fps in moust cases , in game settings mix of medium and high , no AA 8xAF. Dunno but this game smooth even with big battles.

If you get only 10-15fps on everything lowest , something is seriously bad. Maybe lag from net is killing your fps ?

Mullins1060
07-01-04, 01:13 AM
its the same when i host my own server (i dont have any other players on it i was just checkign the fps without all the other players). RaptorMan i ahve all my settings lower that what you have said. not sure if its because its the demo. but ill see when my full version arrives on monday.

but if its the same then ill be pretty annoyed.

-=DVS=-
07-01-04, 01:59 AM
Well it pretty clear then it must be combination of your slower CPU and lowend video card .

Demo and Retal version runs same to me , didn't notice major difference.

Mullins1060
07-01-04, 03:38 AM
:cry:

would i get any significant increase going to a 3200+ barton with 400mhz fsb on a nforce 2 board? using the same card but having 1gb PC3200 ram

im not to sure if i could afford a 64bit system.

Raptorman
07-01-04, 09:40 AM
Oh okay, you're using the DEMO. No wonder, the Demo has shi***y performance. You will do a lot better once you have the full game. Remember to run auto-update when you get it.

Pafet
07-01-04, 09:53 AM
Just downloaded the demo and gave it a shot (ver 1.0.0.9). it's way better than 'Team Sabre' performance wise when I use all default settings, 1024 and no AA,AF on my old AthlonXP1600 with GF4200. all medium except terrain textures are high and frame effects are low.
its not that fast, 20-30 fps but its fine for me :)

I found it gets slower at night time.... you know what I mean.

Mullins1060
07-01-04, 03:04 PM
ok. well its due to arrive monday. im contemplating upgrading shortly anyway.

Pafet
07-01-04, 04:12 PM
WOOHOO!! Just played a few games on a 64 player server! Thats crazy but fun.
I tried a 100 player one but it realy wasnt playable for me so everything is on the lowest now. and 800x600 also (remember that resolution from some generations ago :D )

theultimo
07-01-04, 05:46 PM
I agree its the 5600.

<-- Slow FPS w/1024x768

stncttr908
07-01-04, 06:55 PM
It's fun, but the performance is poor. I don't think there's anything you can do, especially with that system, besides turn down a few of the detail settings.

SH64
07-01-04, 09:02 PM
OT : Is there a SP mode in JO ?? how is it compared to BF:V ?... i may pick this one so i wanna be sure about it .

Raptorman
07-01-04, 10:26 PM
Single Player is only training. Online there are "cooperative" missions. The game, imo, kicks BF: V right in the a$$. Especially the 150 man servers.

SH64
07-01-04, 10:46 PM
Single Player is only training.

You mean there is SP like BF:V ?? i mean with bots ..?
because i only tend to play off-line .

if theres no SP or with bots .. the game isnt for me then !

jAkUp
07-01-04, 10:53 PM
It is without a doubt the 5600. See if you can upgrade to at least a 5900se or 9800 pro

The SDRam definetely isn't helping performance either...

Raptorman
07-01-04, 11:05 PM
There are "bots" but they are only for training missions. Nothing more. It is an "online" game for the most part.

SH64
07-01-04, 11:14 PM
There are "bots" but they are only for training missions. Nothing more. It is an "online" game for the most part.

Thanks for clearing that for me .
IGN's review nearly confused me ! :

In addition to a deep single-player mode, Joint Operations also features co-op and versus multiplayer modes for up to 64 players at the same time.


http://pc.ign.com/objects/569/569740.html?ui=cb_like_01

Mullins1060
07-02-04, 03:03 PM
It is without a doubt the 5600. See if you can upgrade to at least a 5900se or 9800 pro

The SDRam definetely isn't helping performance either...

ok thanks for the info.

i know this is slightly off topic but would a 6800 ultra be pointless or worthwhile with a abit nf7 v2 mobo witha xp3200+ 400mhz fsb barton with 1gb pc3200ram? as that is what im thinking of upgrading too.

also does the nf7 support sata raid0

all being well i should haev my new system in a month :D. 64bit is too pricey for me :(

lIqUID
07-03-04, 09:48 AM
hmmmm, I have nearly the same setup your reffering to. A 2800+ OCed above 3200, and a gig of OCZ DDR400. I think the Ultra would be slight overkill for that rig, I would go GT errr strike that I AM going GT.

On a side note Im running a 5900 nu @ 450/900 in the rig above. All settings on medium, 4xAA, 2xAF Im averaging about 40 FPS on the 150 player server. I find my framerate doesnt change much from smaller to larger servers except for when theres a very heavy firefight in the larger servers.

Mullins1060
07-03-04, 04:50 PM
ok thanks for that, thats very playable. i have the game now and im getting 20-30 fps on the smaller maps but 10-15 on the large ones. still the game is fun thats the main thing.

be nice to hear what sort of performance the gt does on ur rig in joint ops.

Mullins1060
07-03-04, 05:03 PM
i bit the bullet and ordered XFX GeForce 6800 GT 256MB DDR3 Dual DVI/TV-Out for £293.69

Smokey
07-03-04, 07:20 PM
i bit the bullet and ordered XFX GeForce 6800 GT 256MB DDR3 Dual DVI/TV-Out for £293.69
:thumbsup:

Remember to post lots of photos and feedback once you get it ;)

Mullins1060
07-04-04, 01:42 AM
i will do :) i think ill be the first to have one with a lower end system. it had a lead time of 1-3 days so should be here by thursday

Raptorman
07-04-04, 09:09 AM
When is the PS 3.0 patch going to be out for Joint Ops? Anyone know? All the Nova-Admin that came into the game I was playing night before last (asking how we liked the new patch) said was "I cannot comment on current and future projects."