PDA

View Full Version : FarCry NV Path???


lmetza
07-02-04, 01:01 PM
How do i make farcry use the NV path, can someone please tell me. Thanks.

rewt
07-02-04, 06:53 PM
I imagine you have a Radeon and wish to squeeze out extra performance? Well, in that case try running far cry with a nv3x device ID. I've heard this can be done with 3D Analyze (http://www.tommti-systems.com/main-Dateien/files.html).

ATI_Dude
07-03-04, 09:53 AM
I imagine you have a Radeon and wish to squeeze out extra performance? Well, in that case try running far cry with a nv3x device ID. I've heard this can be done with 3D Analyze (http://www.tommti-systems.com/main-Dateien/files.html).

I doubt it's possible to run the NV3x path in conjunction with a Radeon card since it doesn't support partial (16 bit) pixel shader 2.0 precision.

Lezmaka
07-03-04, 11:49 AM
I doubt it's possible to run the NV3x path in conjunction with a Radeon card since it doesn't support partial (16 bit) pixel shader 2.0 precision.

All Radeon's do when they encounter a partial precision hint is ignore it and continue doing everything at FP24 as they normally do.

Ruined
07-03-04, 12:06 PM
He will still get performance increases even without PP on the Radeon, because the NV3x path has more 1.1 shaders than the R300 path.

lmetza
07-05-04, 11:54 AM
I have a 5900XT, i would like to know how to use both paths to play the game. And what is the default? I also am useing forceware 61.36

gstanford
07-05-04, 12:24 PM
Just got a 5900XT (very good prices on them now, grabbed the gigabyte , clocks to 445/810, great card) and farcry to see what all the fuss is about. Using Detonator 61.71 and DX9.0c beta.

I'm running farcry under the R300 path with the FP16 Tommti patch

Trust me when I tell you the fanATIcs are full of it when the claim NV3x is slow at this game... It's very playable indeed.