PDA

View Full Version : AMD's new naming scheme for FX chips? wtf?


Gator
07-30-04, 10:52 AM
Ok, I pretty much understand the rating system AMD uses, like the 3200, 3400, 3500... but where the hell did they get the idea for an FX53 ? I mean seriously what exactly does the "53" stand for? The samething with their Opteron CPU's, like the Opteron 142 means 1.6ghz :screwy: WTF?

MUYA
07-30-04, 10:56 AM
scheme?

:p

majortom
07-30-04, 11:01 AM
its magic!

superklye
07-30-04, 01:58 PM
they've stated in the past that it is just an arbitrary naming scheme. the numbers mean nothing other than bigger = faster, just like the new Intel scheme.

they also said that they chose to use odd numbers due to the fact that they are somewhat rare in computer naming and so an odd number would stick out...it was something along those lines.

ICE_PIMP
07-30-04, 11:47 PM
Also that the first FX-51 sounds very "Area 51ish" :) wich = cool

Viral
07-31-04, 08:57 AM
Makes just as much 'sense' as intels 3xx/5xx/7xx. And it leaves far better head room..

It's just a model number so the chip can be easily distinguished from others.

Sazar
07-31-04, 10:13 AM
jah.. and in the case of the opterons the first number stands for the config... 1 == single processor... 2== dual processor and so on/so forth...

its not quite so bad once you realise the general naming convention and get used to it :cool:

superklye
08-02-04, 08:10 AM
jah.. and in the case of the opterons the first number stands for the config... 1 == single processor... 2== dual processor and so on/so forth...

its not quite so bad once you realise the general naming convention and get used to it :cool:

exactly, it's a naming scheme, just like the xx00+ scheme. That number isn't what the processor speed is, just as the FX-xx and Opteron numbers aren't the actual speed either.

Just know that a bigger number = faster processor.