PDA

View Full Version : driver bsods; similar issues?

pooman
08-16-04, 11:39 PM
This message was copied from Guru3D forum. I hope someone could help solve this problem. Thank you!

[system specs]

CPU:
2x Athlon MP 1.2GHz
Win2k3 and Win2k
Mobo:
Tyan Tiger MPX S2466-4M
RAM:
1GB PC2100 ECC, Samsung & Crucial
Video:
BFG Nvidia FX 5900
Storage:
Maxtor 30GB, 2x WD 120GB SE
Audio:
C-Media 8738

[ summary ]

I have prepared a list of tried driver set that BSOD on my system
when running DirectX featured graphics and the one and only 44.03
that doesn't!

ATI Catalyst has customer feedback on their driver sets. I'm new
to Nvidia so I have no idea how to let Nvidia know of my issue.
Can anyone tell me?

[ background ]

Just so that we can speak freely, I've some experience with
developing drivers and digital circuits.

[ settings ]

I would like to remind everyone that my system is typically used as
a server, thusly it is not overclocked. It is under room
temperature (25C). I have tried every setting known to me and this
includes every combination of: AGP 1x, 2x, 4x, AGP Aperture Size
32MB-512MB, FastWrite on/off, PCI bus mastering timing values,
memory timings and all ECC modes, DirectX AGP on/off, removing
devices off the motherboard, disconnecting power using devices
(HDs, CD-ROM), testing DirectX 8.1-9.0c, running Driver Cleaner
and manually inspecting the .INF files and registries are gone,
and ... I forget what else. I have the AMD 760 MPX chipset, only
problem I know about it is with the 768 southbridge PCI-33 bandwidth
limitation (no video problems in the erata).

EDIT: Memtest86 for two days on extended tests turns out fine.

There is no way for me to verify that the AGP slot is not damaged in
any way. The power supply checks out fine using the digital multimeter
(near TruePower's specs and within a 10% tolerance level).

[ crash tests ]

Ironically I have not encountered any BSOD with OpenGL. With DirectX