PDA

View Full Version : Overclocking 6800 GT gives no extra 3Dmarks


SmokeKingGun
07-21-04, 05:44 AM
Hi all, new to the forum so be gentle :)

Having a bit of a problem with an XFX 6800 GT. The card has been working great now for a cpl of weeks untill I had the bright idea of updating the driver lol

I was running 61.71 previously and this was overclocking fine (using coolbits 1 - which came on XFX CD) I then updated driver to 61.76 and then reinstalled coolbits. The overclocking slider is still there and works (it clocks to 420, 1.12) but for some reason it now makes no difference to 3d mark.

Tried it on default (350, 1.0) and i got around 11,500 3d03. I then bumped up the clock to 420,1,12 and got exactly the same score. I even bumped it to 431, 1.10 (the highest it can clock too) and it still made no difference to 3dmark scores (01 or 03)

When I originally installed the card with 61.71 driver the overclocking worked fine *and* made a diff to 3dmark score. I was getting around 12,500 with a lower FSB and clocked at 410, 1.12 using the older 61.71 drivers.

I have tried going back to the older driver with no luck. For some reason the card says it is clocking it but do not see any results. I done the usual for updating drivers:

removed driver
ran driver cleaner - also cleaned cab's in driver cleaner,
booted in safe mode
updated driver

Any1 know any other apps to try overclocking with? Tried Riva tuner but it seemed to be a little picky about using unsigned drivers.

Specs are: p4 3.2 @ 3.8, 512MB OCZ DDR400, 40Gb Raptor, Abit IC7 Mobo, XFX 6800 GT.

JGene
07-21-04, 05:48 AM
Sure that coolbits is actually keeping what you tell it to do? The 61.76 official or not never kept my OC settings at all. Maybe the reason why you don't notice any change is because the drivers never keep the settings you ask it to and you always end up bench testing the same default clock speeds over and over.

I don't recall the 61.71s ever doing that, but I do think the 61.72s saved my overclocking settings.

SmokeKingGun
07-21-04, 05:52 AM
The funny thing was that it never used to save my memory speed on restarts before with the old driver. Now it does keep all the settings in there even after a restart but now gives me no extra 3d marks!!

Tbh i dont mind changing clocks after every restart (only takes 2 secs) i just want to notice the difference after ive changed it!! lol

JGene
07-21-04, 05:55 AM
Try a different driver set (like 61.77s or the 62.xx drivers) and see if they work for you. You SHOULD be seeing your scores change for better or for worse with different clock speeds.

BYUNews
07-21-04, 06:27 AM
This happened to me while I was overclocking the 6800. Only certain overclocks ended up netting me performance gains. For example, I would see a drop in performance from 350/775 to 350/790. I think this has to do with the multiplier in the core, and whether or not the core syncronized with the RAM, but I could be wrong.

rent
07-21-04, 09:49 AM
Hi all, new to the forum so be gentle :)

Having a bit of a problem with an XFX 6800 GT. The card has been working great now for a cpl of weeks untill I had the bright idea of updating the driver lol

I was running 61.71 previously and this was overclocking fine (using coolbits 1 - which came on XFX CD) I then updated driver to 61.76 and then reinstalled coolbits. The overclocking slider is still there and works (it clocks to 420, 1.12) but for some reason it now makes no difference to 3d mark.

Tried it on default (350, 1.0) and i got around 11,500 3d03. I then bumped up the clock to 420,1,12 and got exactly the same score. I even bumped it to 431, 1.10 (the highest it can clock too) and it still made no difference to 3dmark scores (01 or 03)

When I originally installed the card with 61.71 driver the overclocking worked fine *and* made a diff to 3dmark score. I was getting around 12,500 with a lower FSB and clocked at 410, 1.12 using the older 61.71 drivers.

I have tried going back to the older driver with no luck. For some reason the card says it is clocking it but do not see any results. I done the usual for updating drivers:

removed driver
ran driver cleaner - also cleaned cab's in driver cleaner,
booted in safe mode
updated driver

Any1 know any other apps to try overclocking with? Tried Riva tuner but it seemed to be a little picky about using unsigned drivers.

Specs are: p4 3.2 @ 3.8, 512MB OCZ DDR400, 40Gb Raptor, Abit IC7 Mobo, XFX 6800 GT.


Please make sure that you are in the 3d tab, not the 2d tab for overclocking. I know it sounds stupid, but check to make sure. I've done it on more than a few occasions.

http://home.comcast.net/~charles.crosby/6800u/octab.JPG

cam9786
07-21-04, 10:33 AM
Weird, I thought no one else card exhibited this behavior, as BUYnews said. I OC'd to 410/1.08 and got 11460 3dmarks. I OC'd to 410/1.10 and got 11175. WTF? DOES this have to do with the multiplier on the core? I think so.

quantumreality
07-21-04, 11:49 AM
Weird, I thought no one else card exhibited this behavior, as BUYnews said. I OC'd to 410/1.08 and got 11460 3dmarks. I OC'd to 410/1.10 and got 11175. WTF? DOES this have to do with the multiplier on the core? I think so.

I was wondering the same thing in another thread. I don't think the memory slider does anything. I could set it at 1400 in Rivatuner and I confirmed it changed in Coolbits panel but no change in any score and no artifacts. Has anyone gotten artifacts from memory overclocking only? I know Farcry gives me sparklies if I push my core past 455.

Dunedain
07-21-04, 12:18 PM
I started to get artifacts after I OC'ed the memory past a certain point. So on my 6800 Ultra Extreme
control panel at least the OC'ing of the RAM does indeed have an affect.

cam9786
07-21-04, 12:48 PM
I also recieved said sparklies after about 1150 on the mem.