PDA

View Full Version : eVGA releases new 6800U BIOS that improves stability


Ruined
08-14-04, 11:02 AM
Apparently corrects some issues that were causing stability problems.

http://www.evga.com/community/bios6800/

wazooda
08-14-04, 01:33 PM
Apparently corrects some issues that were causing stability problems.

http://www.evga.com/community/bios6800/

Question: I have a Gainward 6800 Ultra 256meg that I flashed with the 15.06 bios that Gainward had on their site.

Is the eVGA Bios "generic" in the fact that I can just flash my Gainward and have the latest BIOS??

Thanks!

Wazoo

jAkUp
08-14-04, 01:35 PM
I have it installed... works great :)

Check the attachment if you want to DL the new BIOS :)

Omega53
08-14-04, 02:51 PM
Could I install this on my 6800GT???

saturnotaku
08-14-04, 03:05 PM
That's the same BIOS that came pre-installed on my PNY 6800U.

Pandora's Box
08-14-04, 03:43 PM
Could I install this on my 6800GT???


yes. whether it will work or not...

rellingsen
08-14-04, 05:17 PM
What do the core and memory clocks default to on this BIOS?

jAkUp
08-14-04, 05:22 PM
425/1.1

ozziegn
08-14-04, 06:04 PM
this is what my BIOS editor is reading for that particular 6800 Ultra BIOS.

http://mywebpages.comcast.net/ozziegn1/6800ultrabios.jpg

-its got the same exact 3D settings to what my 6800 GT is running now so I wont even bother.

however, note the 2D speeds.

why in the world do they have the clock speeds set so high for 2D? doesnt/wouldnt that mean too much excessive heat for nothing? after all, when does one really need the "Ultra" speeds when surfing the net or checking email?

NightFire
08-14-04, 06:07 PM
Maybe that's a key to the stability?

ozziegn
08-14-04, 06:26 PM
Maybe that's a key to the stability?

to be running 425/1100 and having the card run hotter in 2D?

lol

jAkUp
08-14-04, 06:36 PM
They said it is for stabality reasons.... something about switching back and forth causes the card to crash.

bmg
08-14-04, 07:46 PM
Maybe that's a key to the stability?
That **IS** the key to the stability improvement. I emailed eVGA about this a month ago after figuring out how to fix my own card by making 2D and 3D the same in the bios (I also posted about it here, for example: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=374869&postcount=19), and sent them my modded bios at their request. I'm glad they put out a fix based on it, but it would have been nice to have gotten an email back from them saying they duplicated my results (which they clearly did) and "thanks". :rolleyes:

saturnotaku
08-14-04, 07:54 PM
Funny, because even though my PNY card is flashed with this exact same BIOS version, my 2D clock still reports as 400/1100 and 3D as 425/1100. :confused:

Edit: Could someone please post a mirror of the entire BIOS file package, including the floppy disk maker? The one linked to above is only the .rom file. Thanks. :)

anzak
08-14-04, 07:57 PM
Could I install this on my 6800GT???

I have my card flashed with leadtek Ultra BIOS. The Ultra BIOS has tighter memory timings. PM me if you have any questions.

bmg
08-14-04, 08:03 PM
Funny, because even though my PNY card is flashed with this exact same BIOS version, my 2D clock still reports as 400/1100 and 3D as 425/1100. :confused:

The nvidia bios version is independent of the specific frequency values programmed into the bios. I believe the different board manufacturers get the basic bios from nvidia, make a few minor tweaks of their own, and then program it onto their cards. Some change things like Vendor ID and some don't bother.

scott123
08-14-04, 08:45 PM
I'm running the .13 bios on my PNY 6800 Ultra. From day one, I've left it at the default 400 2D / 425 3D , and never had a single problem with the card. Anyone have a 6800 Ultra without issues like me?

Raptorman
08-14-04, 09:21 PM
I'm running the .13 bios on my PNY 6800 Ultra. From day one, I've left it at the default 400 2D / 425 3D , and never had a single problem with the card. Anyone have a 6800 Ultra without issues like me?

I run my card at 400/1.1 - 2d and 450/1.2 - 3d. All I had to do to fix my stability issue was set the 3d low-level and 3d performance clocks the same. Disabling FastWrites helped too.