PDA

View Full Version : Best AMD CPU?


Fatman
07-26-04, 10:59 AM
Guys, what's the best AMD CPU for Photoshop work + games + linux/WinXp partitions. Dual CPU system that is. Money is no object, performance is of outmost importance. Thank you!

Sazar
07-26-04, 11:30 AM
probably a dual opteron setup consisting of opteron 250's...

athlon 64 setup basically... nix you can go 64bit... windows stick to 32bit o/s version...

photoshop utilises smp?

/me doesn't use photoshop...

Viral
07-27-04, 04:54 AM
Yep dual Opteron 250 with around 1GB of registered PC3200 for each CPU (or 2GB if you have the money) will be very good in Photoshop.

If you get the Tyan K8W motherboard you can take advantage of NUMA (Non-unified memory addressing) which means each processor will have it's own dedicated memory and a max bandwidth of 12.8GB/s can be achieved (each processor fetching data at 6.4GB/s simultaneously).

Sazar
07-27-04, 10:19 AM
yes... do try and get a mobo with a dedicated memory bank to each cpu.. that way you won't have one cpu's memory controller working for itself AND the other cpu...

GlowStick
07-27-04, 10:33 AM
Yep Dual Opteron 250's is your best best for money is no object, but you may find that dual 250's make a new meaning to money is no object ; )

Viral
07-28-04, 01:55 AM
Yep Dual Opteron 250's is your best best for money is no object, but you may find that dual 250's make a new meaning to money is no object ; )

They only cost a bit more that FX-53's really.. but yeah, they aren't that cheap. But you get a lot more than you do with a $1000+ P4EE ;)

GlowStick
07-28-04, 02:12 AM
They only cost a bit more that FX-53's really.. but yeah, they aren't that cheap. But you get a lot more than you do with a $1000+ P4EE ;)
Yes, but not only do they cost more than one fx-53, you have to buy 2, (or more)!!!!!