PDA

View Full Version : safe to trust auto detect clock frequencies?


ja18
07-28-04, 07:30 AM
hey guys i recently bought a chaintech 5900xt stock speeds 390/700, i did the auto detect for the OC and got.. 496/915 can this be trusted? reviewers were only able to OC this card to about 425/725.. maybe i got a card with better ram.

Bloody
07-28-04, 07:38 AM
Usually the autodetect functions gives pretty accurate frequencies that the card can run stable at, most of the time you can get even higher without problems. The easiest way is to loop the nature demo ot 3dmakr01/03 for few hours and look if there are any artefacts appearing. If everything is ok you may try the same with max AA and AF settings. If no problems again you've got yourself a pretty good XT ;) and you can even try to reach higher frequencies...

ja18
07-28-04, 07:48 AM
i ran 3dmark and wouldnt even run i did a second auto detect and got 424/771 gave me 13094 marks, considering at stock speeds i got a 12894 it wasnt that big of a jump.. and i doubt ill see much improvement in games.. it seems to like 424/771 best, altthough i can almost get the ram to 800 without problems, and the core to about 430.. i think ill stay stock, for now anyway ;)

SkyLight
07-28-04, 07:57 AM
The easiest way is to loop the nature demo ot 3dmakr01/03 for few hours and look if there are any artefacts appearing. If everything is ok you may try the same with max AA and AF settings.
Yea, right :lol: few hours of nature test... I can imagine a red-eyed pc user who has been staring at the same demo for a couple of hours :) doesn't sound easiest to me.

Some say that getting your clocks up and setting FSAA and AF to maximum and then running 3dmark twice or thrice should be enough. But if you want to be very sure, go for the upper variant :p and of course, you'll have my condolences

superklye
07-28-04, 09:11 AM
I'm assuming the auto-detect frequencies or whatever is installed from CoolBits2? I didn't ever see that option last night when I installed it...where is it located?

SmuvMoney
07-28-04, 09:45 AM
I tried the autodetect on my 6800 GT and it froze up my box. This is the only time my card has frozen up on me so far. I haven't tried again since then.

ja18
07-28-04, 10:16 AM
man this card can handle alot, i oced it to 5900 ultra speeds 450/850 got a score of 13331 (seem it a bit low hm?).. 03 score was 6k card temp is at 40c, the ram has copper heat sinks, and the fan does not slow down even in 2d operation. i also have 3 fans cooling my case