PDA

View Full Version : I flashed the 6800 GT :)


Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6

DeadLine
07-17-04, 06:25 AM
I did it on my 5900/5950,so id did it again with the 6800GT.

Here is my flashed 6800U card.
http://www.boomspeed.com/zerox/6800U.JPG

FarCry with full antilaising on.
http://www.boomspeed.com/zerox/FarCry0000.jpg

Here with RivaTuner.
http://www.boomspeed.com/zerox/riv.JPG

Well my Q-tech 550W is holding it right now.

I gonna test some benchmark with the card.

ssj4goku887
07-17-04, 07:01 AM
dont even look like u got antialiasing on in that pic. but gj. your 550 watt psu is perfectly fine.

DeadLine
07-17-04, 07:04 AM
Oke i have fixed it.
I uploaded the wrong image :D

Sgt_Pitt
07-17-04, 07:14 AM
thats an insult to the real 6800u owners like me :P

it might say 6800u but we all know deep down you got a 6800gt :D

DeadLine
07-17-04, 07:18 AM
thats an insult to the real 6800u owners like me :P

it might say 6800u but we all know deep down you got a 6800gt :D

LOL :rolleyes: :lol2:

Nandro
07-17-04, 08:15 AM
How did you do this? I have never flashed a card before, but am interested.

DeadLine
07-17-04, 08:23 AM
1.Download flashprogram. (WFFLASH)

2.Download videocard bios file.

3. Boot to DOS

4.Write: WFFLASH.EXE NM (name of the rom).rom

5.Your video cards bios will be updated

6.Restart your PC

7.You maybe need to re-install the Detonator/Forceware

saturnotaku
07-17-04, 08:30 AM
You have to make sure that you've uninstalled your video drivers before attempting to flash the card.

I also would like to hear of any potential success stories with regard to this.

Banko
07-17-04, 09:39 AM
Hmm this is interesting I might do it as well! Can anyone link me to the bios file?

DeadLine
07-17-04, 09:52 AM
ok here it is http://www.leadtek.com.tw/support/download.asp?pronameid=341

saturnotaku
07-17-04, 09:53 AM
Is there a way to back up your current BIOS with that program? Just in case something goes awry.

|JuiceZ|
07-17-04, 10:07 AM
Is there a way to back up your current BIOS with that program? Just in case something goes awry.

.

:confused:

OWA
07-17-04, 10:08 AM
Did it change anything else? Can you overclock it further, did it lower your temps, raise your temps, etc.? Or, is it just for the convenience of having it default to overclocked settings as the hardware's default?

DeadLine
07-17-04, 10:15 AM
Its automatic save your other bios.
And yes it wil overclock further the temp are the same and games runs faster now with antilaising on.

OWA
07-17-04, 10:18 AM
Cool, thanks for the info! I downloaded the bios but I'm still trying to decide whether to try it or not...

|JuiceZ|
07-17-04, 10:29 AM
Its automatic save your other bios.
And yes it wil overclock further the temp are the same and games runs faster now with antilaising on.

nice, what brand 6800 do you have btw?

DeadLine
07-17-04, 10:39 AM
XFX :) its now a leadtek :p

GravY
07-17-04, 10:42 AM
how much farther will it overclock??

makes me wonder of having a Ultra with only one molex.. what the hell is the other molex really there for?? got to be a reason, me sits back and waits for more to try this before I hop in.. just got my Replacement BFG back..

|JuiceZ|
07-17-04, 10:42 AM
XFX :) its now a leadtek :p

heh. :D

DeadLine
07-17-04, 11:19 AM
how much farther will it overclock??

makes me wonder of having a Ultra with only one molex.. what the hell is the other molex really there for?? got to be a reason, me sits back and waits for more to try this before I hop in.. just got my Replacement BFG back..

Its goes to 450/1200 mhz :clap:

saturnotaku
07-17-04, 11:24 AM
Is it just me or is Leadtek's site running like molasses?

DeadLine
07-17-04, 11:28 AM
LOL i think everybody wants to flash :p

Squidly
07-17-04, 11:40 AM
if your card dies starts acting up it will be hard to warranty now. Good Job.

Why not just OC it with the drivers?

saturnotaku
07-17-04, 11:51 AM
Just tried it, no love. The program says the format of the .rom file is invalid. I suppose that's the hardware gods' way of telling me I shouldn't mess around with that kind of stuff. ;)

DeadLine
07-17-04, 11:56 AM
You must call the file:Geforce 6800 Ultra.
And then you typ:wfflash.exe nm 68001~ or 6800~1 don't know how he is naming in A:/dir.