PDA

View Full Version : PoV Refrence 6800U w.Bios 5.40.02.10.14 has dynamic core clock!


Templar
07-28-04, 01:01 PM
PoV Refrence 6800U w.Bios 5.40.02.10.14 has dynamic core clock!

Just checked in Rivatuner.
I loaded Rivatuner HW monitor and ran D3D Rightmark and whoopsie.. Drivers at default the Core jumped to 425Mhz from 400Mhz

I had gotten a first batch PoV cards that have 400Mhz core and I emailed their tech support and they said, just OC it. It's just like the cards we're shipping at 425Mhz. Perhaps tech support doesn't know about this dynamic core clock.

Anyway this BIOS seems to have this dynamic feature which I think is great. Why go full MHz on the desktop. Just like Cool N Quiet eh.

Well thought I add this info about this certain BIOS.

Simon

wEEt
07-28-04, 01:09 PM
too bad, i only owe a GT :(

Mavke
07-28-04, 01:20 PM
PoV Refrence 6800U w.Bios 5.40.02.10.14 has dynamic core clock!

Just checked in Rivatuner.
I loaded Rivatuner HW monitor and ran D3D Rightmark and whoopsie.. Drivers at default the Core jumped to 425Mhz from 400Mhz

I had gotten a first batch PoV cards that have 400Mhz core and I emailed their tech support and they said, just OC it. It's just like the cards we're shipping at 425Mhz. Perhaps tech support doesn't know about this dynamic core clock.

Anyway this BIOS seems to have this dynamic feature which I think is great. Why go full MHz on the desktop. Just like Cool N Quiet eh.

Well thought I add this info about this certain BIOS.

Simon

Could you provide me that BIOS?
Mail : mavke@mvktech.net

Thanks,
Mavke

Templar
07-28-04, 01:33 PM
Sure Mavke.. let me just find out how I can read it to a file.

Simon

Noxis
07-28-04, 03:05 PM
Erm am I the only one thinking this is normal? In the overclocking tab you can choose the 2D and 3D speeds. Its best to have both set to the same to stop freezes in games.

thunderhippo
07-28-04, 03:14 PM
and in other news..
pov 3.4.2.3.4.5.6232.3.3.4.4.2..2.3.4.2 has a dynamic rolodex that can be clocked too!

Lalander
07-28-04, 03:16 PM
Erm am I the only one thinking this is normal? In the overclocking tab you can choose the 2D and 3D speeds. Its best to have both set to the same to stop freezes in games.

No, you're correct. This is perfectly normal.
Nothing special about dynamic clocks at all.

Bloody
07-28-04, 04:40 PM
Templar, could you also send it to me at: bloody@zonebg.com
You can make a backup from pure dos by running this:
nvflash -b backup.rom

You can download nvflash 5.08 from here: http://www.gainward.de/new/support/bios/NVF_508.exe

Templar
07-29-04, 03:13 AM
and in other news..
pov 3.4.2.3.4.5.6232.3.3.4.4.2..2.3.4.2 has a dynamic rolodex that can be clocked too!

What kind of lame anti social attitude is that!? :lame:
This is a forum and a therefore a database for information. Have you never had a rare problem and done a forum search and then found a topic matching your criteria and the poster actually helped you with a problem.

There's nothing special about dynamic clocks. EXCEPT that now many users with issues know that this BIOS does contain it. On top of that this BIOS and board is totally stable with my hardware configuration. Manual clocking or just using the BIOS dynamic clock, no freezes or nothing.

Only reason I'm wasting my time on your is that perhaps you'll control your child like impulses next time and NOT post when you don't have anything to say. :retard:

Bloody.. I'll send you this BIOS when I come home, at work now.

Simon

Bloody
07-29-04, 05:07 AM
10x for the BIOS Templar