PDA

View Full Version : Latest Forceware + Asus 5900 Ultra card = terrible performances


Nicjac
08-06-04, 08:30 AM
Hello all,
I've had this problem for some times now. It seems most ( if not all ) drivers after the 56.72's have terrible performances for me. And I do not talk about a few less FPS, it's every game laggy as hell, most recent exemple is Doom 3 menu being unusable when with 56.72's it's smooth.

Anyone know can cause that ? And what could be a solution ?
Im using a 5900 Ultra, and it does that even at stock speed.

Thanks.


.Nicjac

mrgoodcheese
08-06-04, 09:38 AM
Disregard, wrong post.

SignorSalad
08-06-04, 11:01 AM
Hello all,
I've had this problem for some times now. It seems most ( if not all ) drivers after the 56.72's have terrible performances for me. And I do not talk about a few less FPS, it's every game laggy as hell, most recent exemple is Doom 3 menu being unusable when with 56.72's it's smooth.

Anyone know can cause that ? And what could be a solution ?
Im using a 5900 Ultra, and it does that even at stock speed.

Thanks.


.Nicjac


Do you have dual-monitors and use the nvidia Dual-view software?

Nicjac
08-06-04, 11:19 AM
No I don't. I have a 19" CRT monitor and as far as I know I do not have dual monitor enabled.

nVidiaGuru
08-06-04, 04:29 PM
are you overclocking the card?

Nicjac
08-09-04, 09:09 AM
Yes, Im overclocking the card. But when I revert to stock speed I get the same problem.

Aranell
08-09-04, 09:28 AM
Hi!

I`ve had the same problem with my ASUS V9950 and i realized that the problem is because of the ASUS Bios - it has only one clock speed...

Seems as if the new 6x.xx Forceware are having problem with this...

I solved the problem with flashing the card with a Nvidia Bios - then everything worked fine again...

Nicjac
08-09-04, 11:52 AM
Any idea where I could find this bios ?

Thanks in advance.

.Nicjac

Aranell
08-09-04, 04:06 PM
try this link:

http://www.3dcenter.org/downloads/geforcefx5900-5950ultra_flash.php

…these are bioses for 5950ies... hope your card can handle 475/475 - best try overclocking it to that rate with the old 5x.xx forceware and when it looks good you can give them a try...

I`ve had some problems modding my V9950 NON Ultra - the card was only able to handle 450/450 without any display-errors while gaming... so i used a Bios witch I modded to 450/450 and this worked just fine…

hope this helps...


PS.: i`ve found other bioses witch are also for 5900U - so you dont have to automatically overclock it...

http://whitebunny.demon.nl/hardware/chipset_nvidia.html

...but always remember to save your bios and make a self-executable-bootdisk, so you can undo any mistakes even if your screen stays black...

Nicjac
08-09-04, 04:22 PM
Thanks for the links.
Do you have infos on how to actualy make a self-executable boot disk ?

Nicjac
08-09-04, 04:51 PM
No matter, checked your links and there are all the infos I needed.
Thanks again !