PDA

View Full Version : 6800u DOOM III Driver comparison (61.77vs62.20)


Venturi
08-06-04, 05:46 PM
I only tested at 2x antialiasing / ULtra Quality / 1600x1200.

Visuals = No eye-candy difference.

Performance on demo1" (console~timedemo demo1):

Driver 61.77 = time 30.3, FPS 67.8

Driver 62.20 = time 29.5, FPS 69.6

Rig Specs:
Windows 2003 Enterprise Server
Dual Opteron 250
8GB RAM
BFG 6800 Ultra (425/1200)
SATA RAID (4 drives 250GB each)

Are these scores lower than usual? Or is that the normal framerate at 1600x1200 2xAA UltraQ

THX in advance

Jay Venturi

Golden Sample
08-06-04, 07:55 PM
I only tested at 2x antialiasing / ULtra Quality / 1600x1200.

Visuals = No eye-candy difference.

Performance on demo1" (console~timedemo demo1):

Driver 61.77 = time 30.3, FPS 67.8

Driver 62.20 = time 29.5, FPS 69.6

Rig Specs:
Windows 2003 Enterprise Server
Dual Opteron 250
8GB RAM
BFG 6800 Ultra (425/1200)
SATA RAID (4 drives 250GB each)

Are these scores lower than usual? Or is that the normal framerate at 1600x1200 2xAA UltraQ

THX in advance

Jay Venturi



Hi,

my penis is about 45-50 cm! :lame:

Is this normal? I`m just asking `cause soooooo many girls did scream out loud when they saw "it" last night ?!? :rolleyes:



LOL ...just kiddin` !! :lol2:


I think it`s good, regarding the system.

I`m around 68-70 as well with a PIV 3,4 and Gainward 6800 Ultra Golden Sample @ 430/1200 in 1600x1200 8xAF no AA...so i guess it`s pretty good!

I`m using 61.77....guess it`s worth trying 62.20 and up...


Bye bye

Sven :)




BTW: My penis isn`t really THAT large....lol :nanahump:

Banko
08-06-04, 08:29 PM
Whoah, that's a kick ass rig!

Golden Sample
08-06-04, 08:35 PM
Rig Specs:
Windows 2003 Enterprise Server
Dual Opteron 250
8GB RAM
BFG 6800 Ultra (425/1200)
SATA RAID (4 drives 250GB each)



...Yeah, it is!

1000 Gig SATA Raid!!!....tasty :drooling:

8Gig RAM!?! WOW...i would make a RamDrive of 2 Gig`s or so, and use it for "SwapFile" :)


Really, really nice!

Sandman187
08-06-04, 09:34 PM
2x antialiasing / 16x anisotropic filtering / High Quality / 1280x1024.

Performance on demo1" (console~timedemo demo1):

Driver 61.77 = FPS 39.2

Rig Specs:
Windows XP SP1
Pentium 4 3.0ghz overclocked to 3.5ghz
Abit IS7 Motherboard
1GB DDR RAM Corsair Dual channel PC3700 (ddr466)
Nvidia Reference 6800 Ultra (400/1100)
Maxtor 200GB 7200 rpm ata 133

I'm SURE these scores are MUCH lower than usual...?
I really wish I knew what to do to fix my performance issues but I don't.

In Device Manager>System Devices I have changed the AGP Controller to Pci Standard Pci-to-Pci Bridge, which I assume runs the card in PCI mode.
The reason I've done that is, in AGP mode I get 42.3fps (but I get artifacts in most games, including Doom3), in PCI mode I get 39.2fps (but no artifacts). Something's very odd with my system, I don't know what to do, and no one seems to want to help :(

MUYA
08-06-04, 09:37 PM
Gaming on an Enterprise server? hmmmm

Banko
08-06-04, 09:49 PM
You could actually do that. There is a guide to transform Windows 2003 to a gaming machine.

coldfirenj
08-06-04, 10:25 PM
I have server 2003 enterprise but Doom 3 refused to install. Anybody have the guide to turning server 2003 into a gaming machine?

Venturi
08-06-04, 10:28 PM
Yes, the MS 2003 Ent Srv does a better job with the dually Opteron and all that ram.

The hardware needs NUMA support and only the 2003 Ent Srv does that.

I also dual boot in MS 2003 Ent Srv AMD64 - performance is about the same or a hair better.

I don't use the box as server, only for screaming graphics and occasional work.

Yes, I have the page file set to "0", there's no advantage to it otherwise. Systems seems more responsive without the page file. However with a terabyte of storage I'm not really worried about hardrive space.

Venturi
08-07-04, 07:45 PM
Doom3 on Enterprise Server.

1. Copy your discs into a directory on your drive.

2. Using ORCA (free) edit the doom3.msi on disc 1. Edit out the table line marked 'launch condition"

3. Save new the file into the same directory.

4. Install normally.

MOC
08-08-04, 03:01 PM
I had the 62.22's installed first ,then I sayed okay I'll try the 61.77's cause there certified..no way ..went back to the 61.22..Way better

MOC
08-08-04, 03:05 PM
I just forgot to give coldfirenj this if you still need it.


http://www.msfn.org/win2k3/