PDA

View Full Version : Tualatin CPU in Old BX Motherboard


HotCarl
10-23-02, 10:54 PM
Spreading the word of our site on modding old slotkets and motherboards to accept Tualatin Celeron and Pentium3-S 512k CPUs. This mod will also work on most Socket370 based motherboards: i440, i815, i820, Via 694, etc

Hope this helps you. :p

http://www.geocities.com/_lunchbox/

Gator
10-24-02, 06:03 AM
thanks for the link. People who mod the actual CPU definetly impress me. It takes some real guts to modify such an expensive item on the computer, in what could potentially be a permanent change.

What I'd REALLY like to see is some benchmarks from somebody with an Abit BX133 + PIII 1.4ghz and a GF4 or R9700

:)

Starscream
10-24-02, 12:59 PM
I've posted about this a couple of times now and did the mod myself some time ago.

Here's the guide I used:
http://www.froggy.com.au/frogge/pepper/tua/tuareport1.html

HotCarl
10-24-02, 01:26 PM
Hey Starscream-

Your guide was really helpful. I have read it and found it most useful when I was first getting into this mod. I should have a link to your site in our links already. Thanks!

Gator: I haven't done a benchmark page yet but it is on the list of articles to research and write. Catch22atplay has a Tualatin Celeron 1.65Ghz + Ti4600 which gives 10,734 3DMarks2001.
http://service.madonion.com/compare?2k1=3204181

Not bad considering a P3-S can have more cache, lower cache latency, and a higher FSB.

Starscream
10-24-02, 03:32 PM
To be clear, that's just the guide I followed, not my site.

thcdru2k
10-24-02, 07:27 PM
wow thats pretty good score for a celeron. i imagine the tutlatin p3 would be very similar to athlon xp speeds.

Gator
10-24-02, 09:02 PM
Originally posted by thcdru2k
wow thats pretty good score for a celeron. i imagine the tutlatin p3 would be very similar to athlon xp speeds.

now if only PIII supported DDR... mmmmmmmmmmm :D

HotCarl
10-24-02, 10:31 PM
Yes, I think clock for clock, the PIII-S is just as fast as an Athlon. Then you add 256k more cache and you have a faster processor, the PIII-S 512k cache.

As for DDR, since Catch22atplay can do 10,700 3DMarks without DDR, is more bus bandwidth necessary? Also, he's probably using a 2x AGP motherboard to go with his old BX chipset. So all this about I need 8x AGP and dual channel DDR RAM is more marketing jibberish. Yes it does give you more bandwidth, but we don't utilize the bandwidth we already have. But if people want to pay more $$$ for 10 - 15% performance, I'm not going to stop them! My Abit ZM-6 with 1.6Ghz Celeron and 133Mhz SDRAM is doing just fine. With the money I have saved over the 4 years I have had it, I can buy a GF5 with a smile knowing there is still more money in the bank.

Go ahead, believe the hype.

HotCarl
10-26-02, 05:34 PM
Gator:

You started me thinking, "Haven't I seen a DDR socket 370 motherboard?" And I had. As a matter of fact, there are quite a few on the market.

Tecchannel.de has a roundup of 6 or 7 motherboards that support DDR RAM. Now you could do a head to head test of DDR platforms using AMD, Intel P4 and Tualatin processors.

Tecchannel.de Roundup (http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=de&u=http://www.tecchannel.de/hardware/639/&prev=/search%3Fq%3Dsocket%2B370%2Bddr%26hl%3Den%26lr%3D% 26ie%3DUTF-8) Translated with Google.

Gator
10-28-02, 06:35 AM
Wow! I had no idea! Weird though I've never seen DDR PIII boards advertised anywhere. Is it possible they never made it to the North American market? The only thing I really don't like about that though is you have a choice between VIA or ALi chipsets, and in my experience both stink with Intel CPUs.

Still, I'd love to see benchmark comparisons between PIII 1.4ghz 512DDR, an AthlonXP1600 512DDR, and a P4 1.4 512DDR.

Originally posted by HotCarl
Gator:

You started me thinking, "Haven't I seen a DDR socket 370 motherboard?" And I had. As a matter of fact, there are quite a few on the market.

Tecchannel.de has a roundup of 6 or 7 motherboards that support DDR RAM. Now you could do a head to head test of DDR platforms using AMD, Intel P4 and Tualatin processors.

Tecchannel.de Roundup (http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=de&u=http://www.tecchannel.de/hardware/639/&prev=/search%3Fq%3Dsocket%2B370%2Bddr%26hl%3Den%26lr%3D% 26ie%3DUTF-8) Translated with Google.

HotCarl
10-28-02, 06:36 PM
Yes, I would like to see a comparison like that as well. True, Intel makes a good chipset for their own CPUs but I haven't had experience with the VIA Pro266 chipset. If it's anything like the KT266A, it should perform nicely.

Funny how these P3/DDR boards snuk onto the scene without much hype. The EPOX EP-3VHA board is still for sale on Pricewatch and looked like one of the better performers in that roundup. Shame they aren't showing up on eBay for a more appealing price.