PDA

View Full Version : Problems using Panasonic PT-50LC13 HDTV


brogers
08-02-04, 10:53 AM
Please Help! I've been on the AVSforum and no one has helped.

I've been using the Detonator 44.03 drivers to display to my HDTV through the DVI. These drivers detect my TV as a flat panel with a max resolution of 1280x720 which is the actual max resolution the LCD can product. I'm reading this max resolution in the part where you pick centered output, monitor scaling, display adapter scaling, etc. I always used centered output and setup a custom resolution of 1184x666 to get rid of overscan and still have a 1:1 pixel mapping.

I wanted to upgrade my drivers to 61.77 to support Doom3 when it comes out. The problem is I can no longer use the DVI with a custom video resolution because the display comes out as garbage now. The new drivers think my max resolution is 1920x1080 because my TV supports 1080i, even though it can't truely display it at 1080i.

I've thought about modifying the 44.03 drivers to include the newer DLL's for DirectX and OpenGL from the 61.77 drivers.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Snakebitten
08-02-04, 10:59 AM
This is the panasonic? I have this TV also. I could never get DVI to work in progressive mode (720p) unless I reinstalled windows. I'd have to reinstall everytime I would update the drivers, would seem like the first pair of drivers stick than after that it defaults to 1080i. So I just used the VGA input and seemed to look the same to me with no driver update problems.

brogers
08-02-04, 11:07 AM
This is the panasonic? I have this TV also. I could never get DVI to work in progressive mode (720p) unless I reinstalled windows. I'd have to reinstall everytime I would update the drivers, would seem like the first pair of drivers stick than after that it defaults to 1080i. So I just used the VGA input and seemed to look the same to me with no driver update problems.

Yes, this is the Panasonic 50" LCD RPTV. :)

I haven't had any issues running it through the DVI, set to monitor scaling, and at 1280x720. At 1280x720 you get sigificant overscan though. I want to run it at something smaller like 1184x666 at a 1:1 pixel mapping. I've also run it at 1280x720 through the VGA connector, but you run into overscan again. Plus there is a slight convergence issue running it through the VGA.

brogers
08-02-04, 11:14 AM
Oh... I've also tried using Powerstrip to make a custom monitor driver with a maximum resolution set at 1280x720, but the Nvidia drivers seem to be ignoring this.

Snakebitten
08-02-04, 11:32 AM
My HDTV system has an ATI card however, I always used powerstrip to make a resolution of 1216x684, very slight overscan but almost perfect. 1280x720p like you said had severe overscan. Here's my powerstrip settings for 1216x684

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=7280&stc=1

brogers
08-02-04, 11:38 AM
I've tried different timings with Powerstrip, but that won't change the way the drivers handle monitor scaling, centered output, display adapter scaling, etc. After doing a little searching it seems Nvidia made some changes in the way the drivers read the EDID signal. I guess I need a way to spoof or alter this.

GiovanniD
12-06-04, 04:11 AM
In powerstrip you have to check the "Lock all standard refresh rate selection" in order to use a custom resolution.

Diamond_G
12-08-04, 03:01 AM
well I hooked my system up to my panny this morning (same model pt50lc13). Using the DVI input with the 65.73 drivers have overscan, but will use the 1184 rez given to see if that will take care of the problem... But as far as I can tell the system can tell what kind of monitor it is plugged into and yes the max rez is 1920 by 1080 (remember the monitor suports 1080i), but you have to knock the refresh rate dow to 30hz to keep it from flickering.

Update: Go to TV settings and choose 720P and tell windows to underscan the desktop. It will fit perfectly and look good too.