PDA

View Full Version : I want my bandwidth!!


ragejg
07-19-04, 01:05 PM
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=7031&stc=1

Yes, those are some LOOSE settings...

I need to tighten them up, as Sandra's tellin me I'm getting paltry bandwidth @ this setting, which I only specified to be extra safe (this is 2x256 samsung TCB3 PC2700, which runs @ 200 with no probs and has attained sandra scores of 3100/2900 before...)

I'm NOT a ram timing expert... can someone help me please??? I'd like to run this stuff @ DDR 400.

BTW the cpu is a Clawhammer 3000+ @ stock. And the mobo is an Abit KV8 MAX3.

stncttr908
07-19-04, 01:41 PM
If you're running on PC2700 you probably won't get anything more out of it. I'd just be happy that it operates at PC3200 speeds at all. Unfortunately it looks like new memory for you.

Sazar
07-19-04, 02:04 PM
tell sandra to shutup and enjoy your system :)

sandra is not all that accurate :cool:

a nice tool but I wouldnt worry mch..

btw what revision is your core? C0 or Cg ?

ragejg
07-19-04, 05:41 PM
@ stone-cuttah:

(this is 2x256 samsung TCB3 PC2700, which runs @ 200 with no probs and has attained sandra scores of 3100/2900 before...)

But but but, I've achieved much higher bandwidth with this ram in other systems (a kt266a @ 18X fsb, and 2 nforce2 rigs, one of which was ok with 215)... so the timings I've specified are just too dang loose, but honestly they're greek to me when it comes down to it... argh... so who here knows how to dial their ram in precisely? :confused:

@ saz:

ADA3000AEP4AP
CAAOC 0351UPMW
9834835L30055

erm, isn't there a site that tells me all about every letter in the stepping? I've seen it for AthlonXP, but for AMD64, ummmm, I have no idea.

Sazar
07-19-04, 06:35 PM
when you run cpu-Z... whats the last digits on the revision?

thats what I look @ to check :)

ChrisRay
07-19-04, 06:49 PM
Only thing that surprises me is the Cas Latency @ 3.0

Not used to DDR memory that doesnt operate @ 2.5 at least.

Anyway your timings look similar to mine :)

tieros
07-19-04, 07:01 PM
Instead of trying to relax timings from a DDR400 clock basis, why not set the basis to DDR333 and then tighten timings?

It seems like it would be easier to crank your memory up as high as it will go as opposed to starting too high and trying to tune it down just enough.

Riptide
07-19-04, 07:48 PM
http://www.mushkin.com/mushkin/pop-up/latencies.htm

That might help you out a bit. :)

ragejg
07-19-04, 09:50 PM
Ok.

Someone smack me.

I really didn't realize that there's some sort of memory bandwidth disparity when Cool n Quiet is enabled... grr... :p

I turned it off, and... 3106/3108, MUCH better scores.

Can someone else with a stock A64 give me their sandra results?

(crazy)

ragejg
07-20-04, 08:43 PM
Can someone else with a stock A64 give me their sandra results?


heh, bump??

Sazar
07-20-04, 09:17 PM
hang on...

surprisingly enough i am getting about the same timings from my sisoft readings :)