PDA

View Full Version : 6800 GT or Ultra Choice


rickshobbies
07-02-04, 12:27 PM
All,

Well, my BFG 6800 Ultra arrived yesterday and I installed into my system and reformatted teh drive. XP is installed with all drivers and I will be installing games to test tonight.

Now, my pre-order for the BFG Ultra from BB says it's processing for shipment, so I guess it's gonna show up here as well. I figured that if that happened, I would just take it over to BB and return it.

I made the decision to go with the GT. Funny thing is, now that I know I will have both products in hand, I find myself asking "which one" again!

I am upgrading from an ATI 9800XT (see systems specs below) and between differences in price, shipping and tax, there is $150 difference between the two cards.

So, am I making the right decision here? Should I still keep the GT? I will likely want to run games at 1024x768 or 1280x1024 and have AA, AF and all options on rather than a higher res with less options on.

Someone talk some sanity into me here! :screwy: :bash:

stncttr908
07-02-04, 12:30 PM
I'll talk some sanity into you. Keep the GT, unless you have an itch to have the "very top of the top of the line" graphics card. For those resolutions (and since you only have a 533mhz fsb P4 setup) the GT would be best.

Ruined
07-02-04, 12:31 PM
Ultra = higher overclock + dual dvi + dual slot
GT = lower overclock + dvi/vga + single slot + $100 less

Anything the GT chokes on, the Ultra would choke on too. That being said, you will score slightly higher with an Ultra, but probably nothing significant.

So it's really whether you want dual dvi and the biggest benchmark or the best value and dvi/vga.

Bill The Cat
07-02-04, 12:35 PM
My 6800GT easily overclocks to Ultra speeds. I was in on the BB preorder, then switched my mind and went with the GT. I'm glad I did. Saved $100 and I'm still running at speeds that amount to an Ultra.

rickshobbies
07-02-04, 12:37 PM
Yeah, that's my thinking and for me, since I got the BFG 6800 GT out of state with no tax, ground shipping and at $385, there is actually nearly a $160 price difference. It really looks like most benchmarks I have seen between the Ultra and GT in the resolutions I play at is less than 10 fps.

I should realize a big jump in performance from my 9800XT with either card, I just wanted to make sure that when Doom 3 and HL2 come out, I won't be wishing I had chosen the Ultra.

Then again, I plan to move to a PCIe system in 8 to 12 months and I will end up buying a new card then anyway.

BTW, how much of a performance hit am I taking having a 533Mhz FSB system anyway?

I am not an overclocker and I will leave the BFG at it's factory overclock. How do I verify the clock speed, btw? Is it in the driver somewhere?

Rick

Bill The Cat
07-02-04, 12:45 PM
You can check the gpu/memory speed with Riva Tuner (from guru3d.com), though there might be a simpler method. The BFG 6800GT is clocked at 370/1000 though, I believe.

As for the 533 Mhz bus, you'll probably be fine, as long as you have a gig of memory installed. Sure, it may knock down your 3DMark score a bit, but will there be a real-world noticable impact? I doubt it.

kahloq
07-02-04, 12:49 PM
You can also use Coolbits2. Its a registry addition that unlocks the clock frequency window in nvidia's own drivers. No need for RivaTuner, but theres nothing wrong with it either. You can find coolbits2 in the forceware area of these forums and its a simple copy paste to add it to the registry. Powerstrip can also be used.

stncttr908
07-02-04, 12:57 PM
I just wanted to make sure that when Doom 3 and HL2 come out, I won't be wishing I had chosen the Ultra.
Yeah, no worries there.

Both have 256MB GDDR3
Both have 16 rendering pipes
Both support SM 3.0

And so forth. You got a great deal on that GT.

rickshobbies
07-02-04, 12:57 PM
So, if we are using standard nVidia's drivers, what determines the 370Mhz clock speed? Is it in the ROM? I always thought the clock speed was set to whatever the default is in the driver.

Is it fair to assume that the BFG GT will always be at 370Mhz regardless of the driver used?

Rick

kahloq
07-02-04, 01:09 PM
It will be 370 no matter what driver version you use. BUT, you can CHANGE the clock and memory settings using coolbits,rivatuner or powerstrip. The drivers dont control the clock settings specifically, but they do allow for user changes when coolbits2 registry entry is added

combat_wombat
07-02-04, 01:10 PM
yes rick, the core speed is programmed into the videocard's bios

kahloq
07-02-04, 01:11 PM
This is coolbits2

Copypaste into notepad and save it as coolbits2.reg

REGEDIT4

; =======================
; Coolbits 2
; >> Installation File
; =======================

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\NVTweak]
"NvCplExposeWin2kDualView"=dword:00000001
"NvCplTvLocaleAutoDetect"=dword:00000001
"NvCplAllowForceTVDetection"=dword:00000001
"NvCplEnableActiveApp"=dword:00000001
"DisableApplyColorsAtStartup"=dword:00000000
"NoMenus"=dword:00000000
"OverlayPageState"=dword:00000000
"CinematicPageState"=dword:000000ff
"NvCplThermalSettings"=dword:00000020
"NvCplEnableAppProfilePage"=dword:00000000
"NvCplEnableScreenMenuPage"=dword:00000001
"NvCplCustomResConfig"=dword:00000000
"NvCplEnableAdditionalInfoPage"=dword:00000001
"NvCplDisablePerfQualPage"=hex:00,00,00,00
"NvCplEnableAGPSettingsPage"=dword:00000001
"CoolBits"=dword:ffffffff
"NvCplEnableOverlaySpanControl"=dword:00000001
"TwinViewCapsOverride"=dword:00000001
"NvCplEnableDesktopOverlapPage"=dword:00000001
"NvCplEnableTroubleshootingPage"=dword:00000001
"NvCplDisableRefreshRatePage"=dword:00000000
"NvCplDisableRotateAngles"=dword:00000000
"NoPages"=dword:00000000
"NvCplEnableClearViewPage"=dword:00000001
"NvCplEnableFanControl"=dword:00000003
"NvCplEnableFrameSyncPage"=dword:00000001
"NvCplEnableHardwarePage"=dword:00000001
"NvCplEnablenForcePage"=dword:00000001
"NvCplEnablePwrMzrOnDesktopMenu"=dword:00000001
"NvCplEnableRotationColorSettings"=dword:00000001
"NvCplNvThermPage"=dword:00000001
"PowermizerPreferences"=dword:00000000
"QTwkEnableModeChangeWarning"=dword:00000001

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\OpenGL]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\OpenGL\Debug]
"ShaderObjects"=dword:00000001

kahloq
07-02-04, 01:14 PM
For detailed use and installation, look in the forceware section of these forums. Double clicking on the file coolbits.reg will install it into the registry. You will be asked if you want to do it, before it installs. Once done, go to the properties window of the vid card you using.........there will be a tab with the name of the card you have installed.........ie like fx5700ultra or whatever. Click that and on the left side there will be several options. Click the clock frequency and it will open a window showing you the core and mem speeds and the ability to overclock manually/auto overclock no overclock

rickshobbies
07-02-04, 01:44 PM
Great information! Thanks!

OK, so it looks like I should stick with the GT!

Squidly
07-02-04, 02:14 PM
Yup. I overclocked my GT to over ultra speeds last night and it didnt budge at all. I put it back to stock for now, but as soon as I get a nice watercooling setup it'll go right back up. Plays farcry in the 50's and 60's with all settings maxed as 1280X1024. Its gonna run even better once 1.2 is installed. I am not worried too much about doom either. I have a feeling I will be at the 60FPS max all the time with all settings turned up

rickshobbies
07-02-04, 07:39 PM
Thanks guys!