PDA

View Full Version : 5900XT Clock Speeds ? Is Mine Underclocked?


Grechie
07-28-04, 04:49 AM
Hey everyone just got my XpertVision GeforceFX5900XT 128MB today and i checked in 3dmark 03 in the details section only to see that the clocks are:

core:300mhz
memory: 700mhz


is that normal clocks for a 5900XT???
if not i probly could up the clocks, this is exactly wot my card looks http://server6.uploadit.org/files/Grechie-vgamsigf5900xt_2_big.jpg


i get 4990 on 3d mark 03 and 13786 on 3d mark 2001 SE all on me 2800+
i thought the core was meant to be 390 mhz for the core ? or 400 or something but the ram seems ok...any thoughts ?

jimmor
07-28-04, 05:28 AM
Hey everyone just got my XpertVision GeforceFX5900XT 128MB today and i checked in 3dmark 03 in the details section only to see that the clocks are:

core:300mhz
memory: 700mhz


is that normal clocks for a 5900XT???
if not i probly could up the clocks, this is exactly wot my card looks http://server6.uploadit.org/files/Grechie-vgamsigf5900xt_2_big.jpg


i get 4990 on 3d mark 03 and 13786 on 3d mark 2001 SE all on me 2800+
i thought the core was meant to be 390 mhz for the core ? or 400 or something but the ram seems ok...any thoughts ?

3Dmark03 shows 2D speed only !

you can check 2D, 3D and memory speeds either in driver control panel or using rivatuner ?

Skrot
07-28-04, 06:13 AM
Yeah, that's right. 5900XT is 300/700 in 2d mode. It gets clocked up to 390/700 when you use something in 3d. This is normal... but that doesn't mean that futuremark shouldn't look into getting the correct clocks...

Bloody
07-28-04, 06:22 AM
The frequency of the core is usually lower in 2D and the memory frequency is the same both in 2D and in 3D mode. Tha standart frequencies for the XTs are 390 core and 700 DDR MHz RAM, but some vendors "overclock" a bit the frequencies. Although I doubt that XpertVision would do that...
You can check the 2d/3d frequency in the drivers tab by applying coolbits.reg or with Rivatuner for instance.

Grechie
07-30-04, 12:56 AM
doesnt the coolbits registry hack get rid of the new appliaciotn profiles on the new drivers and the way the aa is set out and the vnsync thing if that makes sense on the direct 3d doesnt it have the old tab there?


hehe thanx

jimmor
07-30-04, 05:36 AM
doesnt the coolbits registry hack get rid of the new appliaciotn profiles on the new drivers and the way the aa is set out and the vnsync thing if that makes sense on the direct 3d doesnt it have the old tab there?


hehe thanx

just use the original coolbits.reg file hack,

REGEDIT4

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\NVTweak]
"CoolBits"=dword:00000003

and all it will do is add speeds tab to driver control panel !!

PerfectCr
07-30-04, 07:01 AM
I think this question gets posted every week or so. :ORDER: :)