PDA

View Full Version : GDDR II (2) on Albatron 6800GT? What does this mean?


shinrai
07-20-04, 07:26 PM
Hi all,

I've got one of these on preorder and it's shipping in the next few days.

BUT i notice it's got GDDR 2 and this concerns me because some other GT's have GDDR3. Can someone please explain what this all means and how it may effect overclocking etc?

Also, two power supply conectors are comfirmed and they recommend 480w plus. I've got a 430 truepower (antec) with 20A on the 12v, so i assume i'm fine here, i guess.

The GDDR 2 concerns me the most.

-=DVS=-
07-20-04, 07:31 PM
Could be a typo !
And PSU is ok id say.

ricercar
07-20-04, 07:34 PM
AFAIK all 6800 were going to ship with GDDR3 not GDDR2. But mayhap Albatron got tired of the shortages of GDDR3.

No DDR II on the reference design. DDR-II runs way hot.

betterdan
07-20-04, 07:54 PM
You are talking about a GT right? Why do they confirm two power supply connectors when there is only one on a GT? Two are on the Ultras.

WeReWoLf
07-20-04, 08:28 PM
http://www.auspcmarket.com.au/images/info/IMG_VI-ALFX6800GT_14467_0_lrg.jpg

The albatron is a two molex DDR2 6800GT with twin DVI. Basically it's a very fudged up design. Albatron designed it for those who wanted the GT but wanted dual DVI. Of course seeing as they ran out of DDR3, they have manufactured them using DDR2.

http://www. auspcmarket.com.au/show_product_info.php?code=VI-ALFX6800GT&category_id=1173

Razor1
07-20-04, 08:29 PM
Some gts do use less then gddr 3 ram. Its up to the board partner what ever they want to put on there. But Ultras have to have gddr3 ram.

Maybe its an ultra with GDDR2 so they can't call it an ultra?

WeReWoLf
07-20-04, 08:31 PM
that could be possible, but they shouldn't call it a GT because of it's two molex's and two DVI's.

zer0xp
07-20-04, 09:39 PM
The albatron does not have dual dvi... Take a look at the product specifications on the albatron webpage, it says VGA Output - YES. for the Ultra, VGA Output - NO.
Also, teres a new pic on there of the GT... VGA and DVI. But still 2 molex connectors :clap:
http://www.albatron.com.tw/images/product/it/vga/picture/big/6800gt.jpg

shinrai
07-20-04, 10:41 PM
What does the GDDR 2 mean as far as heat and overclocking?

Razor1
07-20-04, 11:28 PM
ya won't be able to overclock as much at least for the ram, heat well maybe a bit more uase ya will hit limits quickly

burningrave101
07-20-04, 11:44 PM
I like the Blue PCB design of the Albatron alot. The sticker is cool looking too. :nanahump:

Its just too bad they are using DDR2 on them. I would rather have the Albatron then my XFX if they had QDDR3.

shinrai
07-20-04, 11:55 PM
It seems the albatron website does now say GDDR3 but the store won't change their info until the goods actually come in so they can see it physically.

betterdan
07-21-04, 12:37 AM
Yep their page shows it as DDR 3
http://www.albatron.com.tw/english/it/vga/exp_list.asp?gpu=36#
and
http://www.albatron.com.tw/english/it/vga/specification.asp?pro_id=106#

msxyz
07-21-04, 01:11 AM
What does the GDDR 2 mean as far as heat and overclocking?I have a GeForceFX5700U from XFX with 2.2nS chips. They work well over 1 GHz but they're hot as hell!!!

Those GDDR-II modules produce a lot of heat. I've seen normal 5700 cards with small and cheaps heatsinks running well over 500MHz. My card has the same extensive heatsink of a 5900XT (and a passive plate on the back) and yet it is barely touchable after a long gaming session at stock frequency!

It's almost as the RAM itsef produces more heat than the GPU

EDIT: Now Albatron site says GDDR-3 Maybe it was just a typo.

shinrai
07-21-04, 04:00 AM
Yep, confirmed. 2ns GDDR3. Whew!

Shipped today.

shinrai
07-21-04, 06:51 PM
A little dissapointed - only one power connector.

Thanks for the deceptive advertising Albatron!

Nandro
07-22-04, 02:51 PM
Their GT does have dual molex connections.