PDA

View Full Version : 2400XP 133ddr HELP


Cream
07-25-04, 02:47 PM
upgraded my Dads memory yesterday to 133ddr (266)

changed the bios to 133

boot it up runs fine.... Quake 3 188FPS
think great...

re boot.

Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt:

\windows\system32\config\system


can't get on the p.c. at all....

re format.....
try to install window FAIL..

re format

install different CD rom and put clock speed down to 100 (1800 instead of 2400mhz)

2 attempts later works.


fires up runs..
turn off reinstall CDRW and DVD

reboot
runs

reboot



Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt:

\windows\system32\config\system


"f##k"

give up after thee and a half hours..

Try again today..

similar scenario.

3 attempts at re installing window XP

using CDRW this time, but eventually installs

install DVD

start up runs....

install 3dmark 2001 SE

run
score 8123

reboot put clock speed back up to 133

runs

re-run 3dmark 2001 SE

score 9702


that everything in
re boot

runs

try to install farcry
fails some sort of installation error.


re boot..


Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt:

\windows\system32\config\system


WTF is going on.... I've now spent about 8 hours trying to get this barstand to run


system is

Athlon 2400xp
512 ddr (266) major on the third
Gigabyte GA7DXE bios F4 which should support this chip set (http://tw.giga-byte.com/Motherboard/Support/CPUSupportList/CPUSupportList_GA-7DXE.htm)
Geforce 4200 TI
40 gig harddrive
DVD drive
CDRW
350 watt PSU
Windows XP Pro


HELP Boo hoo (whine)

Cream
07-26-04, 04:51 PM
Sorted....


Bios flash...

chigger_ns
07-30-04, 01:49 PM
What did you do???????????????

Cream
07-30-04, 02:34 PM
I flashed the Bios to the latest one on the web site. Even though according to the web site the version the Bios was at 'F4' was good enought for a 2400 xp..