PDA

View Full Version : Help with an athlon XP..


demonized
08-02-02, 08:11 PM
I just bought an Athlon XP 2000 and im trying to run it as fast as it can..
Why cant i get over 138fsb without having the system crash..
At 140 i cant even log on to windows..

its at 12.5x133 right now... and also if im able to change the multiplier doesnt it mean i have an unlocked CPU..

athlon xp 2000 (12.5x133)
MSI Geforce 4 4400 (300x640)
MSI KT3 ULTRA mobo
256MB Kingston DDR400 ram
D-740X 40GB Maxtor HD
SB AUDIGY GAMER
Antec 1080 case..450w..

Matthyahuw
08-02-02, 08:53 PM
there are about 20 reasons why you can't OC higher...your best bet it to read some of the FAQs about it @ http://www.overclockers.com/

And yeah, if you can change the multiplier and it shows up as changed, it's unlocked...I've heard some of the MPs escaping as XPs, that could be why...

Feanor
08-02-02, 09:33 PM
Yes without details we don't know things such as what temperature your computer is running at, how good your HSF is (and whether your using good thermal compound like Arctic Silver or them thermal pads that come on those things), what kind of memory your using and how far the memory will OC, etc...

Just not enough details for people to be able to comment. And even if you do take care of these things, there is no gaurentee when over-clocking unless you buy a CPU from an over-clocking store where they already tested it at a higher clock...

Phyre
08-03-02, 12:46 AM
I was going to be really rash, but I decided against it. I just wish that I (someone who knows how to overclock and such) could be so lucky as to happen across an already unlocked XP! If that is too rash, please forgive me.

But, yeah, start looking at the type of memory you have. If it's 133, it may not be able to go over 140 MHz, or in your case 138 MHz, depending on the quality.

And, the temperature of the CPU will make a difference here too.

Also, which motherboard do you have?

Like Matthyahuw, said, it depends on many things.

Phyre

demonized
08-03-02, 05:13 AM
athlon xp 2000 (12.5x133) cooled with thermaltake 7 with an artic silver III..
MSI Geforce 4 4400 (300x640)
MSI KT3 ULTRA mobo
256MB Kingston DDR400 ram
D-740X 40GB Maxtor HD
SB AUDIGY GAMER
Antec 1080 case..450w

Raptorman
08-03-02, 12:55 PM
ThermalTake 7, is that the Volcano 7?

Smokey
08-03-02, 03:17 PM
Have you been increasing the core votage or just leaving it on default? I have the same board, and with my not so good PC2100 ram I have been able to get my 1800+ running with a 143FSB, higher im sure if my cpu was unlocked ;) I dont have my pc overclocked at the moment becasue its summer and my pc doesnt like to be overclocked:(

FYI I couldnt go over a 140FSB without upping the cpu voltage to 1.8v so be careful of temps.


Smokey

randsom
08-03-02, 05:42 PM
the xp isnt a great fsb only ocing cpu ,when you say your xp is unlocked, have you tried changing the multiplier, and if you did did your computer boot, if it did its unlocked, lower you multiplier and up your frontside bus speed and find your sweet spot(combi of fsb and multiplier and ram timings which is stable). my sweet spot is 9.5x195 with agressive memory timings, itll boot at 9.5x200 but isnt stable.youll have to play witht the voltages also
if you want good oc sucsess, buy a higher performance heat sink

demonized
08-04-02, 06:43 AM
Originally posted by Raptorman
ThermalTake 7, is that the Volcano 7?


yes its a volcano 7..
My ram is a ddr 400 so i dont see why i cant go over 140

randsom
08-04-02, 12:52 PM
lower your multiplier, my 2000+ would only do 143@12.5x and that wasnt completly stable,now since its unlocked with the corsair memory, and the 1/5th divider its doing 195

Raptorman
08-04-02, 01:02 PM
Try using the Volcano 7+. It works a lot better :cool: , keeps your processor cooler. That will also help in overclocking.

NeoGeo
08-07-02, 07:29 AM
randsom as youve got a high fsb, what does your AGP run at? I have the same board and it would appear the AGP speed is half the FSB... is this true?

randsom
08-07-02, 08:09 AM
my agp running 79, pci is running 38 the only pci cards im running are a sb audigy and a intel pro/s nic card both of which are very tolerant of the higher pci speeds, the 5-2-1 divider is awesome.

NeoGeo
08-07-02, 08:10 AM
nice one, i got that NIC, how is the AGP speed calculated then?

randsom
08-07-02, 08:18 AM
the ratio is 5-2-1 ,fsb(5)agp(2)pci(1) so your agp is running 40% of you fsb and your pci is running 20% of fsb, so divide you fsb by 5.and x2 for agp. now these numbers are general and the divider when selected actually runs the buses alittle slower.

last night with alitttle tweaking i broke the 13000 3dmark 2001se barrier scoring 13329.

NeoGeo
08-07-02, 08:21 AM
ahh cool.... thanks... perhaps i should of looked in my KX7 manual :p

whats that AX7 you got like? I'm doing a big order online and wouldnt mind a new heatsink....

randsom
08-07-02, 08:27 AM
well its big and its loud w/tornado 84.1 cfm fan on it, does a great job though, i was thinking about the slk-800,got some info
from a guy at www.amdmb.com in the cases and cooling forum(his name is powerhungry and he write alot of cooling reviews)he told me the slk-800 would only give a degree or 2 more cooling so im gonna pass on slk-800 for now.with the lian-li case and 4 panaflo 47cfm case fans and the true power 480 p.s ive got plenty of airflow and the slk wasnt really needed

NeoGeo
08-07-02, 08:37 AM
well i think i might get the SLK800 its a bit cheaper!! They both seem quite extreme.... will either of these perform well with a basic YS Tech 80mm? I am NOT having a high performance noisy delta or somin on their... i sleep in the same room as my pc :(

randsom
08-07-02, 08:41 AM
with ys i would imagine the slk-800 would perform better, and it would be a whole quieter, my wifes bitches all the time about how loud the box is

i think your looking at the slk-600, the 800 is running abut 50 bucks, you can find the ax7 for about 23 bucks

NeoGeo
08-07-02, 08:47 AM
ahh got it the wrong way round :p its the AX7 thats cheaper.... do u think i should order the SLK800 with a basic 45 cfm YS Tech?

randsom
08-07-02, 08:49 AM
yep that'd be a great way to go

NeoGeo
08-07-02, 08:50 AM
cool! ordered :)

randsom
08-07-02, 09:35 AM
nice choice, now unlock that cpu and get busy seeing what that thing can do

NeoGeo
08-07-02, 09:37 AM
heh... ive just ordered a lil Asus terminator for downstairs as well... they are so cute!!

i shall indeed be unlocking sometime soon!