PDA

View Full Version : PSU good or bad?


DJMONDY
07-26-04, 02:51 AM
Hi guys\gals

Can you tell me if this is a good power supply:
http://www.buypcbits.co.uk/acatalog/Home_Power_Supply_Units___PSU__and_Acrylic_PSUs_46 .html

The one ive got is the 550 acrylic power supply.

Would i need to change this psu when i get a XFX 6800 Ultra??

Cheers :)

sytaylor
07-26-04, 05:02 AM
Its an antec and its 550W thats more than enough to power any monster rig. No worries :thumbsup:

DJMONDY
07-26-04, 05:12 AM
Excellant.

The only reason i ask is because since i put this into my rig the screen seems to have a weird fuzzy look on white backrounds?? I thought my psu might be causing it.

Cheers mate :)

sytaylor
07-26-04, 09:30 AM
fuzzy screens would be your graphics card (check its seated properly) or your graphics card drivers before your psu.. what video card do you have? some require their own molex connection from the psu itself.

DJMONDY
07-26-04, 10:18 AM
I have a PNY 5900 Ultra. Ive checked the card is seated ok and the molex is fine too.

The fuzzy screen is hardly noticeable but im sure it wasnt there before!

If you can think of anything else let me know.

Thanx

lightman
07-26-04, 11:33 AM
Could be EM noise.

But I really find it hard to believe, being the psu an Antec.

Anyway, try and move your monitor to fartest away from your pc as possible, and see if it's still there ...

ricercar
07-26-04, 06:15 PM
Its an antec and its 550W thats more than enough to power any monster rig. No worries.That turns out not to be the case. My Antec 550 TrueControl chokes on five drives, two optical drives, a Ti4200 AGP and four PCI cards. With the voltage controls maxed, the rails are a paltry 3.26/4.89/11.44.
:lame:

sytaylor
07-27-04, 02:03 AM
HOWCH! I'd get that replaced asap. Sounds like you got a faulty one, not a poor product.

DJMONDY
07-27-04, 02:19 AM
Im gonna try my old psu tonight to see if i still get the fuzzy screen. i'll let you know what happens.

cheers

Smokey
07-27-04, 05:39 AM
Its an antec and its 550W thats more than enough to power any monster rig. No worries :thumbsup:

A you sure that it's an Antec? I know it says "TruePower" but I can't find that power supply on Antec's product page, and the price seems to be a little on the cheap side for an Antec, an Antec TruePower 550W PSU at overclockers.co.uk, sell for £79 + VAT (which we all have to pay) = £92.83 incl. VAT, vs £35.25 incl. VAT in the original post!

Now saying that, just because it's cheap, doesn't mean that it's bad. I have a Q-Tec 550, it was around £35, I haven' had any problems with it at all, see my specs in sig :)

DJMONDY
07-27-04, 06:48 AM
I checked the box, its not an antec. But as you say it doesnt mean its a bad psu(i hope).

I didnt want to pay nealy £100 for a psu so i looked around and i found this one. It had the power i was looking for and i looks good in my case(see pic)

I'll still try the old psu later to see what happens!

sytaylor
07-27-04, 07:20 AM
Now saying that, just because it's cheap, doesn't mean that it's bad. I have a Q-Tec 550, it was around £35, I haven' had any problems with it at all, see my specs in sig :)

Ditto, except I paid £25 inc delivery for mine :p

Githss
07-27-04, 11:42 AM
Its an antec and its 550W thats more than enough to power any monster rig. No worries :thumbsup:


Quoted for 100% truth.