PDA

View Full Version : Motherboard in built Sound solutions


MUYA
08-02-02, 12:58 PM
Hey guys,
I was wondering, just how good is the Cmedia 6 channel inbuilt sound chip? These are included in some motherboards such as the A7v333r. Would they be good as a SBlive!value? definately not up to AUdigy standards? or is it in between these two cards. Its probably not as capable as the Nforce mcp erm sound thingy-me-jiggy? So folks anybody with this cmedia inbuilt sound chip or those in the know, please comment!!
Thanks
MUYA

volt
08-02-02, 01:37 PM
I have Soyo Dragon+ with Cmedia 5.1 and I can't complain. I was even able to install it for Slackware linux. On Redhat it was automatically detected.

john19055
08-02-02, 01:48 PM
I use the C-media on my ASUS TUSL2 and the sound quailty is ever bit as good as the sound blaster live that I had in it. So I think it is a good solution if you don't want to buy a sound card.

fastguy94416
08-02-02, 06:05 PM
i use the c-media on my dragon plus and I like it more than the sblive 5.1 I have sitting in a closet now

MUYA
08-03-02, 08:39 AM
Hmm consensus seem to be that the inbuilt cmedia sound chip is good. :) I was asking because I am considering getting an upgrade from my kt133a chipset mobo to the Asus a7v333R mobo which has these cmedia sound chip. Thanks guys for the answers!
MUYA

volt
08-03-02, 05:53 PM
If I were to choose, I would definetly go with Soyo Dragon Ultra Platinum

http://www.pureoc.com/SoyoKT333_3.asp

This is gotta be the sexiest PCB I have ever seen :)

TheOneKEA
08-05-02, 01:35 PM
I wish I could buy a Soyo KT333 Dragon Ultra.

Anyway, from what I've read so far, the C-Media CMI8378 chip seems to be a good buy because it does all that 5.1 6-channel digital/analog stuff. Right now it seems to be the king of integrated sound. I suspect it works just as well on a card.

/me wants a CMI8378

SavagePaladin
08-05-02, 02:32 PM
CMI8738 is pretty much a software solution, I don't see why its 'the king'....nForces is much better :p
Hell that CMI8738 was out in the days of the k6-2. geebus.

TheOneKEA
08-06-02, 07:35 AM
I didn't know the CMI8378 was a software-based solution. All the mobo reviews I've read that discuss it say it's a hardware solution. What gives?

SavagePaladin
08-06-02, 10:36 AM
I'll read up on it. I've been wrong before.

SavagePaladin
08-06-02, 10:46 AM
ok, I don't really know. But it is pretty bad with 3d sound and CPU usage, apparently.

-=DVS=-
08-09-02, 06:50 PM
On board Sound is not bad but you can't compare it with SB live! or Audigy , they woun't have newes hardware D3D hall/sound , forgot how it is called on Sound Blaster ,
Anyways all those on board cards emulate moust of features and use more CPU power and main memory ,
Sound Blaster Live and Audigy have big internal cash you know ;)
not like other cheap reproductions with only 64k or so ;)

eL_PuSHeR
08-10-02, 01:01 PM
I've got an ASUS A7V333 with integrated CMI8738 audio and I'm quite satisfied with it. I've been able to make it sound even under pure DOS.

NeoGeo
08-11-02, 06:53 AM
the CMI 8738 is a fine sound solution... i had one on a card agggess ago, but I never found a problem with it...

wysiwyg
08-12-02, 06:58 AM
YEAH.i too have that chip. obviously cos i have a Soyo ultra KT333

its a great sound chip but i started to notice weird sounds in Americas Army. so now ive reinstalled my SB Live 5.1 and they have gone :D

Taz69
08-18-02, 07:14 AM
For onboard sound the nForce chipset has the best sound...........

I've not owned a Sblaster Audigy but that is because with the NV7-133r I've no need. Excellent sound with possibly the lowest CPU usage of any onboard system and by all accounts it will give the SBlaster Audigy a run for its money...

Whilst checking reviews/forums before purchasing my motherboard I checked all the tests/reviews and checked out the feedback from users who had run nForce/Sblaster setups and noticed how many ended up using the nForce's sound...

JakCrow
08-28-02, 09:11 PM
Originally posted by DVS
On board Sound is not bad but you can't compare it with SB live! or Audigy , they woun't have newes hardware D3D hall/sound , forgot how it is called on Sound Blaster ,
Anyways all those on board cards emulate moust of features and use more CPU power and main memory ,
Sound Blaster Live and Audigy have big internal cash you know ;)
not like other cheap reproductions with only 64k or so ;)

The Cmedia chip is a hardware sound chip. It is not a software codec like other solutions.

Wolfie
08-31-02, 01:08 AM
download new cmedia stuff here http://www.cmedia.com.tw/

wolfie

batterbrain101
09-22-02, 05:18 AM
My board has the 6-channel cmediaaudio onboard and I love it. Since getting rid of my @*@*&*@Soundblaster Live, over haolf my games quit doing random lockups with the sound repeating over and over.

SocketAzzWipe
09-26-02, 01:06 PM
Originally posted by batterbrain101
My board has the 6-channel cmediaaudio onboard and I love it. Since getting rid of my @*@*&*@Soundblaster Live, over haolf my games quit doing random lockups with the sound repeating over and over.

Don't blame the problems on SB LIVE...blame it on Via...and their PCI latency problems...apparently they still have 'em in their KT400 motherboards...

This is why i'm rooting for Nvidia and nForce2 to wipe Via in the chipset market...

If you don't believe me about the latency problems(this is why Via sucks the big one), then go the www.viaarena.com ....you will see countless patches...
Maybe you want to try one of 'em...maybe the "RPP" - Raid Performance Patch...see if that fixes your problems...

SocketAzzWipe
09-26-02, 01:07 PM
Originally posted by MUYA
Hey guys,
I was wondering, just how good is the Cmedia 6 channel inbuilt sound chip? These are included in some motherboards such as the A7v333r. Would they be good as a SBlive!value? definately not up to AUdigy standards? or is it in between these two cards. Its probably not as capable as the Nforce mcp erm sound thingy-me-jiggy? So folks anybody with this cmedia inbuilt sound chip or those in the know, please comment!!
Thanks
MUYA

By the way...what makes you think that the AUDIGY is waayyy better then SBLIVE?

batterbrain101
09-27-02, 02:19 AM
Originally posted by SocketAzzWipe


Don't blame the problems on SB LIVE...blame it on Via...and their PCI latency problems...apparently they still have 'em in their KT400 motherboards...


Yeah, I know about the latency problems, but I had problems with the sblives in other chipsets too, including SIS and Intel. Fact is, life is easier without the pain of sblive, especially with their slow driver support.

NeoGeo
09-27-02, 05:45 AM
life is better without Creative full stop...

their last good card was the SoundBlaster AWE64, then it all went PCI and Creative lost the plot...

Early SB cards were great, and basically the benchmark cards of their time.