PDA

View Full Version : VIA's Big Embarrassment?


PsychoSy
08-02-02, 09:20 AM
Xbit Labs is reporting that the VIA KT400 chipset will not support DDR 400, a surprise that is hard to swallow considering their naming conventions. Combine that with the fact that their two closest competitors - SiS and Nvidia - have no problems in implementing support in their respective chipsets despite that DDR 400 has yet to be standardized by JEDEC, and you could have reason to suspect that nForce and the SiS 746DX may be able to steal some of VIAs dropping market share for themselves.

But it could be a uphill battle. So far, DDR 400's performance isn't impressive as benchmarks show that it can't even keep up with DDR 333 and it isn't very stable.

http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/story.html?id=1028101079

Kruno
08-02-02, 09:43 AM
Well that sucks doesn't it?
Well I know I will stay with Intel a lot longer than I relised. I wonder... AMD Clawhammer XP 25 deg celcius 4Ghz...

Gator
08-02-02, 10:52 AM
"Introducing the new and improved KT400, with blazing fast DDR333 support"... ROFL

Matthyahuw
08-02-02, 12:20 PM
sad, I'm not going back to VIA for a LONG time!

volt
08-02-02, 12:33 PM
I was considering nvidia on my next mobo but I just don't like the idea of onboard Geforce 4 MX. Unless they will make two versions (with and without)

fastguy94416
08-02-02, 04:53 PM
Nvidia is making two versions, its confirmed

VeritechK7
08-02-02, 06:18 PM
I wish ..really wish to rid of this ViA but i have to hold onto it till i got 760 MP or MPX ... power in my hands

SavagePaladin
08-02-02, 07:16 PM
I think its four versions (two with the high end MCP, with or without graphics, two with the lowend MCP, with or without graphics)
but I'm not entirely sure

LORD-eX-Bu
08-02-02, 10:45 PM
I am not a fan of AMD, so I don't look at KT-whatever chipsets or nforce this or that. So I looked at Via's P4PB 400 mainboard. It rocks! Does anyone know if it can support a 3.06 ghz P4?

volt
08-02-02, 11:03 PM
Yes it can.

PCarr78
08-04-02, 09:29 AM
Kt400 SUCKS

If you want an AthlonXP and are shopping for a mobo, the ONLY choice is the NFORCE2

VeritechK7
08-04-02, 09:46 AM
speaking of NForce / or NF2 .. i was wondering .. .my friend wants an athlon based system but he wanted a stable platform. I recommended him NForce and the SiS( out of my personal experiences with it) He kinda whined about he integrated video
..I was wondering which mobos that featured the nforce had no integrated video . Thats' all

volt
08-04-02, 11:40 AM
Originally posted by VeritechK7
..I was wondering which mobos that featured the nforce had no integrated video . Thats' all

As far as I know none :(
That's what I was looking for too

VeritechK7
08-04-02, 11:50 AM
Have any of you had any experience w/ the asus a7n266C ? I figured that one is the one w/ o integrated video ...any board recommendations from you guys that I should consider?

koslov
08-04-02, 01:56 PM
I own a K7N420, which is stable, but you might have trouble running high-powered vid cards (ie. GF4Ti) on it. The A7N266C seems to be a great board from what I've seen: stable, good overclocking results.

I should mention that there are two nForce chipsets available now: 415 and 420. The only difference being that the 420 has the onboard GPU and is slightly more expensive. If you are worried that you can't use the AGP on the 420, you are wrong. The BIOS automatically disables the onboard GPU upon detection of an AGP card.

MSI also makes a 415 based board.

If you want real, factual information from educated persons, I suggest you go to nForcersHQ (http://www.nforcershq.com/forum/). There you will find the largest group of nForce owners anywhere on the web.

edit: Oh, one thing I forgot to mention is that nForce is notoriously instable on Win9x.

SavagePaladin
08-04-02, 06:13 PM
win9x sucks rocks anyway, who cares

I got one without integrated vid too, the Abit nv7-133r
it's very nice

VeritechK7
08-04-02, 06:43 PM
coolness i 'll keep that board in mind

Gator
08-04-02, 07:49 PM
Originally posted by [Corporal Dan]
Kt400 SUCKS

If you want an AthlonXP and are shopping for a mobo, the ONLY choice is the NFORCE2

SIS is pretty good, don't forget about them. No complaints here, and the prices on SIS boards are amaing!

This is a great DDR333 board with optional firewire, starting at only $58us!!! You know you like it ;)
http://www.msicomputer.com/product/detail_spec/product_detail.asp?model=745_Ultra

SavagePaladin
08-04-02, 11:10 PM
SIS would actually sound pretty decent, but I love NV :)

netviper13
08-05-02, 12:53 AM
SiS's next chipset is looking impressive...just as impressive as the nForce2 without video actually. But since I own an SiS based board, unless the performance is on par with what nForce2 can make I won't buy it again. Yes it's cheap, but I want better performance than what this SiS 745 chipset I'm on gives.

Feanor
08-05-02, 09:29 AM
Yes, the Asus A7N266-C does not have the integrated gfx as it uses the nForce 415/415-D chipset. With the 420-D it is possible to run an AGP accelerator (I'm running a GF3 Ti500 in a A7N266-E right now) though if you know you don't want the GPU, why not just get the 415 and save a few bucks? OK, so why do I have the 420-D then? Because I ordered my board around Feb 10th or so and didn't want to wait for the 415s to come out...it does work though

TheOneKEA
08-05-02, 12:49 PM
Is there any definitive proof that the KT400 WILL NOT support DDR400? Or do the KT400 mobos seen so far simply not support it?

IIRC I read somewhere (maybe Anandtech) there are no DDR400-capable sticks out there yet, so there's no way to find out if the KT400 supports DDR400 until there are.

Frankly I'd take this with a grain of salt until a reference board is reviewed with DDR400 in its memory slots and the board starts crashing with a 200MHz memory bus.

SavagePaladin
08-05-02, 01:24 PM
DDR400 isn't a standard anyway, i wonder how they support it without...umm, support.
What I've seen of DDR 400 modules all had different specifications.

PsychoSy
08-05-02, 02:48 PM
I hate to say this but it looks like the KT400 won't be supporting any DDR 400. But, knowing VIA, the KT400A probably will. :p

Hey, I sorry but that's what VIA does - they release the junk chipset first then release the real chipset with an "A" on the end of it. :mad: