PDA

View Full Version : Gainward 6800 Ultra Problem


shawn163
07-28-04, 03:20 PM
PLEASE HELP!! I’m only scoring 7600’s with 3dMark 03. I think I should be getting high than this. Correct me if I’m wrong.

Maybe someone here can shed some light onto why I am getting low 3dMark 03 scores. Heres my brand new setup:

Intel 3.2E Prescott (1meg cache)
P4C800-E Deluxe
(2) 1gig sticks of Corsair XMS PC3200
Gainward 6800 Ultra @ 400
(2) 74gig Raptors RAID 0
Enermax 550watt
More fans and ventilation than imagineable.


ALL BIOS SETTINGS ARE UNTOUCHED! No OC. I have not loaded any drivers from the motherboard CD. I have loaded the Soundmax and NIC driver off of the ASUS site.

1) I have not touched the RAM settings in BIOS.
Link to ram:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=20-145-504&depa=0

2) I installed the newest version of the gainward EXPERTool .17 I belive. This allowed me to the card above 400 (it came @ 300) I have not clocked it higher than 400 yet.
FORCEWARE Version: 61.77 - No issues to report with the card. Farcry plays VERY nice, at 1280x1024 with 4x AA and MAX detail.

3) Processor runs at 35c at idle and 45-47c underload (CPUBurn)

Any input is REALLLLY appreciated, THANKS IN ADVANCE!

Arioch
07-28-04, 03:25 PM
You really need to install your motherboard's chipset drivers. That issue seems to crop up a lot for people with low framerates on their new video cards.

shawn163
07-28-04, 03:28 PM
Great, that is what I am looking for, will do as soon as I get home!

Thanks

Lalander
07-28-04, 03:54 PM
PLEASE HELP!! I’m only scoring 7600’s with 3dMark 03. I think I should be getting high than this. Correct me if I’m wrong.

You mighty have a faulty BIOS in your graphics card.

Especially after reading this:
This allowed me to the card above 400 (it came @ 300)

Check here:
http://forum.gainward.de/viewtopic.php?t=324
and here:
http://forum.gainward.de/viewtopic.php?t=333

shawn163
07-28-04, 04:37 PM
I was thinking that myself, but the only indicator that it was "downtuned" was the Expertool. The older version of expertool had 3d rendering set at 300. As soon as I upgraded the version, it was up at 400. If anyone knows how to check the speed any other way I'll look it up.

Lalander
07-28-04, 05:00 PM
Check the BIOS version of the card.
If it is anything other than 5.40.02.10.14 it's a faulty BIOS. That is if you have the '6015 - Gainward PowerPack! Ultra/2600 Golden Sample'.

OWA
07-28-04, 05:06 PM
Yeah, check the obvious stuff that people seem to forget first before going through a lot of trouble. Check the chipset drivers and make sure you don't have AA and AF being forced on in the nvidia control panel.

shawn163
07-28-04, 07:26 PM
This is off the Display properties and Expertool:
5.40.02.05.10

Updating chipset driver now.

I have the 2600/Golden Sample, how do I tell if its a 6015?

shawn163
07-28-04, 07:46 PM
Chipset drivers got me upto 8500 3Dmarks, where should I be @?

Goth
07-28-04, 08:08 PM
Chipset drivers got me upto 8500 3Dmarks, where should I be @?
11000 3dmarks

shawn163
07-28-04, 08:14 PM
After reading the Gainward forums I am convinced I am suffering from Dud firmware. I have the 300/600 problem after further investigation:
Read this announcement from Gainward that was posted today:
http://forum.gainward.de/viewtopic.php?t=370&sid=79f351a11454fa4a8217c4d002da652e

I am not satisfied with the performance of the new card, BUT I will not sacrafice the card by flashing it when Gainward has new firmware due out in the next few days. There is no replacements available, so I will just wait it out a few days I guess.

Thanks all for your help!

UPDATE:
If you go to update your frimware using the Expertool this comes up:
http://ftp.gainward.com/announce/announce_6800U.txt

shawn163
07-28-04, 11:50 PM
I was able to get the speeds to stay in the Expertool....400/1100 I am very happy with the results and am leaving it alone. Got 12003 3DMarks!

shawn163
07-30-04, 11:43 PM
UPDATE:

No new firmware as of now on the Gainward site, but I probably wont be applying it until the cards are more readily available to replace it in the event something goes wrong.

Thanks to all, again for all the advice, I now have the card STABLE @ 450/1200. I guess they really are "Golden Sample's"
And with the cpu overclocking combined with the card OC'ing I now broke 13,100!

Next to try to get some more power out of the ram! Any sugesstions on how fast to push it?

weeds
07-31-04, 12:00 AM
Gainward posted some new bios today Saturday July 31st

http://forum.gainward.de/viewtopic.php?t=374&sid=d3ed094659f421e2d6817fc3eb333d4f


http://www.gainward.de/new/support/bios/6800/4201C000.ROM
U/2600 400/1100 with Version 5.40.02.15.06

http://www.gainward.de/new/support/bios/6800/4201BE00.ROM
U/2600 GS 430/1200 with Version 5.40.02.15.06

http://www.gainward.de/new/support/bios/6800/4201BF00.ROM
CoolFX U/2600 GS 450/1200 with Version 5.40.02.15.06

shawn163
07-31-04, 02:31 PM
It amazes me that Gainward has pumped out 2 new microcode levels in the past week and a half, but does not post any of the fixes or enhancements anywhere.....
Without seeing the release notes for the microcode, I ain't puttin it on my card. But for anyone still having major problems, theres no reason not to go for it.

Arioch
07-31-04, 05:35 PM
Well I was going to get a Gainward 6800 Ultra but after reading about all the bios woes people are having here I decided to get someone else's card.

It's too bad since I know Gainward typically makes top-notch cards for the most part.