PDA

View Full Version : How to hook up the power Connector?


Pages : [1] 2

gate1975mlm
07-07-04, 07:19 AM
Could someone explain to me how to hook up the power connector on the 6800 card? Where do I hook it up too? I don't want to kill my card. Thanks

saturnotaku
07-07-04, 09:41 AM
Your card should have come with a quick start/setup guide. The instructions should be detailed in there. RTFM.

Bad_Boy
07-07-04, 09:44 AM
RTFM.
:lol2:

GravY
07-07-04, 09:49 AM
plug it in to the nearest wall outlet.. ;)

seriously before you do that try this..

use an extra molex connector and plug that into the card..

Raptorman
07-07-04, 10:46 AM
(omg) Use the molex connectors.

Clay
07-07-04, 11:32 AM
One thing worth clarifying. Use y-splitters if necessary. However, do not "daisy-chain" from the molex connection on your 6800 to another device such as a HD or CD. In other words, the 6800 should be the "end of the line".

gate1975mlm
07-07-04, 11:36 AM
Could someone here take a photo showing how it is hooked up?

saturnotaku
07-07-04, 11:37 AM
One thing worth clarifying. Use y-splitters if necessary. However, do not "daisy-chain" from the molex connection on your 6800 to another device such as a HD or CD. In other words, the 6800 should be the "end of the line".

Good point. If possible, you should give the 6800 its own, dedicated molex connector. This should be easy if you bought a 6800 GT as it only has one connector on the back of the card.

saturnotaku
07-07-04, 11:39 AM
Could someone here take a photo showing how it is hooked up?

Dude, it's not that difficult. Take a molex connector from your power supply (the four-pin connector that plugs into your hard drives and CD-ROM) and plug it into the matching connector on the back of the video card. There's only one way it can go so you don't need to worry about having it plugged in upside down or something.

Again, look at your owner's manual and check out the pictures of the 6800 that are listed in the nV News 6800 Ultra preview.

GravY
07-07-04, 11:43 AM
Ripping off Vlad's pic from the post pic of your baby thread..

this is an Ultra with two connections, your card will only have one connector..

http://homepage.mac.com/vladimir/6800/Below1.jpg

Clay
07-07-04, 11:48 AM
If you have a 6800 or 6800GT it is very simple:

http://www.nvnews.net/temp/y4.jpg


If you have a 6800Ultra then one of the three options below are feasible (in order of preference):

http://www.nvnews.net/temp/y3.jpg

http://www.nvnews.net/temp/y2.jpg

http://www.nvnews.net/temp/y1.jpg

GravY
07-07-04, 12:00 PM
If you have a 6800 or 6800GT it is very simple:

http://www.nvnews.net/temp/y4.jpg


If you have a 6800Ultra then one of the three options below are feasible (in order of preference):

http://www.nvnews.net/temp/y3.jpg

http://www.nvnews.net/temp/y2.jpg

http://www.nvnews.net/temp/y1.jpg

Guess thats a better demonstration over my pic :retard:

Clay
07-07-04, 12:02 PM
Guess thats a better demonstration over my pic :retard:Nah, yours was good too. :) Yours was "real world". :D

revbatboy
07-07-04, 12:27 PM
I don't understad, So the plugs from the PSU goes into the card. hmmmmm is this the first card with such a hookup?













j/k, Sorry nothing against the original poster. Im at work and im bored.

Clay
07-07-04, 12:28 PM
Maybe I'm just being overly patient because it's hump day :D But we were all a bit green at some point so let's not razz gate1975mlm too much. :ORDER: :)

gate1975mlm
07-07-04, 01:54 PM
Maybe I'm just being overly patient because it's hump day :D But we were all a bit green at some point so let's not razz gate1975mlm too much. :ORDER: :)

Thanks lol I hope I don't look like a dumb ass too you guys.

GravY
07-07-04, 02:14 PM
Tis all good..

revbatboy
07-07-04, 02:23 PM
Nah...Like he said we all have to start somewhere. Im just board so I had to post a smart@ss comment.

mustrum
07-07-04, 03:46 PM
The first card using external power form the PSU was ATI Radeon 9700 PRO. It kind of started the strend since nearly every card needs that now. (FX series)
The AGP port can't deliver much power and the new more advanced and higher clocked graphic chips need more power tzhan the AGP port can deliver.

Only the midrange cards don't need them because they are clocked lower/need less juice.

It's not quantum physics though. Take a plug and plug it in.
:wonder:

mustrum
07-07-04, 03:47 PM
Thanks lol I hope I don't look like a dumb ass too you guys.
Better ask before ruining such expensive hardware. Asking is never dumb.

gate1975mlm
07-07-04, 03:54 PM
So do I pull out the connector then is hooked up to my hard drive?

GravY
07-07-04, 04:00 PM
The first card using external power form the PSU was ATI Radeon 9700 PRO. It kind of started the strend since nearly every card needs that now. (FX series)
The AGP port can't deliver much power and the new more advanced and higher clocked graphic chips need more power tzhan the AGP port can deliver.

Only the midrange cards don't need them because they are clocked lower/need less juice.

It's not quantum physics though. Take a plug and plug it in.
:wonder:


Voodoo 5000 series was the first.. ;) and everyone thought it was crazy, pfft Nvidia crowd back then.. :lol:

mustrum
07-07-04, 04:04 PM
Voodoo 5000 series was the first.. ;) and everyone thought it was crazy, pfft Nvidia crowd back then.. :lol:
True. How could i forget about the good old Voodoo 5500. :D
The voodoo 5 6000 was planned to ship with itS' own power supply!!! A shame it never made it to retail.
The few cards that are around have awesme AA performance.

OWA
07-07-04, 04:17 PM
So do I pull out the connector then is hooked up to my hard drive?
Don't you have any that aren't being used? Use one that isn't used if possible.

HaVoK-G2
07-07-04, 04:18 PM
Errm Clay, I think the last picture of yours is wrong. In my bfg manual it says clearly in bold (for the ultra) not to split the power from one power supply cable between the two connectors on the graphics card. But that you can share the power with another device as a hard drive or cdrom drive, with the provided Y cable(s). I I interpreted your pic wrong sorry :P