PDA

View Full Version : What does AGP Aperature really do?


superklye
08-06-04, 11:01 PM
And how big should mine be set to be?

Also, what are fastwrites and should I have them enabled or not?

Clay
08-06-04, 11:59 PM
And how big should mine be set to be?

Also, what are fastwrites and should I have them enabled or not?
For nForce motherboards the general consensus seems to be that you should have fastwrites disabled

Your AGP aperture size question will likely get mixed responses but I've always followed setting it to half of the system's RAM.

Here are a few good articles on aperture size:
http://www.tweak3d.net/articles/aperture-size/
http://www.ocfaq.com/article.php/overclocking/vidcard/43

superklye
08-07-04, 12:05 AM
Okay, thanks a lot...I appreciate the info and articles. :)

I'm going to disable fastwrites and see if maybe that'll boost my doom 3 performance at all.

what about vsynch? I want that on, right?

Clay
08-07-04, 12:07 AM
Well traditionally vsync should always be off (you get "some" tearing at times but the tradeoff is much higher framerates). Doom 3 is a bit different though with its cap. Some will say leave it on...others say off...I'd just try both and stick with what is best for you. :) Good luck!

superklye
08-07-04, 12:10 AM
Well traditionally vsync should always be off (you get "some" tearing at times but the tradeoff is much higher framerates). Doom 3 is a bit different though with its cap. Some will say leave it on...others say off...I'd just try both and stick with what is best for you. :) Good luck!

thanks a lot man, i really appreciate the help. i'll play around with vsynch and see what happens. you've been awesome...thanks again!

AgentHeX_0007
08-07-04, 12:16 AM
on the back of my BFG manual it says
BIOS Tips*
Be sure to enable "Assign IRQ to VGA", AGP apeture should match the amount of memory on your BFG graphics card and disable any Video BIOS or RAM shadowing.

I read, i think it was in rojakpots bios guide that the larger the cards onboard ram the smaller the apeture should be. I have allways set mine to the ammount that is on the card, which makes sense to me as bios options are usually 32,64,128,256 and now 512.

AstroCat
08-07-04, 08:39 AM
From

http://www.rojakpot.com/default.aspx?location=7&var1=18

AGP Aperture Size

Common Options : 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128, 256

Quick Review

This BIOS feature does two things. It selects the size of the AGP aperture and it determines the size of the GART (Graphics Address Relocation Table).

The aperture is a portion of the PCI memory address range that is dedicated for use as AGP memory address space while the GART is a translation table that translates AGP memory addresses into actual memory addresses which are often fragmented. The GART allows the graphics card to see the memory region available to it as a contiguous piece of memory range.

Host cycles that hit the aperture range are forwarded to the AGP bus without need for translation. The aperture size also determines the maximum amount of system memory that can be allocated to the AGP graphics card for texture storage.

Please note that the AGP aperture is merely address space, not actual physical memory in use. Although it is very common to hear people recommending that the AGP aperture size should be half the size of system memory, that is wrong!

The requirement for AGP memory space shrinks as the graphics card's local memory increases in size. This is because the graphics card will have more local memory to dedicate to texture storage. So, if you upgrade to a graphics card with more memory, you shouldn't be "deceived" into thinking that you will need even more AGP memory! On the contrary, a smaller AGP memory space will be required.

It is recommended that you keep the AGP aperture around 64MB to 128MB in size, even if your graphics card has a lot of onboard memory. This allows flexibility in the event that you actually need extra memory for texture storage. It will also keep the GART (Graphics Address Relocation Table) within a reasonable size.





Jordan "AstroCat"

NightFire
08-07-04, 08:42 AM
I don't have much to say. It's all on the above.

But I'm going to post anyways.

superklye
08-07-04, 09:35 AM
on the back of my BFG manual it says


I read, i think it was in rojakpots bios guide that the larger the cards onboard ram the smaller the apeture should be. I have allways set mine to the ammount that is on the card, which makes sense to me as bios options are usually 32,64,128,256 and now 512.

Yeah what is that RAM shadowing? And I have two other options: Video RAM cacheable and BIOS cacheable. The mobo manual says nothing...does anyone know what those do?

NightFire
08-07-04, 09:37 AM
Set all the cacheable's to off. In my experiance that helps things out. I could be wrong. Your discretion.

AstroCat
08-07-04, 09:52 AM
Also here is some more good info from the bfgtech.com site:

AGP Aperture
128MB or 64MB
PCI 2.1 Compliancy
Enable

AGP Clock
2/3
PCI Latency Timer
128

AGP Transfer Mode
Match card - 8x/4x/2x
Peer Concurrency
Disable

AGP Turbo Read Mode
Disable
Pipeline Cache Write
Disable

AGP Turbo Write Mode
Disable
USWC
Disable/set to UC

AGP WS Read
Highest Value
VGA Boot Sequence
AGP (PCI for PCI card)

AGP WS Write
Highest Value
VGA Pallet Snooping
Disable

Assign IRQ for VGA
Enable
Video BIOS Cacheable
Disable

Assign IRQ to USB
Enable
Video BIOS Shadowing
Disable

Delayed Transaction
Enable
Video RAM Cacheable
Disable

Passive Release
Enable
Video RAM Shadowing
Disable

PCI Bursting
Disable

Jordan "AstroCat"

euan
08-07-04, 12:12 PM
Yeah what is that RAM shadowing? And I have two other options: Video RAM cacheable and BIOS cacheable. The mobo manual says nothing...does anyone know what those do?

Relics of the DOS era. Nothing more.

Caching is the copying of memory from BIOS region into system ram. It meant that you could execute the bios functions with out having to go into DOS real mode etc. It also executes much faster becuase your not going over the legacy ISA bus (@ a whooping 8Mhz).