PDA

View Full Version : Where's the bottle neck


Vanzagar
07-08-04, 02:43 PM
In anticipation of Doom 3 being released soon, I was wanting to upgrade my system:

Windows XP Pro, Service Pack 2
AMD 1800+, 512MB RAM
MSI Geforce 4 Ti4400, Latest detonator drivers
MSI K7T266 Pro2 Motherboard, Latest 4-in-1 drivers
Maxtor 200GB, 7200rpm, ATA66 Hard Drive
Sony DRU500A DVD Burner

Was thinking of going to a GeForce 6800 but was thinking maybe my mobo and cpu may be the bottle neck at this point. I was thinking I can pop in up to a AMD 3000+ (mobo will allow) into my system, but was really wondering how low of a system would end up being the bottle neck, any ideas? (i.e. anything below amd 2800+ would be the bottle neck when using a GeForce 6800, anything above gives you full use of the 6800)

I will be upgrading my ram to 1GB...

Thanks,

rhuala

Revgen
07-08-04, 02:44 PM
I read a Maximum PC article awhile back and remember that they recommended 2 GB of ram if you want play at high settings.

gate1975mlm
07-08-04, 02:45 PM
MSI Geforce 4 Ti4400 turn that into a Geforce 6800 GT!

Nandro
07-08-04, 02:46 PM
Either way you need new video and cpu. I can safely say an overclocked A2500+M clocked at 2500MHZ will run the 6800GT well. I have that in my second rig and it is very responsive, almost as good as my A64 3200+ with the 6800ultra. Either way, IMHO the GT is the best value, and if your not into overclocking at least a A2800+ or better would be pretty good.

Banko
07-08-04, 02:56 PM
Everything :P

MikeC
07-08-04, 02:59 PM
You might want to consider the Athlon 64 as an alternative. The downside is that you'll also need a new motherboard. These prices are for retail versions at Newegg:

Athlon 3200+, 512KB L2 Cache - $187

Athlon 64 2800+, 512KB L2 Cache - $185

Athlon 64 3000+, 512KB L2 Cache - $223

Athlon 64 3200+, 512KB L2 Cache - $282

Athlon 64 3400+, 1MB L2 Cache - $416

TheTaz
07-08-04, 03:05 PM
What Nandro said.

Actually... I think the OC'd Mobile 2500+ @ 2.5GHz is better than an A64 3200+ (Not Overclocked)... because it has near the MIPS of a $700 A64 3800+ (Not Overclocked) and beats it in FPU MFLOPS. (Not SSE2 MFLOPS).

Since games don't use SSE2... It's a lot of bang for buck for gaming! :)

Of course I don't know if your motherboard will run a Mobile Barton. Chances are, if it can run a Desktop Barton, it can run a Mobile Barton.

Between a Mobile Barton overclocked and another 512MB of RAM (for gaming).... you should be GT Ready. :)

Regards,

Taz

Vanzagar
07-08-04, 03:20 PM
ok thanks for your replies, I don't have the $$ to go overboard and upgrade everything so I'm looking for the best bang for my buck with what I have it sounds like:

add 512MB Ram
change to AMD 3000+
add Geforce 6800 XT

Would get me the best bang for my buck and probably be able to run Doom3, HL2 and Stalker at decent frame rates with decent detail settings. I'm going to wait to see the actual benchmarks on other systems before I finally pull the trigger, also to let prices drop and to see if the games will get pushed out even further...

It's hard to believe that a few years ago ID was claiming the GeForce 3 would be a good card for their game, lol... :screwy:

Thanks again...

rhuala

ps. comments like "Everything :P" really suck and are no help to anyone... :lame:

TheTaz
07-08-04, 03:27 PM
Yeah... I just looked up yer motherboard.... and I don't think it'll run a Mobile Barton.

So I think you've got a good plan. :)

Banko
07-08-04, 03:29 PM
You might want to consider the Athlon 64 as an alternative. The downside is that you'll also need a new motherboard. These prices are for retail versions at Newegg:

Athlon 3200+, 512KB L2 Cache - $187

Athlon 64 2800+, 512KB L2 Cache - $185

Athlon 64 3000+, 512KB L2 Cache - $223

Athlon 64 3200+, 512KB L2 Cache - $282

Athlon 64 3400+, 1MB L2 Cache - $416

If you want an Athlon 64 3400+ for cheap actually http://www.eraccoon.com

ChrisRay
07-08-04, 03:30 PM
Your other option is to do what I did, No gaurentee, But buy Some DDR400 Memory, Nforce 2 motherboard, and just Pump youir 2500+ to 200 FSB and you'll be at 3200+ Speeds.

"Most" 2500+ Bartons do 3200+ Speeds.


2500+ are pretty cheap and might be an interest "gap" filler until you can afford to upgrade mainboard/CPU.


Then again It might just be easier to get an A64.

mustrum
07-08-04, 05:34 PM
Your other option is to do what I did, No gaurentee, But buy Some DDR400 Memory, Nforce 2 motherboard, and just Pump youir 2500+ to 200 FSB and you'll be at 3200+ Speeds.

"Most" 2500+ Bartons do 3200+ Speeds.


2500+ are pretty cheap and might be an interest "gap" filler until you can afford to upgrade mainboard/CPU.


Then again It might just be easier to get an A64.

There's a problem. His motherboard wont support FSB 400 so he can't run DDR400 memory. He could buy a AMD Athlon XP moblie since they are multiplier unlocked but i fear his board wont recognize a mobile CPU either.
:argh:

WeReWoLf
07-08-04, 05:39 PM
Guru3d (http://www.guru3d.com/article/article/136/) have an article that discusses CPU bottleneck's with the X800 and 6800 series. It's a good read.

Vanzagar
07-08-04, 05:57 PM
Hey thanks Werewolf,

Also, anyone know how these cards would fair with a 450W power supply but with 4 hard drives, and 2 dvd Rom drives. I thought I read the power requirements on the 6800 ultra were around 450W just with a startd system. If I have this many other drives should I stay away from the ultra?

Thanks,

rhuala

ps. correction on the mobo, I upgraded to Shuttle MN31N about a year ago...

JayrodTremonki
07-08-04, 05:58 PM
I read a Maximum PC article awhile back and remember that they recommended 2 GB of ram if you want play at high settings.
Don't believe everything you read =\