PDA

View Full Version : New, very happy, and slightly sad.

conBLACK
08-02-04, 08:52 PM
Hi, as you can most likely tell by my post title and post count, I am new to the NV News forums. I recently had the pleasure of re-joining the NVIDIA family. Thanks to my luck in finding a great-paying job for a college student, I was able to treat myself to an eVGA GeForce 6800 Ultra which I pre-ordered from eVGA's website last night. My first high end video card was a GeForce 1 that unfortunately died last year (I'm keeping it anyway because it was the start of the GeForce line :) ). Like many of you I am upgrading my system for Doom 3.

My most recent video card is a Radeon 9600 Pro. I feel kind of bad for replacing this card because it still preforms well in the latest games and has a lot of life left in it, but I think that the sheer feeling of joy that I'll have owning a powerful piece of hardware like a 6800 Ultra will quickly chase my sorrows away :)

Anyway, this card is a very significant investment for me and I'm a little worried about a few things. I have been lurking in these forums fo a few weeks now, trying to absorb as much information as I can about the 6800 series and I apoligize if any of this has been covered specifically and I missed it. I don't want to make a bad first impression.

1. People have been raving about the BFG 6800 Ultra OC, this card is just an overclocked 6800 Ultra, right? If I wanted to, could I overclock my card to make it just as powerful? Is the power even worth it? (I found it back-ordered at a few places for an extra $50)

2. I have read posts here about people running Doom 3 in Ultra Quality using the BFG card with nice frame rates, if the rest of my system is up to the task, will my eVGA 6800 Ultra be able to do this also?

3. I've never really heard of eVGA before coming here, did I make a good choice? I chose them mainly because they would ship in a week or so according to their website.