PDA

View Full Version : Doom 3 at 1600 by 1200 on Geforce 6800 GT?


Pages : [1] 2

gate1975mlm
07-07-04, 08:54 AM
So for people who have or will be getting a Geforce 6800 GT will they be ablie to play games like Doom 3 or Half Life 2 at 1600 by 1200 with all settings on and still get good playable frame Rates?

MUYA
07-07-04, 08:55 AM
No one will know till Doom III or HL2 hits retail.

SH0DAN
07-07-04, 09:05 AM
to first post:I seriously doubt it...

MUYA
07-07-04, 09:09 AM
to 3rd post: how do u know when neither games are retail? ;)

GravY
07-07-04, 09:11 AM
I would think they will preform pretty well with them, again will have to wait and see..

lognoronon
07-07-04, 09:20 AM
Well considering that a lot of gt's overclock to or close to ultra speeds and are not crippled in anyway except for the clocks......I think a gt should be able to play them at 1600x1200 but thats just speculation since neither game is out.

saturnotaku
07-07-04, 09:22 AM
If Doom 3 is anything like the AMP II engine demo (OpenGL, heavy use of lighting and shadows) then don't count on it. It would be nice, but I'm not going to hold my breath. Perhaps if you play without AA and AF it would be possible.

Lfctony
07-07-04, 09:31 AM
If the 5900 Ultra can run D3 in 1600x1200, at 32fps HQ, the 6800GT will run it at least at 45fps. Plus, consider the 32x0 capabilities of the NV40.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=6799

GravY
07-07-04, 09:43 AM
If the 5900 Ultra can run D3 in 1600x1200, at 32fps HQ, the 6800GT will run it at least at 45fps. Plus, consider the 32x0 capabilities of the NV40.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=6799

Based on the Leaked alpha at best... wait till the game comes out and is optimized for the current cards.. there is no way to speculate on how they will or will not perform..

Lfctony
07-07-04, 09:49 AM
The final game will run faster than the Alpha.

PaiN
07-07-04, 09:50 AM
imo....I'd rather be able to play the two games at 1024x768 w\ 4x FSAA & 8x AF on :)
I think you get better visuals and performance than just plain 16x12

mrrolf
07-07-04, 09:58 AM
I'm pretty sure you'll be ok with a 6800GT.

Some of the features on the 6800 were (probably) developed closley with ID software... like the Ultra Shadow II stuff. I don't think any games have that now, so there's no way to tell how it will perform.

If the alpha was running at 32fps on 5900, the retail game should easily run at 60fps on 6800, IMO

six_storm
07-07-04, 09:58 AM
Doom 3 might be more demanding than FarCry but the engine was based around the GeForce 3 when created. I say that ANY GeForce 6 Series Cards will perform outstanding, no doubt. Remember, if nobody knew about this, QuakeCon is being sponsered by NVIDIA and the first ever Doom 3 tournament is being held. www.quakecon.org

SH0DAN
07-07-04, 11:17 AM
I still say the retail game will not be able to run on the GT at 16x12 with all eye candy,plus 4x AA + 8x aniso,at an acceptable framerate.

jAkUp
07-07-04, 11:44 AM
to 2nd post: how do u know when neither games are retail? ;)

The 2nd post in this topic was you :D :D :D

SH0DAN
07-07-04, 11:50 AM
Muya or me ??

burningrave101
07-07-04, 11:55 AM
I still say the retail game will not be able to run on the GT at 16x12 with all eye candy,plus 4x AA + 8x aniso,at an acceptable framerate.

Well maybe not, but i think the 6800GT has a better chance of running those settings than the X800XT PE does. Doom III is fully OpenGL and ATI has proven their poor OpenGL performance time and time again. In current OpenGL games at 1600x1200 w/ 4xAA + 8xAF the 6800u usually holds a 20 fps or more lead over the X800XT PE.

The fact the 6800GT supports UltraShadow II Technology is something else to take into consideration. I'm not sure how that will influence fps on the 6800's.

jAkUp
07-07-04, 11:57 AM
Muya or me ??

Muya, so in a sense he was talking to himself ;)

jbirney
07-07-04, 12:06 PM
I dont think you will be able to. Looking back at past ID games when they have launched with new engines they have also stressed your system. Think of when Q3 frist came out. 1600x1200x32 on a TNT2 with a 400 Mhz CPU (state of the art systems back then) was barly above 30 fps. Granted todays GPUs are much more powerfull, ID games have always stressed your systems and made many people upgrade to play... I am sure the GT will have no trouble playing Doom3, however I do think you may have to turn down the "IQ" settings a notch or two (AA, AF, ect) to get "playable" framerates....

jAkUp
07-07-04, 12:07 PM
Yes, but you also must remember, that doom3 was heavily delayed. We have gone through 2 card generations since the alpha. I'm still hoping that he's throwing in some graphical extras for us 6800/x800 users :)

six_storm
07-07-04, 12:16 PM
Yes, but you also must remember, that doom3 was heavily delayed. We have gone through 2 card generations since the alpha. I'm still hoping that he's throwing in some graphical extras for us 6800/x800 users :)

Amen to that!

Banko
07-07-04, 12:34 PM
i am gonna do wat this topic is er about in er 3 hours eh it will be done er.

Arioch
07-07-04, 12:43 PM
Carmack is a coding genius and as it has already been pointed out the game got delayed a bit longer than even ID intended. The new crop of cards are showing up just in time for this game. If I had to rank the performance of the high level new cards on a scale from 1 to 10 I rate the following:

6800 Ultra - 8
6800Gt - 7
X800XT PE - 7
X800 Pro - 6

The Nvidia cards get a slightly higher score since this is an OpenGL game and it is geared towards the Nvidia chipsets. I do think the new ATI cards will still run the cards well but just a bit under the Nvidia ones.

CaptNKILL
07-07-04, 12:54 PM
Obviously no one here knows for sure, but I think it will be playable at 1600x1200 on a GT with everything maxed (tho probably not AA).

I just have a hunch. Mostly because of those early alphas running the way they did. I could play the Alpha on my Geforce 4 Ti 4400 and the only time it didnt run smooth was during some glitches (itd be running at about 40fps @ the default res then just for no reason go to about 2fps). The game may be high tech and full of graphical goodness, but id is amazing at engine optimization.

Im guessing, 1600x1200 max settings 8x AF will run good (no AA) on a GT. Tho 1280x960 max settings and 8x AF will probably be buttery smooth.

Nv40
07-07-04, 12:58 PM
Amen to that!


FArcry is much more demanding than Hl2 ,and should be more or less as demanding as doom3.(maybe more since they are adding new eye candy to the game) outdoors in FC should be as intensive as the more intensive indoors in D3. if i remember well the RADeon9800xt was the card for Hl2 back in sept30 .Valve demostrated the game at E3 in a RAdeon9800xt at 1280x1024 at solid 50fps noaa/noaf. the 6800Gt should be able to easily get.. close to 2 times the performance of the 9800xt at those settings..~90fps+.
so i dont see why it will have a problem to do -at least- a higher resolution-> 1600x1200 with at least 2xaa/8xaf. at pretty much decent speeds.

Hl2 is targeting a much wider line of Gpus all the way to Geforce4mx.. it will look "identical" in the Xbox (geforce3). (according to Valve own words). so i dont see any problem for Nvidia next generation Gpus there ,which PS2.0 solid performance (as fast is not faster than similar priced ATI cards) has been demostrated. so all 6800's will fly in that game without a problem.

according to Idsoftware word Doom3 benchmarks done by [H]/TOms/ANands are indication of the real game performance so unless idsoftware added HDR or shader model3.0 or new Ps2.0 effects i dont think there will be huge diferences in performance with the retail game ,only speed improvements by Nvidia an ATi with newer drivers.