PDA

View Full Version : Far Cry and triple duffering?


shinrai
07-31-04, 06:42 PM
Hi all,

Indoors is smooth but even at 50fps outdoors does not appear 'smooth' at any rez, with vsync on or off. It's almost like triple buffering need to be enabled but i can't find it. Anyone know where it is?

I have an A64 3200 6800GT ay Ultra speeds. 61.77 with sm3.0.

Like i said, frames are really quite high but.....?

UT2004 runs like a champ at 1600x1200 x4 aa x4af.

shinrai
07-31-04, 06:57 PM
Ummmm? Did i put Duffering?

Sorry, buffering.

Skinner
07-31-04, 07:07 PM
d3d9_TripleBuffering = "1"

set this in your systemconfig en make the file readonly.

You have to do this every time before you start the game, because the file wil be overwritten when you exit the game.

shinrai
08-01-04, 06:30 AM
Thank you very much skinner. pretty much a different game now.

Nutty
08-01-04, 06:55 AM
Hmmm.. I wasplaying COD with everything max, and getting good speeds 60+ fps.. but it was jerky.. Which was caused by windows paging to the disk.. Must buy more RAM.

Skinner
08-02-04, 06:28 AM
Thank you very much skinner. pretty much a different game now.

Yes it plays alot better, I still don't understand why they don't make this a standard feature in the game along with v-sync.


Btw you can it enable in UT2004 too

CaptNKILL
08-02-04, 07:25 AM
Yes it plays alot better, I still don't understand why they don't make this a standard feature in the game along with v-sync.


Btw you can it enable in UT2004 too
You need a pretty decent amount of video memory to be able to use triple buffering in newer games. It would probably raise the minimum specs of the game, and they dont want that.

But yes, I think every game should have options for triple buffering and vsync in the main menus.