PDA

View Full Version : Best way to setup Far Cry for 6800 GT


Squidly
07-01-04, 06:45 PM
Hey guys,

Just wondering what the best way to setup far cry for the 6800 GT is. I did auto detect and all my settings were set to low. I am also unable to select from the options menu (paradise etc). I downloaded the r300 path file, and will install it tonight, but I am just wondering if there is a better way. Hopefully they have this thing fixed in the 1.2 patch (i have a feeling that is why they held it back).

Thanks,
Chris

Headbust
07-01-04, 06:52 PM
Im getting my card in 15 minutes. Far crys included so whats all this about setting it to the r3xx path?.. Do I have to?, will it run better this way?. how do i do it?

Squidly
07-01-04, 06:54 PM
Im getting my card in 15 minutes. Far crys included so whats all this about setting it to the r3xx path?.. Do I have to?, will it run better this way?. how do i do it?

I haven't tried it yet, but here is the readme:

www.tommti-systems.de - Far Cry v1.1 Image quality fix for nvidia geforce fx/6 cards

- place this d3d9.dll in the \Far Cry\Bin32 folder
- this simply enables the R3xx path on nvidia cards, which could be slower on geforce fx cards
- run the game


The top line shows you a link of where to find it

i hope some others with experience will chime in on exactly what to do...

Maybe they'll release the patch tomorrow (doubtful) and this thread can be deleted. (spit)

Headbust
07-01-04, 06:55 PM
ill try it stock first then if it runs like crap ill try that patch.

Squidly
07-01-04, 06:58 PM
ill try it stock first then if it runs like crap ill try that patch.

I dont think it'll run like crap... for me it didnt save the high quality settings... i changed the settings from low to hq, restarted the game, and the settings were still at low. After that I changed the settings to high quality and played without rebooting. I need to install fraps to get a picture of what fps I was running.

-=DVS=-
07-01-04, 08:19 PM
In few week new 1.2 patch will take care of all 6800 problems.

six_storm
07-01-04, 08:20 PM
I've got the BFG 6800GT and I installed the 61.34 drivers and it works like a dream. Also, I'm running in paradise rendering mode. Maybe I should try to run it in R300 mode later.

Squidly
07-01-04, 08:24 PM
what am i doing wrong to not have paradise mode available?

Ruined
07-01-04, 08:54 PM
The 1.2 patch will be out in a few days, imo not worth messing around with the game til then heh.

Squidly
07-01-04, 08:55 PM
a few days.. or a few weeks?... maybe i should just play something else in the mean time

Ruined
07-01-04, 09:13 PM
a few days.. or a few weeks?... maybe i should just play something else in the mean time

That's what I'm doing, I just have 1.0 farcry sitting here and i'm playing NWN and Painkiller instead :)

Should be next week being that there was an update for the patch on ubi's website.

Headbust
07-01-04, 09:45 PM
bleh it runs alright on my system...Figured it was going to be perfectly smooth.

Turned it down to bileaner
Turned AF to 2 on the game menu
AA at low
res at 1024
shadows at low

Dunno just sounds like with these settings and everything else maxxed out it should run silky

OWA
07-01-04, 09:53 PM
what am i doing wrong to not have paradise mode available?
Try turning the special effects setting to Very High and see if that lets you enable it.

Headbust
07-01-04, 09:54 PM
whats the difference in modes?

Banko
07-01-04, 09:59 PM
Am I the only one that when I select AA in Far Cry settings Far Cry doesn't want to be full screen ?

Templar
07-02-04, 12:17 AM
Thief 3

GravY
07-02-04, 02:06 AM
1.2 patch will be out on Monday.. with sm3.0 look to gain about 30%..

Squidly
07-02-04, 02:07 AM
1.2 patch will be out on Monday..

Got a link?

:screwy: <----- How i feel with this release stuff lately

OWA
07-02-04, 02:08 AM
Got a link?

:screwy: <----- How i feel with this release stuff lately
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=31104

See bottom of first post.