PDA

View Full Version : Worth getting a next gen card for my system?


Princey
07-28-04, 07:01 AM
I don’t have a budget for a video card so I can get anything. I am just wondering if it'll be a waste getting such a powerful card for my system. What do you guys think?

AMD Athlon XP 2600+ (333fsb)
1024MB RAM DDR333
160GB 7,200rpm
MSI KT400 Motherboard

I play on getting an Audigy 2 sound card to free up CPU power because on board sound sucks it right up. I may also get a 3000+ because that’s highest CPU my motherboard can take.

SkyLight
07-28-04, 07:03 AM
Yep, get a GT :) I know I would.

MUYA
07-28-04, 07:07 AM
I think KT400 can take upto Barton 3200+.

As for vid card unless u get a k8 clocked@3ghz or P4 4ghz etc, you will still be cpu limited at times. :D So a GT would be damn good option for u :)

Bloody
07-28-04, 07:11 AM
Princey why don't you get nForce2 motherboard with MCP-T (SoundStorm audio) instead of Audigy 2. Currently your motherboard will be limit you from geting the best out of the GT...
The combination between a lowend CPU and GT video also isn't good, the CPU cache plays a big role here... so if you are thinking about upgrade to 3000+ why don't you get nf3 motherboard with A64 3000+?

MUYA
07-28-04, 07:19 AM
Coz he can probably only afford one or the other?

On his system A 6800 GT will perform good. He will be able to game with 4XAA and 8XAF enabled on most games at res of 1024 by 768. Including Far Cry and Doom III. May require a lil tweak but it will lightyears difference over his current FX5200.

Princey
07-28-04, 07:29 AM
Yeah I can only afford one or the other. I just looked at MSI's website and the highest CPU my board can take is a 3000+ it doesnt support the 400Mhz FSB.

analogmaster
07-28-04, 07:41 AM
yea......

the actual limitations that come with the cpu will not be very remarkable unless in sum benchmarks.......

a very good compromise would to get a new CPU for ur board (maybe a 3200+ or a good xp-m that u can overclock at its best :D ) and a standard 6800 (nun ultra or gt).

i guess this combination would do best in ur system ;)

Bloody
07-28-04, 07:42 AM
Yes the KT400 officially supports 333fsb and the KT600 adds the 400 MHz.
You can get the GT now, but you should consider a future upgrade of the motherboard to nf2 ot the MB and the CPU A64 2800/3000+ and nf3 motherboard, in order to unleash the full potential of the card. Currently the card's performance will be limited by the KT400 chipset and the lower CPU FSB.

analogmaster, the KT400 isn't good for overclocking, no bus locks...

mustrum
07-28-04, 08:45 AM
yea......

the actual limitations that come with the cpu will not be very remarkable unless in sum benchmarks.......

a very good compromise would to get a new CPU for ur board (maybe a 3200+ or a good xp-m that u can overclock at its best :D ) and a standard 6800 (nun ultra or gt).

i guess this combination would do best in ur system ;)
XP3200+ and xp-m are not working in his board. Read the thread next time please.
Keep in mind you can get nforce2 boards very cheap now. I'd say go get a graphics card and upgrade to a nforce2 + XP-M later on when you can afford it.

superklye
07-28-04, 09:06 AM
XP3200+ and xp-m are not working in his board. Read the thread next time please.
Keep in mind you can get nforce2 boards very cheap now. I'd say go get a graphics card and upgrade to a nforce2 + XP-M later on when you can afford it.

Yeah...while it's not the best nForce2 mobo out there, I have the Biostar M7NCD Pro and it's never let me down. It's a great board for the price (it's often less than $50) and supports up to 2GB of dual channel DDR (up to DDR400) and 3GB of single channel DDR. Athlons up to 3200+ and it overclocks very well.

I'm on my second one (dusty-filled PSU fried and took the mobo with it) and have no complaints whatsoever. :)

Bah!
07-28-04, 09:16 AM
I don’t have a budget for a video card so I can get anything. I am just wondering if it'll be a waste getting such a powerful card for my system. What do you guys think?

AMD Athlon XP 2600+ (333fsb)
1024MB RAM DDR333
160GB 7,200rpm
MSI KT400 Motherboard

I play on getting an Audigy 2 sound card to free up CPU power because on board sound sucks it right up. I may also get a 3000+ because that’s highest CPU my motherboard can take.

I say get the video card. Until my AMD 64 parts get here i'm running a 6800NU(got a GT on the way) in a system with an XP 2400+ with only a 266 fsb and the 6800 made HUGE improvments over my 4200, which is actually a much faster card than the 5200. You wont be disappointed with the upgrade.

edit: BTW i wouldnt waste any more money on upgrading your mobo and processor unless your getting a 64 system. The 64 prices just dropped and the XPs have gone up, and the 32 systems are bottlenecked as hell and not really worth it considering what you already have.

superklye
07-28-04, 09:38 AM
I say get the video card. Until my AMD 64 parts get here i'm running a 6800NU(got a GT on the way) in a system with an XP 2400+ with only a 266 fsb and the 6800 made HUGE improvments over my 4200, which is actually a much faster card than the 5200. You wont be disappointed with the upgrade.

edit: BTW i wouldnt waste any more money on upgrading your mobo and processor unless your getting a 64 system. The 64 prices just dropped and the XPs have gone up, and the 32 systems are bottlenecked as hell and not really worth it considering what you already have.

yeah, you're right. for now, the GT will be a huge boost, but I don't plan on upgrading again until after PCIe/BTX are widely accepted as the standard.

I'm very happy that some mobo manufacturers are pledging to have X16 and AGP 8x on initial PCIe based boards for those of us that are buying AGP ATi and nVIDIA solutions now.

Bloody
07-28-04, 09:52 AM
Hehe it might be a bit early for jumping to A64 for all of us... just read that Microsoft is postponing the release of the 64-bit Windows for the next year :p

The 2600+ will be just fine (especially if it happens to be a mobile barton :) as Princey didn't mention what is the core) with an nf2 motherboard running at 200 FSB. Although the memory might not do so well @ 400, Princey what is your memory?

superklye
07-28-04, 10:06 AM
I found last night that my RAM was only at 2.5v and the recommended min. is 2.6v. So I bumped it and I haven't had any issues that I had been having before (explorer crashing becuase it couldn't read the memory at such and such an address), so maybe after I get the GT today and install it, I'll try bumping the FSB to 200 again and then getting the core to 2.2GHz (3200+).

Princey
07-28-04, 10:09 AM
The core is the Thorton and the memory is just standard PC2700.

MrSavoy
07-28-04, 11:19 AM
On the subject of systems and bottlenecks, my system in my sig, should I bother upgrading to a barton 3200? Will I see a difference worth changing? I suspect not much and that if I was to upgrade cpu's I should just go a64 with a MB upgrade as well of course. But I really didnt want to upgrade the mb/cpu to 64 bit untill pcie and maybe a sli solution from nvidia(possibly nf4?) is available. Thing is the GT runs great on my sis but I figured for a small amount of cash I could get a lil more performance. Thing is do I upgrade to a barton 3200? Or just OC my current cpu, but if I OC the athlon 2700 I will need a kick ass HS/fan which will prolly cost me as much as a barton 3200. LOL so I'm a little at odds. What do u guys think?

Princey
07-28-04, 12:10 PM
I am actually thinking about just getting a Radeon 9800pro for £130.

Nandro
07-28-04, 12:22 PM
not a bad choice, and most can be modded to an XT

ragejg
07-28-04, 12:39 PM
Well, does that mobo have OC options?

Seriously, check, as if you can OC stuff safely and get ~3200 speeds and ~200fsb (kt400's can do it!!), then why not?

Have you screwed around in your BIOS at all, Princey?

Up your cpu voltage to 1.725, set fsb to 185, multiplier @ 11.5, ram voltage @ 2.8, timings @ loose, cas3, lower AGP to 4x... you might be able to hork out another few mhzoutta that... as a jump from ~1.9ghz, 166fsb to ~2.1ghz, ~185fsb is a noticeable improvement in cpu dependant games...

Heh, see, you could do that AND get the vidcard... then you'd be all set, as a rig @ those speeds is still very quick IMO.

Princey
07-28-04, 12:48 PM
Well i'll have to have a look at that, the only things I have done is up the fsb to 175. I really dont want to be OCing until my Antec 350watt PSU comes as I only have a cheap 250watt PSU!

ragejg
07-28-04, 12:51 PM
oh...

well, 175 aint so bad.

I was checkin out MSI kt400's... and, um, yeah, they don't OC too well as far as fsb... so you might wanna keep the fsb where it's at and play with the multiplier... I think Thorton cores are unlocked... I'm not sure...

Bloody
07-28-04, 01:00 PM
The first Thortons werent locked,but all the latter ones were... :(
Don't forget that without PCI/AGP lock uppling the FSB also increases the PCI and the AGP bus. So if you increase too much the FSB your HDD and /org videocard may fail...

JGS4
07-31-04, 04:28 PM
I am intrested in upgrading to a 6800 GT. Do you think that it is worth it?

Pentium 4 2.6 Ghz HT
512 mb PC2700 RAM
Nvidia Geforce MX 440 w/ AGP 8x (64 mb)

I am not a professional nor a person who plays games non-stop. I just want to be able to play DOOM III and Half-Life 2 in the hopefully near future. Bragging rights would be nice, too.

Superfly
07-31-04, 04:41 PM
I am intrested in upgrading to a 6800 GT. Do you think that it is worth it?

Pentium 4 2.6 Ghz HT
512 mb PC2700 RAM
Nvidia Geforce MX 440 w/ AGP 8x (64 mb)

I am not a professional nor a person who plays games non-stop. I just want to be able to play DOOM III and Half-Life 2 in the hopefully near future. Bragging rights would be nice, too.

Buy it!! - and another 512MB of ram

:-) - go on