PDA

View Full Version : XFX 5200 Problem


DarK
07-05-04, 01:10 PM
Searched the forum and things don't look good for any decent info on fixing this problem...

Bought a XFX 5200 to replace an ageing MX440 SE ... the 5200 worked great until I swapped my main board from a soltek SL75KAV to a XFX KT600-ALX

The problems show in the screen shots below
http://www.digifu.demon.co.uk/shot1.jpg

http://www.digifu.demon.co.uk/shot2.jpg

The XFX Main board has 8x AGP (the old board did not have it)... The problem only exists in 8x Mode...

Setting any BIOS settings doesn’t seem to have any effect on the problem (in certain cases makes it worse)

Any ideas?

System Specs
CPU: AMD Athlon XP 2000+
RAM: 333 DDR
M-Board: XFX KT600 ALX
Graphics: XFX GF FX 5200 128Mb DDR

simonuk
07-05-04, 02:58 PM
Did you reinstall windows when you swapped the motherboard?

I couldn't find a great deal of info about the xfx kt600 and the only mention of it on the xfx website is on the uk website. I think your best bet is to get in contact with xfx and ask them if there is a bios which might fix the problem.

sonyman
07-05-04, 03:00 PM
I say just switch to 4x mode. I have to do the same thing with my 9700 Pro on my alt. PC for stability.

Scott

DarK
07-05-04, 03:58 PM
Yes I have done a re-install of windows since swapping the board (first thing I tried :D )

BIOS's for this board don't seem to exist ... too new... Also I think it’s a Euro only board?

Have been in touch with XFX ... They mentioned that the Vcore was off … it currently stands at 1.78 volts

Could this have such a dramatic effect on the production of graphics??

I say just switch to 4x mode. I have to do the same thing with my 9700 Pro on my alt. PC for stability.

Seems pointless to spend the money on a 8x card and board then not be able to use them... the fact that they are from the same manufacturer is a bit off putting :(

sonyman
07-05-04, 04:07 PM
Seems pointless to spend the money on a 8x card and board then not be able to use them... the fact that they are from the same manufacturer is a bit off putting :(
There is such a mediocre performance gain from 4x to 8x that I don't see why you are making a big deal out of it.

Scott

DarK
07-05-04, 04:17 PM
nVidia Marketing crap states the following for 8x Agp:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/feature_agp8x.html

Further I notice you use an ATi card ... and apparently nVidia cards slag behind the market... so perhaps you could consider it the fact I need the mediocre performance increase

I only use nVidia cards because there slightly better supported under Linux than ATi cards ... I don't have to mess around with RPM's to get drivers

Go figure

sonyman
07-05-04, 04:20 PM
nVidia Marketing crap states the following for 8x Agp:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/feature_agp8x.html

Further I notice you use an ATi card ... and apparently nVidia cards slag behind the market... so perhaps you could consider it the fact I need the mediocre performance increase

I only use nVidia cards because there slightly better supported under Linux than ATi cards ... I don't have to mess around with RPM's to get drivers

Go figure
You DO realise that that webpage is on Nvidia's website, and that its sole purpose is to convince people to upgrade to a new AGP8x card? Also, don't bother calling me an ATI fanboy, as I have a TI4200 in one PC, and a 6800 Ultra coming tomorrow.

Scott

DarK
07-05-04, 04:31 PM
Sigh ...

Please do notice the scarsum in my last post ...

nVidia Marketing crap

Do lighten up dude ... I'm aware about it been the nVidia site... but whats the point of bringing out a new version of an interface if there is only a slight increase in preformace there has to be something more over 4x for it to be worth the R&D and the release costs...

Either way i prefer my hardware to work as advertised on the box ... perhaps another phone call to XFX ...

Cheers for the help guys... any more suggestions drop them by