PDA

View Full Version : 6800 Power supply question


Pages : [1] 2

HaVoK-G2
06-19-04, 01:16 PM
Hey I just saw that Best Buy is allowing more pre orders for BFG's 6800 Ultra OC (I got Overnight shipping :P), Im wondering if my Kingwin KWI-450WS 450W Power Supply is enough?

Heres a picture of a spec sheet from a review:
http://img4.photobucket.com/albums/0703/HaVoK-G2/kwi450.jpg


Heres a spec sheet from the site (But it seems theyve changed the design since I got mine, my KWI-450WS has 3 Speed controlled ball bearing fans, the old design has 2 SPeed controlled fans.. So I dont know what else theyve changed)
http://www.kingwin.com/Images_U/618200333704PM450W.jpg
And a Link to the power supplies page: http://www.kingwin.com/pdut_detail.asp?LineID=&CateID=2&ID=117 Thanks! I cant wait :drooling: Ive had my good old ti4600 Since forever and built a new computer August 2003, I had a 9800 XT In early spring but guess what.. 20 Days after using it... it died! Thats what I get for switching companies.

System At the moment:
Pentium 4 3ghz
Abit IC7 Max III
1Gig Corsair DDR500
Dual 7200rpm 80Gig HDs (Non-raid, not sata :P)
Kingwin 450W PS
SB Audigy Gamer
Zalman CNPS7000A-AlCu Cpu Cooler
GeForce 4 ti4600
Thermaltake Xaser III V2000A Case

sonyman
06-19-04, 01:31 PM
Thats a little low on the +12V but it *should* be fine.

Scott

grimreefer
06-19-04, 01:40 PM
if ur keeping it stock, its more than enough

HaVoK-G2
06-19-04, 10:42 PM
Well I wont be OCing it anymore then BFG already has (25mhz). So theres no chance of damaging my card or anything if I try it out? And what would be acceptable on the 12v rail? Im not an adept at ready power charts.. yet.

Thanks :retard:

fivefeet8
06-19-04, 11:58 PM
I'm using an Antec True Power 430 PSU. The +12v rail gets 20A. The BFG 6800 ultra OC in my system runs fine. I also have it OC'ed to 450/1200 now.

HaVoK-G2
06-20-04, 12:24 AM
So is 18A too low? Is anyone running on 18A.. Will I suffer a performance loss? :P Sorry for the questions. Thanks

sonyman
06-20-04, 12:45 AM
So is 18A too low? Is anyone running on 18A.. Will I suffer a performance loss? :P Sorry for the questions. Thanks
No, as I said before, 18A will be fine. Just don't plan on getting crazy overclocks out of your card.

Scott

trex4d
06-20-04, 03:57 AM
OOps:(
Anybody has ENERMAX Noisetaker EG475AX-VE PS???
This is my new PS,and here is the spec:

http://www.maxpoint.com/products/pow_supp/spec_pg/noisetakerAX/details.htm
Independent 12V rails supply
+12V1 & +12V2: 20A (max)

It is good or not? :retard: (mag) :lame:

Thank You!

Ruined
06-20-04, 08:18 AM
Should be okay as long as you don't OC the card more than it is out of box.

Sgt_Pitt
06-20-04, 09:13 AM
nah youll be fine, ive got a no name 450w and im o/cing the card to 450core 1.25 mem

Richteralan
06-20-04, 09:20 AM
my Tagan 480W can push 28A in my 12V rail.....w00t!!1!

HaVoK-G2
06-20-04, 10:37 AM
Tagan is nice, but no need to brag :P Its like going to a go-cart race then saying: "Look I have a NASCAR!" Lol kidding :)

Ill probably end up getting a Tagan down the road heard they are good! Thanks guys.

AStaley
06-20-04, 11:00 AM
Does anyone here have any additional devices running on there 2nd power lead into the 6800Ultra?

I'm curious because as it stands I only have 1 cable left left free the other closest to my card also runs my 2 western digitial HD's. I'm not planning on overclocking so I hope this isn't an issue.

Andrew :matrix:

System Spec;

Antec TruePower 430W / Antec Case
Asus P4C800-E Deluxe (BIOS 1016)
P4-3GHz /w Zalman 7000CU
Corsair 1GB XMS3200 Pro LL (2-2-3-5)
XFX 6800 Ultra (ON ORDER)
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2
2*Western Digital Raptors (RAID 0)
Seagate Barracuda (120GB) Stoarage
Windows XP SP2 RC2 / DirectX 9c

NightFire
06-20-04, 12:18 PM
Staley, if your not planning to overclock, I think it's okay, although you shoud make sure your first power lead is all free.

Actually, I'm having some doubts right now. I think it will run, but maybe not at full speed.
Actually, I've never had to use molex connectors on my video cards, so I shouldn't be talking, but from what I can infer, you should be ok.

HaVoK-G2
06-21-04, 12:17 AM
How can you tell which is the 12V rail.. or it doesnt matter what you plug into the card as long as its free? Yeh I know new person question O_o.. but I never really had to worry about it before.

Clay
06-21-04, 12:25 AM
The rails have nothing to do with the physical molex drops/connections. Here are some good links to get up to speed:

http://www.short-media.com/review.php?r=133&p=4

http://forums.anandtech.com/messageview.cfm?catid=27&threadid=1321926&enterthread=y

kahloq
06-21-04, 12:25 AM
12 rail refers to the amount of amps the power supply is pushing on the +12. Look at your power supply and there will be a grid of some sort showing the specs of the power supply. It will look something like the following pic. http://www.newegg.com/app/Showimage.asp?image=17-103-604-06.jpg/17-103-604-05.jpg/17-103-604-07.jpg/17-103-604-04.JPG

These are the amp ratings for different voltage abilites of the power supply. The +12 is the one you wanna be most concerned with. AS long as its 18a or better, you should be fine. Also, 12 rail DOES NOT have anything to do with which power lead or molex connector you use. For 6800 series, you should use a power lead that has no molex splitters(y conenctors) when plugging the molex into the primary power of the card. The secondary power can have fans on that line and some ppl have HD's on that 2nd power lead as well before it gets to the 2ndary power input to the card.

fivefeet8
06-21-04, 12:34 AM
With my Antec True Power 430w, I've got one line connected only to the Geforce 6800u OC @450/1.2. The other 2 lines are connected to 2 hd's, 2 cdrw/dvdrw drives, 5 case fans, 1 UV light tube, 1 fan light.

Works fine. :D

HaVoK-G2
06-21-04, 12:47 AM
Thanks alot, now I understand heh, about the only part in my computer that I didnt.

JayrodTremonki
06-21-04, 04:58 AM
Does anyone here have any additional devices running on there 2nd power lead into the 6800Ultra?

I'm curious because as it stands I only have 1 cable left left free the other closest to my card also runs my 2 western digitial HD's. I'm not planning on overclocking so I hope this isn't an issue.

Andrew :matrix:



(first post) If a problem does arise with that situation, I know some brands actually include Y-connectors in the box with the 6800 Ultra. This will allow you to connect more devices on to 1 connector(HD's, CD-R's and such, things that don't take up much power), probably freeing up a molex connector.

kahloq
06-21-04, 09:39 AM
About thbe only way you can avoid using a y splitter is if you have a power supply that has FIVE molex leads and 2 SATA leads. Most power supplies have 4 molex leads or even 3. Having to use 2 molex leads with nothing on them is over optimistic as that would leave only 1 or 2 molex leads for everyother componet in your case(ie HD's, optical drives, fans, lights, etc.)
For some, its not too much of an issue as they may only have 1 or 2 HD's and 2 optical drives and no lighting. However, in my case, I have 4 HD's, 2 optical's, 6 fans, cathode lighting, etc. So I will be a little hard pressed to get even one line to the 6800U that has nothing on it. But, as has been suggested by someone else, try freeing up ONE molex line with no splitters on it to the primary power input for the 6800U and balance the other stuff in your case on the other molex lines with y splitters. When y splitting off, you'd probably want the lead to go to the 2ndary power input of 6800 U on the 1st y split before anything else as the vid card will have get the most access.

I am afraid that I'll have to buy a new PS. Guess i gotta wait and see. But if I do, you can bet it will be a PS with 5 molex and 2 sata with a 12 rail of 28a or better :) as my current PS( a 420 watt alienware[dunno brand cuz the PS only says Alienware on it]) and its running 18a on the 12 rail

Zetto
07-18-04, 04:32 PM
The other thing to look out for is whether total wattage is shared among different rails or not... Some PSU manufacturers tend to show peak power draw on each rail instead of a balanced one that takes into the account draw from other rails and the total capacity of PSU. U might think u have 28amps on 12v rail when in fact power draw of 3v and 5v devices limited 12v rail to say, 18amp or even 10amp and vice versa.... Just something to look out for.

Richteralan
07-18-04, 04:38 PM
The other thing to look out for is whether total wattage is shared among different rails or not... Some PSU manufacturers tend to show peak power draw on each rail instead of a balanced one that takes into the account draw from other rails and the total capacity of PSU. U might think u have 28amps on 12v rail when in fact power draw of 3v and 5v devices limited 12v rail to say, 18amp or even 10amp and vice versa.... Just something to look out for.

yup....Tagan has standalone output for 12V, not combined. :nanahump:

kahloq
07-18-04, 05:03 PM
Updating this PSU thread question. My 420 watt PSU handles the 6800 ultra just fine and I have 2 fans + a vantec spectrum fan card running on the 2ndary molex into the 6800u. The primary is has nothing else on it.

I have ZERO problems with Overclocking. 454 core and 1280 mem ive gotten stable.

Remember, Ive got a butt load of stuff in my case as well. 18a on the +12 is more then adequate and not JUST for stock settings.

Zetto
07-18-04, 06:10 PM
Kahlog - 18amp is of course plenty unless u have a bunch of hds, optical drivers and tornado fans hooked up... in that case, u'll run out of juice fast!!!! So for those with plenty of peripherals, u do need quality 480w or higher PSU to feed all those hungry things in ur box ;)