PDA

View Full Version : Doom3 scarier than I thought


gamerdude
08-01-04, 11:55 PM
just selecting video options and my fps is at 50http://img3.imgspot.com/u/04/214/04/shot.jpg

myshkinbob
08-01-04, 11:57 PM
Oh brilliant, thanks for that screen, you see my desk is at 180 degrees to my sofa so when i play games the speakers are on the wrong sides, hurray for the reverse stereo option! I'd been wondering if doom3 would have that. :)

jAkUp
08-01-04, 11:58 PM
lol yea, my computer didnt allow surround speakers at first either :( I have a 4.1 setup.. i had to go into windows options and change it to surround 5.1 to get it... man eax would have been better :)

Ninjaman09
08-02-04, 07:39 AM
jakup, I have the same speakers as you. You had to change it to 5.1 to get surround? Wtf?

WeReWoLf
08-02-04, 07:50 AM
i'm paying the rest off of the Creative 5.1's this week and hookin it up before doom 3 arrives... gonna be some fun times all round.

demonized
08-02-04, 08:18 AM
lol yea, my computer didnt allow surround speakers at first either :( I have a 4.1 setup.. i had to go into windows options and change it to surround 5.1 to get it... man eax would have been better :)

i also have the 560's. so when you enable surround sound, does it sound wrong since there's no center speaker?

gorebrush
08-02-04, 09:11 AM
No.

This issue is because id software wrote their sound engine to be totally dependent on CPU as opposed to sound cards. This is why you have to select 5.1 in windows sound control panel before you are allowed to select surround sound.

The sound however, is breathtaking

sytaylor
08-02-04, 03:42 PM
How cool is that little rock music in the background though very nicely done product.

jAkUp
08-02-04, 03:58 PM
It doesnt sound like its missing a center speaker at all... I wish there was a way to enable surround without using the control panel at all... I get the positional audio with surround enabled.