PDA

View Full Version : BFG 6800 GT refresh rate issues


Theystolemyname
07-22-04, 03:22 AM
I just got my BFG 6800 GT today, and installed it in my box prior to a reformat. A fresh install of 61.76 WHQL later, and my refresh rates are borked. My monitor is a viewsonic a90f+ (did 120 hz in 1600x1200 with a radeon 9800 pro for close to a year with zero problems) with appropriate drivers installed. If I try to force the refresh rate past 75 hz at any resolution, the monitor just shuts off. I've tried the drivers which came with the card, 62.11 betas and the 61.76.
What the hell gives???

Bah!
07-22-04, 06:51 PM
According to Viewsonic your monitor cant do 120hz in 1600x1200.

http://www.viewsonic.com/products/desktopdisplays/crtmonitors/aseries/a90fplus/#specs

Seems wierd that the 9800 let you choose it.

BrownHornet
07-22-04, 11:49 PM
According to Viewsonic your monitor cant do 120hz in 1600x1200.

http://www.viewsonic.com/products/desktopdisplays/crtmonitors/aseries/a90fplus/#specs

Seems wierd that the 9800 let you choose it.


My 9700 let me choose 120hz at almost any res except 1152x864 100hz was the highest on that res. If i reall wanted to i could crank up the resolution to 1200x1600 and set in 160hz, but i cant go above 85hz in any res with my 6800.

Whats really weird is getting worse fps in Aarmy with the Gt than my 9700, im gunna reinstall AA form a older build see what happens, maxpayne desertcombat and farcry both run flawless though.


Its definatly a driver issue since its related to the Xp refreshrate bug.
And im PISSED i can only get 60fps tops in CS:CZ almost stuck on 60. No matter what i try weird part is i can hit 85hz in deleted scenes?


I also called BFg the guy i talked to acted like all monitors and games will never exceed 85hz he even told me most people go for the lowest HZ cough 60.

rewt
07-23-04, 12:33 AM
I don't know why on earth he told you that. The higher the Hz, the better. Higher Hz means monitor flashes quicker, thus less chance of it giving you a headache.

betterdan
07-23-04, 01:16 AM
This is the only "bug" I have with the 61.76 drivers. I can't get the refresh rate fix to work in the drivers. I set all my resolutions and their refresh rates then start a game or change a res and bam back to 60hz. I am using the Directx override right now set to 85hz and it's working. Why won't the Nvidia drivers refresh rate thing work or am I doing something wrong?

Oh I also had the 61.34 or close drivers and had the same problem.

-=DVS=-
07-23-04, 03:17 AM
I just got my BFG 6800 GT today, and installed it in my box prior to a reformat. A fresh install of 61.76 WHQL later, and my refresh rates are borked. My monitor is a viewsonic a90f+ (did 120 hz in 1600x1200 with a radeon 9800 pro for close to a year with zero problems) with appropriate drivers installed. If I try to force the refresh rate past 75 hz at any resolution, the monitor just shuts off. I've tried the drivers which came with the card, 62.11 betas and the 61.76.
What the hell gives???

OK i had ATI card to still have, and i know exacly where you been setting imaginary 120hz in 1600x1200 , thats not your actual refresh rates , that was only telling drivers what max resolution you want and , what maximum HZ , setting under Display , those are totaly meaningless settings , and your monitor only does ~70HZ at 1600x1200 , now your monitor shuts off becouse you trying to force it to run crazy refresh rates ,

What the hell gives???

You know squat about computers thats what !

Theystolemyname
07-23-04, 04:12 AM
You know squat about computers thats what !

Well here's the specs for my monitor

1792x1344 @ 61Hz
1600x1200 @ 68Hz
1280x1024 @ 80Hz
1152x870 @ 94Hz
1024x768 @ 105Hz
800x600 @ 132Hz


My monitor turns off at 85 hz in 800x600 & 1024x768.

I really didn't expect some kind of attack when I posted a request for help here on nvnews.net. Is this the typical response for these forums?

BrownHornet
07-23-04, 09:01 AM
Im throwing back in my 9700p tonight i can easily show off the 200hz option at some of the higher resses with screenies, i could even link you to my monitor company website. Where my monitor is nolonger is listed except in the help section but youd see some of the specs of the current monitors there.

Whats really super lame is how nomatter which override i choose for 85hz in CScz havent had time to try normal Cs yet it caps fps_ does nothing i cannot unlock the 60frames it somehow is giving me.

Even i know CScz and CS can hit up to 99fps.
And im possitive americas armys was capped at 30 frames till i started messing with it then it jumped to 45 tops, my 97 hardly ever dips below 25fps from 80 something.

-=DVS=-
07-23-04, 01:33 PM
Open Console in CS , and type FPS_MAX 100 , all Half Life games are limited to 100 fps sadly , try running in OpenGl also , Nvidia best at it.

Theystolemyname the answer was at both you and BrownHornet , and its not an insult :bleh:

BrownHornet you can't have 200HZ at highres , there does not exist sutch monitor ! you both missunderstood ATI control Panel and its functions.

saturnotaku
07-23-04, 01:48 PM
My monitor is a viewsonic a90f+ (did 120 hz in 1600x1200 with a radeon 9800 pro for close to a year with zero problems)

BS - according to Viewsonic's own Web page, the maximum refresh rate the A90f+ can do at 1600x1200 is 68 Hz. I'd be willing to bet you tried to set the refresh rate that high, but the ATI card ignored it and kept you at 60 Hz, which is the default for Windows 2000/XP.

A90f stats (http://www.viewsonic.com/products/desktopdisplays/crtmonitors/aseries/a90fplus/) - scroll about 1/3 of the way down the page.

GravY
07-23-04, 02:17 PM
does your montior have a control button that tells you what Hz its running at? if so set your Hz at your never will do it refresh and then hit that button, there is no way your monitor is doing that @ 1600x1200..

Ruined
07-23-04, 02:25 PM
I just got my BFG 6800 GT today, and installed it in my box prior to a reformat. A fresh install of 61.76 WHQL later, and my refresh rates are borked. My monitor is a viewsonic a90f+ (did 120 hz in 1600x1200 with a radeon 9800 pro for close to a year with zero problems) with appropriate drivers installed. If I try to force the refresh rate past 75 hz at any resolution, the monitor just shuts off. I've tried the drivers which came with the card, 62.11 betas and the 61.76.
What the hell gives???

There is no way in hell you were doing 120hz in 1600x1200 with a viewsonic a90f+. I have a mitsubishi 2070sb 22", one of the best CRT monitors you can buy, and it can only do 100hz at 1600x1200, and thats considered extremely high.

Ruined
07-23-04, 02:27 PM
My 9700 let me choose 120hz at almost any res except 1152x864 100hz was the highest on that res. If i reall wanted to i could crank up the resolution to 1200x1600 and set in 160hz, but i cant go above 85hz in any res with my 6800.

Its definatly a driver issue since its related to the Xp refreshrate bug.
And im PISSED i can only get 60fps tops in CS:CZ almost stuck on 60. No matter what i try weird part is i can hit 85hz in deleted scenes?


Heh sounds like ATI's drivers don't report true refresh rate. Again, no way you could do 120hz or 160hz at 1600x1200. I have one of the best monitors you can buy and it can only do 100hz. Likely your 9700 was telling you it was doing 160hz but it was only doing 85hz.

Gn00b
07-23-04, 04:06 PM
Theystolemyname: try not to let the rudeness of a few forumfarmers influence your perception too greatly. There are actually quite a few people who visit these forums that are interested in helping others, and they do so with a degree of common courtesy, compassion and constraint.

BrownHornet
07-23-04, 05:21 PM
Heh sounds like ATI's drivers don't report true refresh rate. Again, no way you could do 120hz or 160hz at 1600x1200. I have one of the best monitors you can buy and it can only do 100hz. Likely your 9700 was telling you it was doing 160hz but it was only doing 85hz.


What ever its reporting i dont really expect it to go that high i do expect the extra fps to make it harder for me to lock up in games as 40fps has a higher range than 20fps before your game starts to freeze.

Ive got a Elements monitor model cyclone-9d not to be to silly but we all know if a game gos to a certain fps and your capped under it your not getting that extra speed.

Im wondering if the 6800 bios has anything to do with it. I do know maxpayne and farcry (no sm3.0) runs flawlessly.